$215 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Dream Downtown

4 stars
View map of 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Early Valentine's Celebration

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Dream Downtown. We were celebrating Valentine's Day a week... See full review

  • Stephanie D.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Fun Time

The hotel was very hip and clean. I would recommend this hotel to a younger set who wants to be... See full review

  • DaveF
  • Jan 20, 2015
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream New York and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene.
Featuring 315 loft-style guestrooms and suites, accommodations at Dream Downtown feature blissful amenities such as flat screen TVs, high-speed WiFi, custom Etro toiletries and 350-thread-count Egyptian cotton bed linens. The rooms at our Downtown hotel offer the perfect reprieve from a day spent touring the sights of New York City, or the perfect meeting place to begin a marvelous night out in the city that never sleeps.
Dream Downtown features some of the best Manhattan restaurants. Add a boost to your day at Melvin's Juice Box, the organic juice bar and cafe located at the front of Dream Downtown. Juices and smoothies are 100% organic and made fresh daily, and the grab and go menu, including fresh salads, wraps, fruit and juices, is the perfect option for on-the-go. The 37-seat cafe is also available for breakfast, lunch and dinner service a la carte. Fluent in Japanese but with a French accent, Cherry features sushi and sake from Bond Street creator Jonathon Morr. A partnership between TAO Group, Serge Becker (Miss Lilys, La Esquina), and his UK partners Will Ricker and Ed Spencer Churchill, Bodega Negra has crossed the pond, bringing its menu of modern Mexican fare to New York City's Dream Downtown. The menu consists of original items created by Chef Michael Armstrong, as well as a small selection of signature dishes available at the UK location. Chef Armstrong's menu draws inspiration from the diverse regions of Mexico, and is designed for sharing, ranging from small plates such as ceviches, tacos, and salads, to large-format offerings.
Dream Downtown offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtownis within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. Arriving at Dream Downtown is easy, just a few miles away from Newark International Airport, LaGuardia Airport and John F. Kennedy International Airport.
Please note the hotel pool is reserved for adults only after 12pm. Children under the age of 16 may not be permitted in the pool after that time.
Please note that at the signature rooftop lounge PH-D, entry after 9:30pm is at the doorman's discretion; access is not guaranteed. Please contact hotel for further details.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Dream Downtown Rooms

Bronze Queens
Bronze Queens offer one queen bed with showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain showerheads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Bronze Queens come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Bronze Kings
Bronze Kings offer one king bed with showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain showerheads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Steel Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Silver King
Silver King offers one king bed. Rooms have 10-foot high ceilings and average 285 square feet. Silver Kings offer partial views of the New York City skyline including the Empire State Building. Silver Kings showcase oversized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Silver Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Silver Double
Silver Double offers one double bed. Rooms have 10-foot high ceilings, average 325 square feet and include two full size beds, as well as a custom over sized armchair or sofa. Silver Doubles showcase oversized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Silver Doubles come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli alarm clock radios.
Gold King
Gold King offers one king bed. Rooms of average 330 square feet and offer spectacular unobstructed views of the New York City skyline including the Empire State Building. Gold Kings showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Gold Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square: 0.1 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.2 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.5 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.1 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.2 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.5 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.7 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Winston Churchill Park: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.8 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.8 mi
  • Montauk Club: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.8 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.9 mi
  • The Players: 0.9 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.9 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.9 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.9 mi
  • New York University: 0.9 mi
  • Greenwich Village: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dream Downtown features extremely flexible function spaces for small private dinners and board meetings to large catered events and exhibitions. An extremely experienced staff of catering professionals is on hand at the property to assist in every facet of your even from planning to the big day. To request more information send an email to Sales@dreamdt.com.

Dining

Bodega Negra
A partnership between TAO Group, Serge Becker (Miss Lilys, La Esquina), and his UK partners Will Ricker and Ed Spencer Churchill, Bodega Negra has crossed the pond, bringing its menu of modern Mexican fare to New York Citys Dream Downtown. The menu consists of original items created by Chef Michael Armstrong, as well as a small selection of signature dishes available at the UK location. Chef Armstrongs menu draws inspiration from the diverse regions of Mexico, and is designed for sharing, ranging from small plates such as ceviches, tacos, and salads, to large-format offerings.
Melvin's Juice Box
Add a boost to your day at the organic juice bar and cafe located at the front of Dream Downtown. Juices and smoothies are 100% organic and made fresh daily, and the grab and go menu, including fresh salads, wraps, fruit and juices, is the perfect option for on-the-go. The 37-seat cafe is also available for breakfast, lunch and dinner service a la carte.
Lobby Lounge
The hotel's lobby lounge features a coffee bar by day, bar and DJ by night.
Pool Bar/The Beach
Outdoor year round pool has a Pool Bar & Grill, open seasonally offering Mexican cuisine.
PH-D
Rooftop Bar and Lounge, offering spectacular views of the New York City skyline.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Dream Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xdlo
Santiago, Chile
Nov 18, 2012

Stylish in Meatpacking

This is a great hotel option if you like to have a stylish stay in the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Rooftop Bar/Terrace is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie D.
Business
East Northport
Feb 10, 2015

Early Valentine's Celebration

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Dream Downtown. We were celebrating Valentine's Day a week earlier and wanted to have a nice night out. When arriving, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They let us know about the restaurants at the hotel and were helpful with explaining what the hotel offers. The rooms are clean, contemporary and comfortable, with a bed you feel like you are floating on. This was my 2nd stay here and will definitely be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gano V.
Business
Washington
Feb 9, 2015

Great rooms but a little small

Wonderful location, cool, hip...great staff. Rooms are really cool...my only "complaint" is they are a little small...like most hotels in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shannon B.
Business
west orange
Feb 4, 2015

Terrible Hotel

The staff was rude and they were very inflexible. The rooms are so tiny that it is scary and claustrophobic. The hotel is full of young children, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. E. I .
Business
New York
Jan 24, 2015

Super Hot in NYC

This is a great hotel to use the pool and hang for the night and party in NYC. I loved it, and i could not think of a better location and hotel and pool to stay. DI

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaveF
Business
jacksonville
Jan 20, 2015

Fun Time

The hotel was very hip and clean. I would recommend this hotel to a younger set who wants to be with the in crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith F.
Business
New Orleans
Jan 12, 2015

Is this a Nightclub or Hotel?

The hotel was fine, but I've never been stopped from entering a hotel by a bouncer. Even after I showed my key, I still had issues getting in. Finally a desk person saw the growing confrontation and saved me. It ruined the rest of the stay. Nice bathroom though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staycation
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

anniversary

My partner and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary and this hotel was perfect! The front desk agent, Ariel, was so sweet and accommodating. The room was incredibly sexy and the nightlife fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexis 1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 24, 2014

dream hotel on a Saturday night

I would rate this hotel as average. We checked in a little later than usual, around 7:30 pm. Since it was a Saturday night hotel was so crowded that it was very hard to get through to the elevators. When we finally got there we had to wait to get in the elevator. The room and bathroom were extremely small. Rooms look so much bigger on the pictures. When we came back to our room, around 1:30 am and tried to sleep we coud hear drank people walking back and forth our floor till around 5am. However if the party at the PHD club at this hotel is your only intension, and you don`t really care about the size of the room and getting some sleep before 5am then it is a right hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cookshop- Great breakfast !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lynn SF girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 18, 2014

Perfect place for a girls getaway

The Dream hotel set out to make our dreams come true and they succeeded. We were 6 girls who could not wait to get away from the daily grind and celebrate our best friend's wedding engagement. The concierge team at Dream reached out to us and went above and beyond to make sure that our bachelorette was treated like royalty. We stayed in one of the platinum suites. The room was so modern and chic! We loved the decor of the room. The only small downside was that we couldn't figure out how to work the music on the TV and there was not an iPod dock. However, they quickly responded with providing an auxiliary cable but we did not get to use since we were mostly out and about. They were able to accommodate just about everything that we requested including a pull out sofa bed, complimentary champagne, special delivery of refrigerator, and also helped to receive and deliver a surprise cake that we ordered. Best part was the LOCATION. We were perfectly located in walking distance of shopping, cafes, coffee, restaurants, bars, clubs, convenience stores, and could not have asked for anything better. There was also a club and restaurant in the hotel itself. Overall, it was a fun and lively atmosphere. For our commute, the subway on 14th was just a few steps away making it so convenient to get to and from JFK even though JFK is far, it was so incredibly easy to figure out how to get to the hotel. Totally not worth taking a cab since it took the same amount of time. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to anyone thinking of checking out meatpacking district for good eats and parties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bagatelle Day Brunch Party - check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CB Dallas
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 9, 2014

Good Hotel

Good hotel in a good area. They have a very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top