$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Dream New York

4 stars
210 W 55th STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
243 reviews
great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again... See full review

  • lindseypeele
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very... See full review

  • Podolsky
  • Jan 24, 2014
Trend-setting midtown Manhattan hotel in landmark Beaux-Arts building
Cutting-edge cool thrives at Dream Hotel, a 5-star, mid-Manhattan boutique in an iconic Beaux-Arts building. Step into a lush, deep-groove, minimalist landscape punctuated by avant-garde details such as a ceiling portrait gallery and a two-story aquarium. In-room, state-of-the-art decor pairs with tech treasures such as a plasma TV, a Bose Wave sound system and a preloaded iPod. Drinks and dining are an experience to remember, especially at the rooftop Ava Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square.
Highlights

  • Enjoy in-room luxuries ranging from a preloaded iPod to a Bose Wave sound system, a plasma TV and atmospheric lighting
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and Rockefeller Center
  • Experience the on-site Ava Lounge, with a world-class view across the city

Location
Dream Hotel brings visitors to the heart of Manhattan, with a midtown location near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, plus incredible shopping at Madison and Fifth Avenue. A subway station is only a block away.
Rooms
Dream Hotel offers more than 200 guest rooms and suites featuring ultramodern and hip decor as well as extreme comfort. Luxuriate in amenities such as a 37- or 42-inch plasma TV, high-thread-count cotton bedding with feather duvet, bathrobes, a Bose Wave sound system, a preloaded iPod and more, set amidst super-sleek furnishings, atmospheric lighting and artful details.
Features
At Dream Hotel, dream away at the lobby lounge, Rm. Fifty5, a dimly lit space for celebrity sanctuary. At Ava Lounge, view across New York City or groove to the spinning DJ. Serafina brings the flavors of Italy to the table. Dream Hotel also offers a fitness center, parking and 24-hour concierge services.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Business

  • State-of-the-art meeting spaces, including a rooftop lounge with panoramic city views (fees apply)
  • Event planning and catering services (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Dream New York is currently making property-wide improvements scheduled to be completed on August 31st.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7646 -73.9819
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, Times Square, New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia International - 8 miles EastJFK - John F. Kennedy International - 15 miles EastEWR - Newark International Airport - 17 Miles Southwest.
Area description
Ideally situated between Central Park, Times Square and the world-class shopping of Madison & Fifth Avenue. LaGuardia Int'l Airport: 8 mi/13 km, 40 minutes. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 60 minutes. Newark Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 1 hour.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Dream New York Rooms

Medium Room One Queen Bed
Room included one queen bed 42 inch Plasma TV/Dream Hypo Feather BedDuvet/Tech Savvy Desk.
Standard Room
Modern ecelctic luxe is the order of the day in these tech savvy guestrooms. Designed with chocolate brown furnishings, accented by ethereal blues on a canvas of Warm White, Guest rooms include overstuffed, hypoallergenic featherbeds and comforter/duvet sets With 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. All guest rooms include either 37 inch wall-mounted Plasma Televisions, Bose wave radios, ergonomic workstations with Built in broadband hi speed access. Custom designed dreamscape artwork different in each Guest room. Dean and Deluca Minibars. CHopra Center bath products, Kashwere ultra-plush bathrobes. En chamber dining provided by Serafina, Dream*s onsite restaurant.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Rm.Fifty5 Lounge
Stepping into these sexy spaces is like entering a different world, one that has emerged from architect's Mark Zeff's altered vision of reality.
Serafina
Serafina" offers an eclectic mix of Italian fare, with some of the best thin-crust pizza in New York City.
Rm Fifty5 Lounge
Rm Fifty5 Lounge offers a convenient location on the street level with an Alice in Wonderland appeal.
Ava
AVA penthouse lounge offers unparalleled views of the midtown skyline and an open air roofdeck to soak up the sun and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Dream New York

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 243
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
af09
Business
miami fl
Apr 21, 2014

quick trip

nice hotel, very small room but expected. decent location for first time in nyc, wish i had been further away from the craziness of times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LUKES LOBSTER GO EAT THERE

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve57
Business
Houston
Apr 4, 2014

Dream in NYC

I chose this hotel for its location - perfectly situated in midtown yet on a quiet street. The room was on the small side but very functional and surprisingly the bathroom was of a good size. The room was spotless, the service helpful and the check-in process was speedy. The only drawback during the stay was that there was some elevator construction so service was slow. Being on the 3rd floor I just took the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cigar shop on 56th near 6th Ave

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekendtraveler01
Business
Alexandria VA
Mar 8, 2014

Always good value and location in NYC

I stay at this hotel a lot. Usually there is a glitch or two that happens - last time The dream partner at the garage did not acknowledged my voucher. This trip the hot water in the room did not work and the hotel failed to acknowledge my 3 calls until departure. Otherwise - it's an easy place to stay for quick in/outs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Minette tavern and Brandy library

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler05
Business
maine
Feb 21, 2014

Surprisingly nice

I am never worried about small rooms. What matters to me is excellent linens, cleanliness and gracious people at the front desk. This place did the job, and of course the location is in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Podolsky
Business
Mexico City
Jan 24, 2014

Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There are two bars!!!

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mambochicken
Business
California
Jan 16, 2014

Kind of a Nightmare

The hotel is under demolition/rennovation currently. This was NOT communicated to me when I made the reservation. When I checked in I asked if there was going to be construction during my stay and the person who checked me in at the front desk told me "the construction will not bother you at all during your stay" This was not the case - on the floor I stayed they were demolishing most of the rooms, there were construction people in the hallway constantly, something was burning and smelled like burning rubber, i could see the smoke in the air and it smelled awful. Additionally, I couldn't turn on the heater in the room because it make a very loud thumping noise every time it reached the temp I had set it for and shut off. The thumping was waking me up every 15 minutes so I had to turn it off. There was also a light out in the vanity. I will say that the bellman was great, as was the doorman and the concierge. The final blow though was when I checked out and when the woman who checked me out asked how my stay was, I said, actually, there were a few problems... I started to name them off and she interrupted me and got very defensive saying that the construction wasn't planned and that they didn't know it was going to happen. I don't think that was the best way to respond. She did take off my incidentals which amounted to a few dollars, but I think the whole situation was handled very poorly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cold one
Business
sag harbor, ny
Jan 10, 2014

freezing room and bathroom

Impossible to warm up the room. Took 2 hrs to go from 64 to 72 degrees. Bathroom has marble floors and it was freezing. Never warmed up. Windows leaked cold air like a stream. I was told they are going to renovate the entire hotel. Maybe that will help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sarafina

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AdrianDFW
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 20, 2013

Good value in NYC

Had really good experience with this hotel...hotel staffs are polite and helpful ...they even let me do early check-in at 12pm (suggest to call ahead in the same morning to check avail), location is great (1 min walk to subway station, 5 mins walk to time Sq), noise level is acceptable (Some noise but not bad in the morning from some construction activities), room is very clean and surprisingly roomy for nyc standard (compare to my last visit stayed at another 4 stars hotel; suggest to pick the the room w/ king-size), price is very reasonable considering the location and overall value (low $200 incl T&S). I would stay there again for my next visit. The room does not have complimentary wifi which is not great but it's a minute walk to starbucks where you can get your coffee and check your email... Not giving a 5 stars because of no complimentary wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of selections of diner or breakfast place within 3-5 mins walk....try the Brooklyn Diner...they have a great ruben...a bit pricey but the portion is big...

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nick......
Business
chicago
Nov 19, 2013

Dream

My experience was very bad here from start to finish. First of when i checked in the host was not social at all. When i got to my room it was tiny including the bathroom. Carpet was dusty, the do not disturb button did not work and i was woken up each morning by the maid. when the maids were cleaning in the room next to me it was very loud and could hear everything. The water pressure was terrible in the sink and shower. Would never stay here again, the pictures on the website are veru deceiving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jorge B
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 22, 2013

Great place Great location

The staff was exceptional, the room was very clean, it was great expierience, the bars were great at the hotel were also great, I also tried Serafino Itailian resturant and it was good. overall I would stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top