$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
Good for the money

Good location. Clean room. Friendly staff. Excellent for the value. See full review

  • DougAhn
  • Aug 28, 2013
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Beldar
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Excellent GCT location, Weak lobby

Location was perfect for me, right at Grand Central Terminal. Lobby needs new carpets, and could be much better. Room was small, clean, quiet. Zero view. Perfect for one person going to meetings in Midtown. They have wi-fi in the room, but for some reason don't tell you how to login. It took three conversations, but was simple once I got the answer. Dumb problem, and should not have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Duffman84
Ireland
Sep 12, 2011

Nice Hotel with an Excellent Location!

The staff where very friendly, the hotel room was very clean complete with everything that we needed and the location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison & Vine across the road from the Dylan Hotel is well worth a visit - it was excellent food with excellent service.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
amsterdamsel
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Aug 17, 2011

perfect location

The Dylan is minutes away from charming Bryant Park, Times Square, and Grand Central Station, making it a perfect departure point to sights and several handy subway lines. Rooms are clean, elegant, and comfortable, although can be dim due to adjacent skyscrapers blocking sunlight. I would stay there again. I only wish they'd turn down the air conditioning in the lobby; no need to recreate the Arctic circle, folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Relax in Bryant Park and eat breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien on the southern fringe or dinner at the Bryant Park Grill on the eastern fringe.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Blaeloch
Seattle, WA
May 4, 2011

I really like this place

I liked the Dylan very much--nice staff, nice decor--my room was also very comfortable and nicely designed. This is a superb location, in my view--I have stayed further north in midtown and decided then that a little closer to Grand Central would be better. There are good affordable food options (in addition to many at GC), and I really liked being close to the wonderful library

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have an iPhone, get the NY Subway app, it really keeps you oriented and you learn the subway fast. Buy an unlimited-use Metro card (mine was 7 days for $27.00)

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
ricky316
Eureka, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Great location!

The location is fantastic. Most places we went were of walking distance. The room was spacious and I liked the blue-theme decoration. The restroom felt very modern and neat. There is no bath tub and frige however. We had some problem with the air conditioning. The first two nights were extrememly hot and the following nights, omg, freezing! Overall, a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Fairfield County, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Rate based on price

The location could not be better, right at Grand Central but on a quiet block, across from the Library Walk which is well worth seeing. The staff were friendly and the amenities were decent. I liked the black out window shades and the iHome. The bathroom toiletries were good, the free in room coffee was even good. I arrived at 1:30 and I was able to check in immediately. But the things I didn't like determine my rating. As a background, I only stay in nice hotels, but I do my research to get the best rate. I expect a spotless room for 200 bucks! The bathroom was NOT spotless, but the worst was the bedskirt--it had a water stain around the edge! Gross! I was reminded via a note under the door that the time was changing and Id lose an hour. The staff were not optimistic about a late check out, but even if I could have secured the late check out? There was no point because the housekeepers were VERY LOUDLY knocking on each room before 10 (which felt like 9 because of the time change). Sure, they left my door alone, but since I forgot to place the 'do not disturb' on my door, I suspect that I had no neighbours, they just wanted to make sure everyone was up and checked out. Terrible! So, for 200 bucks I expect a peaceful morning and bedding that isn't stained. Call me picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 30, 2011

good for one night

We came in for a show at Radio City, so our expectations weren't that high. That said, the Dylan was umm...fine. Decent sized room for NY standards, but pretty spare. Like "2 pillows and 2 towels spare" for 2 people. Felt very European. Marble floors are great, but not in an unheated bathroom in January. And don't charge me for minibar water when we were there barely 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Vol'demar
Russia, Shcholkovo
Jan 16, 2011

Excellent location, worth the price

We took a rest, slept while we were in the hotel. Washbowl drainage was found to be clogged that made a bad impression. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. Bathrobes were missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From/to airport bus stop,one of the subway station and Grand Central are just a couple of steps away from the hotel.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Zippy
Seattle, WA
Jan 3, 2011

Perfect location for a Christmas visit

The Dylan was a perfect place for my Christmas in New York. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with especially in dealing with the Blizzard of 2010! Everyone helped to make my holiday a special one. Just might be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is very close to everything. I walked the whole time I was there for shopping, dining, entertainment.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York
Nov 25, 2010

"Very nice hotel"

I am a resident of New York City and this was my first visit to the Dylan Hotel. I was highly impressed with the staff and the room. The staff was very pleasant. I resided in a luxury room. The bed size was more than adequate and the room size was perfect. The bathroom was extremely clean and with updated decor.I only wish that the bathroom had a bathtub so I could take a hot soak in the tub, but I still enjoyed the hot shower. It was very quite throughout the night. I was able to visit Grand Central Station, which was right around the corner. I really enjoyed my stay at the Dylan Hotel and I will be returning. I highly recommend this hidden gem in New York City. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top