$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Dream New York

4 stars
210 W 55th STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
245 reviews
great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again... See full review

  • lindseypeele
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great place!

The room was great, the bed was incredible. Great bars. The roof top one, has a good view. Very... See full review

  • Podolsky
  • Jan 24, 2014
Trend-setting midtown Manhattan hotel in landmark Beaux-Arts building
Cutting-edge cool thrives at Dream Hotel, a 5-star, mid-Manhattan boutique in an iconic Beaux-Arts building. Step into a lush, deep-groove, minimalist landscape punctuated by avant-garde details such as a ceiling portrait gallery and a two-story aquarium. In-room, state-of-the-art decor pairs with tech treasures such as a plasma TV, a Bose Wave sound system and a preloaded iPod. Drinks and dining are an experience to remember, especially at the rooftop Ava Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square.
Highlights

  • Enjoy in-room luxuries ranging from a preloaded iPod to a Bose Wave sound system, a plasma TV and atmospheric lighting
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and Rockefeller Center
  • Experience the on-site Ava Lounge, with a world-class view across the city

Location
Dream Hotel brings visitors to the heart of Manhattan, with a midtown location near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, plus incredible shopping at Madison and Fifth Avenue. A subway station is only a block away.
Rooms
Dream Hotel offers more than 200 guest rooms and suites featuring ultramodern and hip decor as well as extreme comfort. Luxuriate in amenities such as a 37- or 42-inch plasma TV, high-thread-count cotton bedding with feather duvet, bathrobes, a Bose Wave sound system, a preloaded iPod and more, set amidst super-sleek furnishings, atmospheric lighting and artful details.
Features
At Dream Hotel, dream away at the lobby lounge, Rm. Fifty5, a dimly lit space for celebrity sanctuary. At Ava Lounge, view across New York City or groove to the spinning DJ. Serafina brings the flavors of Italy to the table. Dream Hotel also offers a fitness center, parking and 24-hour concierge services.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Business

  • State-of-the-art meeting spaces, including a rooftop lounge with panoramic city views (fees apply)
  • Event planning and catering services (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Dream New York is currently making property-wide improvements scheduled to be completed on August 31st.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dream New York Rooms

Medium Room One Queen Bed
Room included one queen bed 42 inch Plasma TV/Dream Hypo Feather BedDuvet/Tech Savvy Desk.
Standard Room
Modern ecelctic luxe is the order of the day in these tech savvy guestrooms. Designed with chocolate brown furnishings, accented by ethereal blues on a canvas of Warm White, Guest rooms include overstuffed, hypoallergenic featherbeds and comforter/duvet sets With 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. All guest rooms include either 37 inch wall-mounted Plasma Televisions, Bose wave radios, ergonomic workstations with Built in broadband hi speed access. Custom designed dreamscape artwork different in each Guest room. Dean and Deluca Minibars. CHopra Center bath products, Kashwere ultra-plush bathrobes. En chamber dining provided by Serafina, Dream*s onsite restaurant.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7646 -73.9819
Area served
Midtown Manhattan, Times Square, New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - La Guardia International - 8 miles EastJFK - John F. Kennedy International - 15 miles EastEWR - Newark International Airport - 17 Miles Southwest.
Area description
Ideally situated between Central Park, Times Square and the world-class shopping of Madison & Fifth Avenue. LaGuardia Int'l Airport: 8 mi/13 km, 40 minutes. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 60 minutes. Newark Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 1 hour.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Rm.Fifty5 Lounge
Stepping into these sexy spaces is like entering a different world, one that has emerged from architect's Mark Zeff's altered vision of reality.
Serafina
Serafina" offers an eclectic mix of Italian fare, with some of the best thin-crust pizza in New York City.
Rm Fifty5 Lounge
Rm Fifty5 Lounge offers a convenient location on the street level with an Alice in Wonderland appeal.
Ava
AVA penthouse lounge offers unparalleled views of the midtown skyline and an open air roofdeck to soak up the sun and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Dream New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vegas vacation guy
Dallas, Texas
Jul 8, 2014

Dream Hotel

The Dream hotel is a very nice location, very nice hotel, however. nobody seemed to mention is was under renovation. The hotel was covered in scafolds, and the lobby, full of hard hats, and wood, and construction material. The hotel had three elevators, but one was designated for the workers, making it a long wait to go up, or down. When complete, I am sure its a very nice hotel, the rooms are small, but expected that in NY, where space is prime. I would stay again, after renovations are complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lindseypeele
charlotte, north carolina
Jul 7, 2014

great place!

Was switched to dream downtown and it was so nice! Doormen extremely helpful. Will stay here again on my next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Won't visit again guest
New York
May 13, 2014

Disappointed

Dirty bathrooms (rusty wall units and "brown" stuff in toilet floor), expensive rooms especially when there's cigarette burn on couch, white couch is brown, found a syringe tucked next to the bedroom's safe, had to call for bathrobes (should have been provided especially if room is a 1 bedroom suite), had to call (several times) for wine glasses, elevators took forever. Lack of amenities such as a spa or gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Greg Panc
Las Vegas
Apr 29, 2014

More like a nightmare

We decided to stay here based on the pictures and central location. Unfortunately the picture look much better than reality. First of all every door slams and it echoes through every room. You can hear the street noise through the window. The hotel staff uses the small main elevators making it tough to fit other people with luggage. One elevator was inoperable our entire stay. Only good thing about the hotel was a great location. Otherwise horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CourtM15
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

Hotel is OK

Check in was fine, however elevators were slow and one didn't work. We were on floor 6. The room reeked of cologne and a lot of the bathroom was rusted. Our hair dryer didn't work that well and when I called front desk to have one brought up, they never did. I never had the chance to check out the bars within the hotel. I would say this hotel is more like putting lipstick on a pig. I am guessing Dream *Downtown* is much nicer. Wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Greg Panc
Las Vegas
Apr 22, 2014

Nightmare

Booked this hotel based on the pictures online and since it has a great location. Unfortunately the shower only had warm water, the elevators were so slow we took the stairs, the maintenance staff also tied up the elevators, you can hear every door slam, and the rooms were very small. Probably the worst hotel for the money in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
af09
Business
miami fl
Apr 21, 2014

quick trip

nice hotel, very small room but expected. decent location for first time in nyc, wish i had been further away from the craziness of times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LUKES LOBSTER GO EAT THERE

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
penelopetk
new york
Apr 14, 2014

Satisfactory

overall stay was to our satisfaction. oranges at night on the pillow was great. seraphina restaurant was ok. being charged for internet is ridiculous- wifi is everywhere, why charge 10 dollars a day??? for location and what we wanted to do, the hotel was alright. next time we will stay further south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve57
Business
Houston
Apr 4, 2014

Dream in NYC

I chose this hotel for its location - perfectly situated in midtown yet on a quiet street. The room was on the small side but very functional and surprisingly the bathroom was of a good size. The room was spotless, the service helpful and the check-in process was speedy. The only drawback during the stay was that there was some elevator construction so service was slow. Being on the 3rd floor I just took the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cigar shop on 56th near 6th Ave

Review of Dream New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen Q
Orange County, California
Mar 26, 2014

Just so-so...

The sexy/modern look of the hotel is what attracted me to book our 5 night stay here. The location near Time Square, the Theatre District, Central Park, was perfect, and we walked just about everywhere because we were so central to a lot of things. The Good: The hotel lobby and rooms are beautiful, modern and chic. The basic rooms are very small though, with minimal closet space, and no large dressers. There is a small nightstand type dresser in a cabinet under the mounted TV where we were able to put a few pairs of jeans, and we also utilized the small nightstand drawers on either side fo the bed to shove some things in as well. The small size of the room was no biggie though, as we were in NYC to site-see and bar hop for St. Patty's weekend. The room served its purpose, had a comfy bed, and a cool ambiance to relax in at the end of our day/night. The Not-So-Good: The bathroom was a bit dated, and there were black specs of mold all over the shower walls. There was a fan in the bathroom; however it didn't seem to serve its purpose, as the room remained very humid and moist well after we took our shower...hence the poor ventilation and mold in the shower. We were also a bit disappointed with the few run-ins with the maintenance people throughout our stay. For such a swanky and hip hotel, we didn't expect to run into unprofessional and unkempt looking service people. On one elevator trip (which are VERY sloooow, and small...it's NY, I get it and that didn't bother us much at all) one maintenance guy got in with us, his walkie/talkie radio blasting, stops at one floor, the door opens and he yells out, "Hey, anyone up here?!", then proceeded to get out. On another occasion, we were on our way up to our 11th floor room, the elevator stops at 8, what appears to be a supervisor of some sort, with a maid gets in and hits the button for the 5th floor. Instead of heading back up to our room, we went for a detour and went back down to the 5th floor. Now, again, not a huge deal, but as I said, the elevators move really slowly, and you have to wait for quite a while sometimes for the elevator to reach the lobby. What bothered us was that the supervisor didn't recognize the illuminated floor button where we were going, and instead went down a few floors to where she needed to go. Really, not a HUGE issue, but just little details of customer service that might be important to some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for walking to many places in mid-town!

Back to menu Return to top