$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Dream New York

4 stars
210 W 55th STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
245 reviews
great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again... See full review

  • lindseypeele
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very... See full review

  • Podolsky
  • Jan 24, 2014
Trend-setting midtown Manhattan hotel in landmark Beaux-Arts building
Cutting-edge cool thrives at Dream Hotel, a 5-star, mid-Manhattan boutique in an iconic Beaux-Arts building. Step into a lush, deep-groove, minimalist landscape punctuated by avant-garde details such as a ceiling portrait gallery and a two-story aquarium. In-room, state-of-the-art decor pairs with tech treasures such as a plasma TV, a Bose Wave sound system and a preloaded iPod. Drinks and dining are an experience to remember, especially at the rooftop Ava Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square.
Highlights

  • Enjoy in-room luxuries ranging from a preloaded iPod to a Bose Wave sound system, a plasma TV and atmospheric lighting
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and Rockefeller Center
  • Experience the on-site Ava Lounge, with a world-class view across the city

Location
Dream Hotel brings visitors to the heart of Manhattan, with a midtown location near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, plus incredible shopping at Madison and Fifth Avenue. A subway station is only a block away.
Rooms
Dream Hotel offers more than 200 guest rooms and suites featuring ultramodern and hip decor as well as extreme comfort. Luxuriate in amenities such as a 37- or 42-inch plasma TV, high-thread-count cotton bedding with feather duvet, bathrobes, a Bose Wave sound system, a preloaded iPod and more, set amidst super-sleek furnishings, atmospheric lighting and artful details.
Features
At Dream Hotel, dream away at the lobby lounge, Rm. Fifty5, a dimly lit space for celebrity sanctuary. At Ava Lounge, view across New York City or groove to the spinning DJ. Serafina brings the flavors of Italy to the table. Dream Hotel also offers a fitness center, parking and 24-hour concierge services.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Business

  • State-of-the-art meeting spaces, including a rooftop lounge with panoramic city views (fees apply)
  • Event planning and catering services (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Dream New York is currently making property-wide improvements scheduled to be completed on August 31st.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7646 -73.9819
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, Times Square, New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia International - 8 miles EastJFK - John F. Kennedy International - 15 miles EastEWR - Newark International Airport - 17 Miles Southwest.
Area description
Ideally situated between Central Park, Times Square and the world-class shopping of Madison & Fifth Avenue. LaGuardia Int'l Airport: 8 mi/13 km, 40 minutes. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 60 minutes. Newark Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 1 hour.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Dream New York Rooms

Medium Room One Queen Bed
Room included one queen bed 42 inch Plasma TV/Dream Hypo Feather BedDuvet/Tech Savvy Desk.
Standard Room
Modern ecelctic luxe is the order of the day in these tech savvy guestrooms. Designed with chocolate brown furnishings, accented by ethereal blues on a canvas of Warm White, Guest rooms include overstuffed, hypoallergenic featherbeds and comforter/duvet sets With 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. All guest rooms include either 37 inch wall-mounted Plasma Televisions, Bose wave radios, ergonomic workstations with Built in broadband hi speed access. Custom designed dreamscape artwork different in each Guest room. Dean and Deluca Minibars. CHopra Center bath products, Kashwere ultra-plush bathrobes. En chamber dining provided by Serafina, Dream*s onsite restaurant.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Rm.Fifty5 Lounge
Stepping into these sexy spaces is like entering a different world, one that has emerged from architect's Mark Zeff's altered vision of reality.
Serafina
Serafina" offers an eclectic mix of Italian fare, with some of the best thin-crust pizza in New York City.
Rm Fifty5 Lounge
Rm Fifty5 Lounge offers a convenient location on the street level with an Alice in Wonderland appeal.
Ava
AVA penthouse lounge offers unparalleled views of the midtown skyline and an open air roofdeck to soak up the sun and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Dream New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Acelaman
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 12, 2010

Not Much Dreaming Due to Construction

I like the Dream and it was my second stay. But they are tearing down the building across the street, so on Tuesday morning at 5am was the trash pickup and the sound of garbage trucks lifting and dropping tons of dumpsters. At 6:30am the jack hammering started as they are tearing down the building across the street. It was really hard to get any sleep past 5am. Otherwise the hotel is great, but the price fluctuates widely. I've paid anywhere from $240 to $319 a night. But the construction across the street is a major turnoff. And the Dream and the building being torn down are on corners, so the sound reverberates around the hotel, no matter what side you face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Castle Pub at 160 W54th is great and beats the trendy poseur pub on 7th ave. The Old Castle is quaint, authentic, with good grub and good brews! Stop there every time I stay in Midtown.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lansing
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 6, 2010

Basic accommodation in a good location

[...] Rooms are clean and quiet, but very small - watch out for the sharp edges of the bed frame when you squeeze by! Overall, this is a basic, centrally located hotel with some glaring service shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Molyvos is an excellent, reasonably priced Greek restaurant just around the corner on 7th Avenue.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lansing
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 6, 2010

Basic accommodation in a good location

[...] Rooms are clean and quiet, but very small - watch out for the sharp edges of the bed frame when you squeeze by! Overall, this is a basic, centrally located hotel with some glaring service shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Molyvos is an excellent, reasonably priced Greek restaurant just around the corner on 7th Avenue.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 1, 2010

There are better choices for the money

On this trip to NYC, we wanted to stay slightly off of Times Square and be in walking distance to the park, theaters and shopping. As far as location, the hotel is perfect. Also, the lobby is very impressive with great decor and atmosphere. I felt like I was in a hotel in south beach. The restaurants and bar are also great. The room itself, however, was very disappointing. The decor was pleasant and minimalist, and the bed was adequate. The toilet handle had to be adjusted every time to keep it from running. The room was VERY LOUD. We heard every honk from the street and every door that opened and closed in the hall way. Additionally, we heard EVERYTHING that occurred in our neighbor's room. I'm not a light sleeper, but had a very hard time sleeping in this room Also, there were Halloween parties being hosted by both the hotel's lounges. It took us several minutes to even get to the elevators leading to our room. In fact, we wound up walking up the stairs to the sixth floor because lines to the elevator were so long. Our overall experience was not absolutely terrible, but it certainly was not great for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounges were in accessible due to crowds of college age kids. Plan on walking elsewhere for drinks.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 1, 2010

There are better choices for the money

On this trip to NYC, we wanted to stay slightly off of Times Square and be in walking distance to the park, theaters and shopping. As far as location, the hotel is perfect. Also, the lobby is very impressive with great decor and atmosphere. I felt like I was in a hotel in south beach. The restaurants and bar are also great. The room itself, however, was very disappointing. The decor was pleasant and minimalist, and the bed was adequate. The toilet handle had to be adjusted every time to keep it from running. The room was VERY LOUD. We heard every honk from the street and every door that opened and closed in the hall way. Additionally, we heard EVERYTHING that occurred in our neighbor's room. I'm not a light sleeper, but had a very hard time sleeping in this room Also, there were Halloween parties being hosted by both the hotel's lounges. It took us several minutes to even get to the elevators leading to our room. In fact, we wound up walking up the stairs to the sixth floor because lines to the elevator were so long. Our overall experience was not absolutely terrible, but it certainly was not great for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounges were in accessible due to crowds of college age kids. Plan on walking elsewhere for drinks.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Oct 25, 2010

Truly a dream

We were on our honeymoon and had a stop off in NYC for one night. This hotel was beautiful! The bed gave us a good night's sleep that we hadn't had since we left our house. The people at the front desk were accommodating and extremely nice and professional. We ordered room service and the food was delicious as well as their house wine was one of the best wines I've ever tasted! We would definitely return here. Our parents met us in the city for dinner and we ate at Remi, as recommended by the concierge. It was delicious! Note: Show your room key at the elevator if their is a line for the PH level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remi, an italian restaurant, was a short walk from the hotel and a great dining experience. It was a bit pricey but worth the cost. Also, the room service at the hotel was delicious and welcomed after a long trip from Madrid.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Oct 25, 2010

Truly a dream

We were on our honeymoon and had a stop off in NYC for one night. This hotel was beautiful! The bed gave us a good night's sleep that we hadn't had since we left our house. The people at the front desk were accommodating and extremely nice and professional. We ordered room service and the food was delicious as well as their house wine was one of the best wines I've ever tasted! We would definitely return here. Our parents met us in the city for dinner and we ate at Remi, as recommended by the concierge. It was delicious! Note: Show your room key at the elevator if their is a line for the PH level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remi, an italian restaurant, was a short walk from the hotel and a great dining experience. It was a bit pricey but worth the cost. Also, the room service at the hotel was delicious and welcomed after a long trip from Madrid.

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bongodrummer
Ayrshire
Oct 24, 2010

Nice hotel

The location of this hotel is really good as you are only 5 minutes from Times Square. The room was comfortable and clean but small. Our first night we stayed there it was a Saturday night and it was very noisy. There were people shouting at 4am. After that night it was really quiet and we didn't have any problems at all. I would also recommend the restaurant especially for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chugan
Montere Park, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, great hotel!! Couple of blocks from Central Park, Theater District, METRO. Cute and cozy hotel. Rooms are small but very cozy. Room service was great as with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of $$$$$

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chugan
Montere Park, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, great hotel!! Couple of blocks from Central Park, Theater District, METRO. Cute and cozy hotel. Rooms are small but very cozy. Room service was great as with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of $$$$$

Back to menu Return to top