$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Dylan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Capt. Jimmy
Business
Bucks Co. PA
Jul 16, 2012

Excellent, modestly-priced mid-town hotel

Small but well laid-out room - well maintained, with an excellent bathroom/shower. For our overnight stay (we were in NY for a wedding), this was a fine stopover. Staff was attentive and always courteous. Avoid breakfast here, though - it is an expensive afterthought on the hotel's part - indifferent, slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxford
Business
Oxford
Jun 5, 2012

Good location for central Manhattan

Friendly helpful staff without being intrusive. Good location for shops, food and business. Only negative... I could not find a plug socket near the desk to charge laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MelissaAnthony
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 6, 2012

Average Room - could have used some work

Hotel was in a nice location. It was a walkable distance from main tourist attractions around time square. Staff werent very personable. Acted like they were too busy to make eye contact and too busy for you in general... even though no other guests were in line or around. Room was average. Not very large and the cabinetry could use some updating - ours looked scuffed and used. Bathroom was nice - made out of marble. Shower was clogged and over flowed - also very small. Had a hot tub - very pretty. We stayed for one night on a Saturday in February and paid $145 for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apple on Visit
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Short Stay to NYC

Good hotel, but there was some major mix up with the staff on check in and it caused a massive hold on the CC. They claimed it was a computer glitch, but I think is was human error. It took way to long to check in. When I asked about the hold issue, they threw up their hands as if there was nothing to do. I'm sure they could have made it happen. So, a sour taste to start. And do not have breakfast at the Benjamin next door - very expensive and okay quality. But overall a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants around the area and Bryant Park is not far away.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made it back
Business
US
Jan 18, 2012

The former Chemists Club, just one block from Grand Central

Nice historical building just one block from Grand Central. Room must have been one of the laboratories or the library (the building used to be the Chemists Club), ceiling was triple-high, very nice. Room in good condition, staff helpful (when I asked them to lock away my 17-inch laptop since it wouldn't fit into the safe in the room they were at first a bit confused on how to do that but didn't give up until they found a solution; there was no ice maker on the floor but they brought ice up to the room within 5 minutes; etc. pp.), and all for a very decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VaneW
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Will go back

My family enjoyed this hotel very much. Close to everything and quiet at the same time. The rooms were great, and great service as well. The restaurant is a litlle pricy, but very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg from CLE
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 22, 2011

Good spot in the city

Hotel has a great location in NYC, on 41st near Madison, right by Grand Central. The rooms are modernly decorated, and look nice on the inside. Not much of a view outside, but what do you expect in the city? Also, there is no parking on the block, and the closest garages are $50 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the valet option, $45 a day is cheaper than the nearby parking garages.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BIGSEXY
Business
MIAMI , FL
Oct 1, 2011

Vacation

Well first of I have been in the hotel/condo business for 20 years so I know the industry . The Dylan hotel we arrived at the hotel no footman the frontdesk lady was not that friendly the rooms was small the elevator was dark it kept making noise the resturant was not good I felt my hole trip was a waste I couldn't wait to come back to MIA I GIVE THE HOTEL 1 STAR MAYBE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beldar
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Excellent GCT location, Weak lobby

Location was perfect for me, right at Grand Central Terminal. Lobby needs new carpets, and could be much better. Room was small, clean, quiet. Zero view. Perfect for one person going to meetings in Midtown. They have wi-fi in the room, but for some reason don't tell you how to login. It took three conversations, but was simple once I got the answer. Dumb problem, and should not have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duffman84
Business
Ireland
Sep 12, 2011

Nice Hotel with an Excellent Location!

The staff where very friendly, the hotel room was very clean complete with everything that we needed and the location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison & Vine across the road from the Dylan Hotel is well worth a visit - it was excellent food with excellent service.

Back to menu Return to top