$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Dream New York

4 stars
210 W 55th STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
201 reviews
wonderful staff

Great location, very close to Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Center and many great... See full review

  • staceb
  • Aug 25, 2014
great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again... See full review

  • lindseypeele
  • Jul 7, 2014
Trend-setting midtown Manhattan hotel in landmark Beaux-Arts building
Cutting-edge cool thrives at Dream Hotel, a 5-star, mid-Manhattan boutique in an iconic Beaux-Arts building. Step into a lush, deep-groove, minimalist landscape punctuated by avant-garde details such as a ceiling portrait gallery and a two-story aquarium. In-room, state-of-the-art decor pairs with tech treasures such as a plasma TV, a Bose Wave sound system and a preloaded iPod. Drinks and dining are an experience to remember, especially at the rooftop Ava Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square.
Highlights

  • Enjoy in-room luxuries ranging from a preloaded iPod to a Bose Wave sound system, a plasma TV and atmospheric lighting
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and Rockefeller Center
  • Experience the on-site Ava Lounge, with a world-class view across the city

Location
Dream Hotel brings visitors to the heart of Manhattan, with a midtown location near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, plus incredible shopping at Madison and Fifth Avenue. A subway station is only a block away.
Rooms
Dream Hotel offers more than 200 guest rooms and suites featuring ultramodern and hip decor as well as extreme comfort. Luxuriate in amenities such as a 37- or 42-inch plasma TV, high-thread-count cotton bedding with feather duvet, bathrobes, a Bose Wave sound system, a preloaded iPod and more, set amidst super-sleek furnishings, atmospheric lighting and artful details.
Features
At Dream Hotel, dream away at the lobby lounge, Rm. Fifty5, a dimly lit space for celebrity sanctuary. At Ava Lounge, view across New York City or groove to the spinning DJ. Serafina brings the flavors of Italy to the table. Dream Hotel also offers a fitness center, parking and 24-hour concierge services.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Business

  • State-of-the-art meeting spaces, including a rooftop lounge with panoramic city views (fees apply)
  • Event planning and catering services (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Dream New York is currently making property-wide improvements scheduled to be completed on August 31st.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7646 -73.9819
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, Times Square, New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia International - 8 miles EastJFK - John F. Kennedy International - 15 miles EastEWR - Newark International Airport - 17 Miles Southwest.
Area description
Ideally situated between Central Park, Times Square and the world-class shopping of Madison & Fifth Avenue. LaGuardia Int'l Airport: 8 mi/13 km, 40 minutes. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 60 minutes. Newark Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 1 hour.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Dream New York Rooms

Medium Room One Queen Bed
Room included one queen bed 42 inch Plasma TV/Dream Hypo Feather BedDuvet/Tech Savvy Desk.
Standard Room
Modern ecelctic luxe is the order of the day in these tech savvy guestrooms. Designed with chocolate brown furnishings, accented by ethereal blues on a canvas of Warm White, Guest rooms include overstuffed, hypoallergenic featherbeds and comforter/duvet sets With 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. All guest rooms include either 37 inch wall-mounted Plasma Televisions, Bose wave radios, ergonomic workstations with Built in broadband hi speed access. Custom designed dreamscape artwork different in each Guest room. Dean and Deluca Minibars. CHopra Center bath products, Kashwere ultra-plush bathrobes. En chamber dining provided by Serafina, Dream*s onsite restaurant.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Rm.Fifty5 Lounge
Stepping into these sexy spaces is like entering a different world, one that has emerged from architect's Mark Zeff's altered vision of reality.
Serafina
Serafina" offers an eclectic mix of Italian fare, with some of the best thin-crust pizza in New York City.
Rm Fifty5 Lounge
Rm Fifty5 Lounge offers a convenient location on the street level with an Alice in Wonderland appeal.
Ava
AVA penthouse lounge offers unparalleled views of the midtown skyline and an open air roofdeck to soak up the sun and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Dream New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dream Stayer
New York
Mar 4, 2014

Dream Stay

The hotel stay was okay, I expected more because of the name I guess. Maybe it was the room I stayed in, I don't know, it could have had a lot more amenities like a microwave in the room, maybe a coffee maker simple stuff like that I think all rooms should include especially for the price and the hype of it. A plus is the staff was available and friendly. It wasn't horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frog48
Miami
Mar 1, 2014

Bad Dream

upon arrival informed that wonderful AVA lounge was under repair and wasnt available. Strike one There is no coffeeepot in the room so u are forced to order $10 coffee from room service. Opened the tap to take a shower and brown water comes out. no hot water The engineer Henryk was very responsive and took care of it. Turns out they were doing repairs on a floor and shut the hot water off. Which he resolved. Had to catch a cab urgently night before last. There is no doorman/bellman. They recruited someone who was in street clothes to help us get a cab Today we woke up to a frigid room. YOu guessed it..no heat. Henryk once again came. Brought us a space heater and cranked up the aging system by setting the thermostat to 88 to get a temp of 71 in the room. At this point all of the room was cold and the metal decor made it worse. It just seems that this hotel was set up quickly in an old building with barely enough staff. The staff is trying hard but is working with a decrepit building. Its not ready for prime time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie deli. Great food but u HAVE to share. Plates are monstrous. Carmines ( a little longer) Same recommendation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler05
Business
maine
Feb 21, 2014

Surprisingly nice

I am never worried about small rooms. What matters to me is excellent linens, cleanliness and gracious people at the front desk. This place did the job, and of course the location is in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deliccilandscaping
westchester pa
Feb 17, 2014

good location

Room was very small , I was looking at a brick wall out the window room # 606 but for the money and if not going to stay in the room much its a good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Podolsky
Business
Mexico City
Jan 24, 2014

Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There are two bars!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler1041
PA
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent location if you only have two days

The location is perfect if you are trying to visit various parts of the city in short time. It also is a good hotel if you have a variety of ages in your party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzaboo
Charlotte, NC
Jan 17, 2014

Dream Hotel's a Dream

I really enjoyed my stay at this wonderfully located NYC hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The hotel is decorated in a way that makes the experience unique - it's not just another blah hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mambochicken
Business
California
Jan 16, 2014

Kind of a Nightmare

The hotel is under demolition/rennovation currently. This was NOT communicated to me when I made the reservation. When I checked in I asked if there was going to be construction during my stay and the person who checked me in at the front desk told me "the construction will not bother you at all during your stay" This was not the case - on the floor I stayed they were demolishing most of the rooms, there were construction people in the hallway constantly, something was burning and smelled like burning rubber, i could see the smoke in the air and it smelled awful. Additionally, I couldn't turn on the heater in the room because it make a very loud thumping noise every time it reached the temp I had set it for and shut off. The thumping was waking me up every 15 minutes so I had to turn it off. There was also a light out in the vanity. I will say that the bellman was great, as was the doorman and the concierge. The final blow though was when I checked out and when the woman who checked me out asked how my stay was, I said, actually, there were a few problems... I started to name them off and she interrupted me and got very defensive saying that the construction wasn't planned and that they didn't know it was going to happen. I don't think that was the best way to respond. She did take off my incidentals which amounted to a few dollars, but I think the whole situation was handled very poorly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JK24
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 14, 2014

Couples getaway

The hotel was great! Pictures look just like the hotel rooms are on the smaller end but overall the hotel was better then I expected. Location was perfect if your looking to go to Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square is 5 blocks away very close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cold one
Business
sag harbor, ny
Jan 10, 2014

freezing room and bathroom

Impossible to warm up the room. Took 2 hrs to go from 64 to 72 degrees. Bathroom has marble floors and it was freezing. Never warmed up. Windows leaked cold air like a stream. I was told they are going to renovate the entire hotel. Maybe that will help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sarafina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search