$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Dream New York

4 stars
210 W 55th STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
247 reviews
great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again... See full review

  • lindseypeele
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very... See full review

  • Podolsky
  • Jan 24, 2014
Trend-setting midtown Manhattan hotel in landmark Beaux-Arts building
Cutting-edge cool thrives at Dream Hotel, a 5-star, mid-Manhattan boutique in an iconic Beaux-Arts building. Step into a lush, deep-groove, minimalist landscape punctuated by avant-garde details such as a ceiling portrait gallery and a two-story aquarium. In-room, state-of-the-art decor pairs with tech treasures such as a plasma TV, a Bose Wave sound system and a preloaded iPod. Drinks and dining are an experience to remember, especially at the rooftop Ava Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square.
Highlights

  • Enjoy in-room luxuries ranging from a preloaded iPod to a Bose Wave sound system, a plasma TV and atmospheric lighting
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and Rockefeller Center
  • Experience the on-site Ava Lounge, with a world-class view across the city

Location
Dream Hotel brings visitors to the heart of Manhattan, with a midtown location near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, plus incredible shopping at Madison and Fifth Avenue. A subway station is only a block away.
Rooms
Dream Hotel offers more than 200 guest rooms and suites featuring ultramodern and hip decor as well as extreme comfort. Luxuriate in amenities such as a 37- or 42-inch plasma TV, high-thread-count cotton bedding with feather duvet, bathrobes, a Bose Wave sound system, a preloaded iPod and more, set amidst super-sleek furnishings, atmospheric lighting and artful details.
Features
At Dream Hotel, dream away at the lobby lounge, Rm. Fifty5, a dimly lit space for celebrity sanctuary. At Ava Lounge, view across New York City or groove to the spinning DJ. Serafina brings the flavors of Italy to the table. Dream Hotel also offers a fitness center, parking and 24-hour concierge services.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Business

  • State-of-the-art meeting spaces, including a rooftop lounge with panoramic city views (fees apply)
  • Event planning and catering services (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Dream New York is currently making property-wide improvements scheduled to be completed on August 31st.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7646 -73.9819
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, Times Square, New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia International - 8 miles EastJFK - John F. Kennedy International - 15 miles EastEWR - Newark International Airport - 17 Miles Southwest.
Area description
Ideally situated between Central Park, Times Square and the world-class shopping of Madison & Fifth Avenue. LaGuardia Int'l Airport: 8 mi/13 km, 40 minutes. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 60 minutes. Newark Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 1 hour.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Dream New York Rooms

Medium Room One Queen Bed
Room included one queen bed 42 inch Plasma TV/Dream Hypo Feather BedDuvet/Tech Savvy Desk.
Standard Room
Modern ecelctic luxe is the order of the day in these tech savvy guestrooms. Designed with chocolate brown furnishings, accented by ethereal blues on a canvas of Warm White, Guest rooms include overstuffed, hypoallergenic featherbeds and comforter/duvet sets With 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. All guest rooms include either 37 inch wall-mounted Plasma Televisions, Bose wave radios, ergonomic workstations with Built in broadband hi speed access. Custom designed dreamscape artwork different in each Guest room. Dean and Deluca Minibars. CHopra Center bath products, Kashwere ultra-plush bathrobes. En chamber dining provided by Serafina, Dream*s onsite restaurant.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Rm.Fifty5 Lounge
Stepping into these sexy spaces is like entering a different world, one that has emerged from architect's Mark Zeff's altered vision of reality.
Serafina
Serafina" offers an eclectic mix of Italian fare, with some of the best thin-crust pizza in New York City.
Rm Fifty5 Lounge
Rm Fifty5 Lounge offers a convenient location on the street level with an Alice in Wonderland appeal.
Ava
AVA penthouse lounge offers unparalleled views of the midtown skyline and an open air roofdeck to soak up the sun and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Dream New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8EATE
Dallas
Jun 26, 2013

Great Location and Price, Small Room

Bathroom large, room small but this is Manhattan. Nice digs great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rooftop Bar at Hudson's

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P K Wave
Minnesota
Jun 20, 2013

Great long weekend

Hotel has great value for a casual visitor to NYC. Great location and price. Rooms are a bit small but then again you don't spend a lot of time in the room. The only real complaint would be that the internet wireless service is as slow as I've ever seen, but again I was not in the room that much so no big deal. Roof top bar is great, staff is as friendly and helpful as any I've encountered. Would stay there again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnige deli is just around the corner,

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B'sFan
Boston
Jun 17, 2013

Great Time

Saw Rod Stewart in the outdoor cafe. I had a standard room. It was small, but more than enough room for the single traveller looking for value and a great midtown location. Saw Letterman taping a block away from the hotel. Times Sq, Central Park Rockefeller Ctr and more just 4-5 blocks away. Great breakfast at the Carnegie Deli around the corner. No soda ice and soda machine on the floor I was on. Overall Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Letterman, Times Square, Central park, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central. No. 1 Subway Line very easy to use from Wall St to Columbia.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Some Guy Writing a Review
Upstate New York
Jun 11, 2013

Doesn't get any better for this price!

The room didn't break my wallet yet it was nice, clean and very comfortable. The staff was very nice and I felt like I had everything I needed. The location is fantastic. Thank you Dream New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a restaurant and a bar you can access without even exiting the hotel.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan45
Ventura County, CA
Jun 8, 2013

Awesome location

Corner of Broadway and 55th St. Just steps to so many attractions (Letterman, MOMA, MOD, Central Park, Lincoln Center, theaters and great restaurants). Very fast elevators, free WiFi (lobby), loaner umbrella, and a very friendly staff made for a delightful stay. Small room typical of NYC, but central location more than made up for that. Talked to several repeat visitors and the attached Italian restaurant was raved about and great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service prices were remarkably low. The attached Serafina restaurant was great so I would expect the food to have come from there. Small delivery charge but likely great food at ridiculous low cost.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpvespagirl
Manchester, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Terrific stay

From other reviews, I thought my room (standard full size bed) would be tiny, but it was larger than other rooms I've paid more for in less-desirable parts of Manhattan. There was a nice desk and bureau...and a very deep closet, so we could keep our bags out of our living area (minor quibble: put a light in the closet). The bathroom was also huge relative to the size of the room: very comfortable. The whole thing was extremely clean, and the bed, though small (b/c I didn't choose a Queen room), was so fluffy: it had a tempurpedic pad on it, so it was nice and cushy. Great pillows, too. The room looked out to the back walls of other buildings, but that was fine - it meant we didn't hear the Theater District/Times Square hustle and bustle at all. And who needs a view: close the shade and put on those cool blue lights! the staff was attentive - we asked for ice on the way in one evening, which they brought up to us promptly, and when I went to the desk and reported the phone in the room didn't seem to be working (I tried to call down to confirm check out time), they offered to send the building engineer immediately (didn't take them up on it, b/c that was the only call I would have made, I just wanted to let them know). When I read the reviews about the cool fish tank in the lobby, I didn't think it would be much of a perk, but I spent a lot of time with those fishes, too. It is a pretty cool place to hang. The only annoying thing I found, and it's hardly a dealbreaker, is that their elevators are EXTREMELY slow, but other than that, I think I've found my new regular hotel for my NYC visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daisy0204
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 4, 2013

Overnight stay

Very happy with the hotel. It was a great location, very clean and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again!!! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Detroit Baby
Detroit, Michigan
May 25, 2013

Not 4 star, more like 2 1/2

Pros: The staff are all super friendly and helpful, the bed is pretty comfortable, very clean rooms, and a GREAT location (right next to Time Square!!). Now, cons: The rooms are extremely tiny, I mean.. the smallest I've ever seen. We also had to change our rooms because the sink in the bathroom didn't work, the fan in the bathroom didn't work, & the water coming out of the shower faucet didn't work. Overall, the rooms are very outdated with a horrible view of a brick wall out of the bedroom window. BUT, paying $200/night to be this close to Time Square, what do you expect? Probably would not stay here again; the Sheraton down the block looks a lot nicer and updated, we will more than likely stay there next time for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maureen Buranek
San Francisco
May 22, 2013

Definitely not a 4 star hotel

The staff was nice and the mid-town location was good. Unfortunately, however, the room was just awful. It was the size of a closet, and the bed was so small I couldn't sleep. I have bruises on my shins from running into the edge of the bed several times. And we paid over $250 per night! It was nice to have a restaurant next to the hotel that was open all day. They have a nice club on the top floor, but the drinks were $16 and all of the servers and bartenders were women in tiny little dresses. That might be nice for male customers, but we were looking for a place to be waited on by men. It seems Manhattan is not a good destination for a gal pal weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amado
Mexico City
May 20, 2013

Near Lincoln Center

Extremely small room. One very small elevator. Squeeky bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center

Back to menu Return to top