$205 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Dream Downtown

4 stars
View map of 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Great Trip

Thanks so much for you hospitality. We loved DJ Chris Wonder too! See full review

  • BusinessH
  • Apr 12, 2015
Early Valentine's Celebration

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Dream Downtown. We were celebrating Valentine's Day a week... See full review

  • Stephanie D.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream New York and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene.
Featuring 315 loft-style guestrooms and suites, accommodations at Dream Downtown feature blissful amenities such as flat screen TVs, high-speed WiFi, custom Etro toiletries and 350-thread-count Egyptian cotton bed linens. The rooms at our Downtown hotel offer the perfect reprieve from a day spent touring the sights of New York City, or the perfect meeting place to begin a marvelous night out in the city that never sleeps.
Dream Downtown features some of the best Manhattan restaurants. Fluent in Japanese but with a French accent, Cherry features sushi and sake from Bond Street creator Jonathon Morr. A partnership between TAO Group, Serge Becker (Miss Lilys, La Esquina), and his UK partners Will Ricker and Ed Spencer Churchill, Bodega Negra has crossed the pond, bringing its menu of modern Mexican fare to New York City's Dream Downtown. The menu consists of original items created by Chef Michael Armstrong, as well as a small selection of signature dishes available at the UK location. Chef Armstrong's menu draws inspiration from the diverse regions of Mexico, and is designed for sharing, ranging from small plates such as ceviches, tacos, and salads, to large-format offerings.
Dream Downtown offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtownis within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. Arriving at Dream Downtown is easy, just a few miles away from Newark International Airport, LaGuardia Airport and John F. Kennedy International Airport.
Please note the hotel pool is reserved for adults only after 12pm. Children under the age of 16 may not be permitted in the pool after that time.
Please note that at the signature rooftop lounge PH-D, entry after 9:30pm is at the doorman's discretion; access is not guaranteed. Please contact hotel for further details.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Dream Downtown Rooms

Bronze Queens
Bronze Queens offer one queen bed with showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain showerheads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Bronze Queens come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Bronze Kings
Bronze Kings offer one king bed with showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain showerheads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Steel Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Silver King
Silver King offers one king bed. Rooms have 10-foot high ceilings and average 285 square feet. Silver Kings offer partial views of the New York City skyline including the Empire State Building. Silver Kings showcase oversized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Silver Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli Alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.
Silver Double
Silver Double offers one double bed. Rooms have 10-foot high ceilings, average 325 square feet and include two full size beds, as well as a custom over sized armchair or sofa. Silver Doubles showcase oversized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Silver Doubles come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli alarm clock radios.
Gold King
Gold King offers one king bed. Rooms of average 330 square feet and offer spectacular unobstructed views of the New York City skyline including the Empire State Building. Gold Kings showcase over sized porthole windows, chrome and teak accented furniture, Oushak rugs, safari chairs, rain shower heads, custom bathroom amenities by Etro and a fully-stocked private bar. For the tech-savvy traveler, Gold Kings come equipped with integrated in-room automation, bedside Tivoli alarm clock radios and internet-ready 40 inch LED TVs with wireless keyboards and laptop/i-Pod connectivity.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square: 0.1 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.2 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.5 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.1 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Hudson River Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Gansevoort Market: 0.2 mi
  • Abingdon Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Cherry Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.5 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.6 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.7 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Winston Churchill Park: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.8 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.8 mi
  • Montauk Club: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.8 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.9 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.9 mi
  • The Players: 0.9 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.9 mi
  • West 30th Street Heliport: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.9 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.9 mi
  • New York University: 0.9 mi
  • Greenwich Village: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dream Downtown features extremely flexible function spaces for small private dinners and board meetings to large catered events and exhibitions. An extremely experienced staff of catering professionals is on hand at the property to assist in every facet of your even from planning to the big day. To request more information send an email to Sales@dreamdt.com.

Dining

Bodega Negra
A partnership between TAO Group, Serge Becker (Miss Lilys, La Esquina), and his UK partners Will Ricker and Ed Spencer Churchill, Bodega Negra has crossed the pond, bringing its menu of modern Mexican fare to New York Citys Dream Downtown. The menu consists of original items created by Chef Michael Armstrong, as well as a small selection of signature dishes available at the UK location. Chef Armstrongs menu draws inspiration from the diverse regions of Mexico, and is designed for sharing, ranging from small plates such as ceviches, tacos, and salads, to large-format offerings.
Melvin's Juice Box
Add a boost to your day at the organic juice bar and cafe located at the front of Dream Downtown. Juices and smoothies are 100% organic and made fresh daily, and the grab and go menu, including fresh salads, wraps, fruit and juices, is the perfect option for on-the-go. The 37-seat cafe is also available for breakfast, lunch and dinner service a la carte.
Lobby Lounge
The hotel's lobby lounge features a coffee bar by day, bar and DJ by night.
Pool Bar/The Beach
Outdoor year round pool has a Pool Bar & Grill, open seasonally offering Mexican cuisine.
PH-D
Rooftop Bar and Lounge, offering spectacular views of the New York City skyline.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Dream Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BusinessH
Business
Chicago
Apr 12, 2015

Great Trip

Thanks so much for you hospitality. We loved DJ Chris Wonder too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pkapel
Business
manalapan
Mar 16, 2015

great location for a nice hotel

stayed at Dream downtown this weekend. it's a nice and a popular hot spot in a very happening part of town. enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie D.
Business
East Northport
Feb 10, 2015

Early Valentine's Celebration

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Dream Downtown. We were celebrating Valentine's Day a week earlier and wanted to have a nice night out. When arriving, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They let us know about the restaurants at the hotel and were helpful with explaining what the hotel offers. The rooms are clean, contemporary and comfortable, with a bed you feel like you are floating on. This was my 2nd stay here and will definitely be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. E. I .
Business
New York
Jan 24, 2015

Super Hot in NYC

This is a great hotel to use the pool and hang for the night and party in NYC. I loved it, and i could not think of a better location and hotel and pool to stay. DI

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith F.
Business
New Orleans
Jan 12, 2015

Is this a Nightclub or Hotel?

The hotel was fine, but I've never been stopped from entering a hotel by a bouncer. Even after I showed my key, I still had issues getting in. Finally a desk person saw the growing confrontation and saved me. It ruined the rest of the stay. Nice bathroom though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexis 1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 24, 2014

dream hotel on a Saturday night

I would rate this hotel as average. We checked in a little later than usual, around 7:30 pm. Since it was a Saturday night hotel was so crowded that it was very hard to get through to the elevators. When we finally got there we had to wait to get in the elevator. The room and bathroom were extremely small. Rooms look so much bigger on the pictures. When we came back to our room, around 1:30 am and tried to sleep we coud hear drank people walking back and forth our floor till around 5am. However if the party at the PHD club at this hotel is your only intension, and you don`t really care about the size of the room and getting some sleep before 5am then it is a right hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cookshop- Great breakfast !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rab0bi
Business
Perth, Australia
Aug 18, 2014

Super chic Boutique hotel

This uber-cool hotel is located very close to the High Line in the Meatpacking District. As soon as you enter the building's lobby there is an immediate WOW factor with the glass-bottomed pool directly overhead providing an interesting view and lighting. The clientele all appear to be young couples/friends and not the average family or middle-age demographic. You'd expect to run into some celebrity. The hotel has a restaurant, a cafe near the pool deck, and a rooftop bar PH-D. Although don't expect to be able to use all of the facilities just because you're a guest, as these are frequently booked to events. PH-D is particularly popular and the rooftop bar was unavailable for two nights during our stay. We did manage to get in but we were clearly not the intended customer and felt very very judged! Onto our room. In keeping with the glossy and trendy theme, when opening the door you're greeted with a TV screen showing images of past celebrity guests partying to a dance soundtrack. It was a very small room but had a great view of the Empire State Building. The bed was way too soft, and required major effort to get in and out of. Even turning around burns significant calories, so that's nice. The bathroom takes up most of the room, with an enormous shower, leaving practically no space for toiletries. Oh, and the noise. The walls between rooms are paper thin, so be warned. Apparently there are many complaints due to the rooftop bar (on level 12) but we found that running the A/C on low all night provided sufficient 'white noise' to drown this out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giovanni Rana at Chelsea Markets is superb. Great pasta dishes and for something different try the chocolate ravioli, sensational.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. E. I .
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 4, 2014

Wonderful Stay in NYC

We were celebrating a birthday. The hotel was wonderful. Pool excellent and beautiful. Room upgrade was special. I would return 100 % . I love the location and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel has the greatest 2 best lounges in NYC .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sooz
Business
Uk
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic hotel for the young and trendy!

Hotel is fantastic, quirky, modern and different from the usual chain hotels ... however is for the young and trendy. Room was quite small but was comfortable and modern with a good view of the Empire State Building. Pool looked great although didn't use it as felt too fat and old!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Water taxi from Pier 49 is fabulous! $30 per person but you can use it all day, and hop on and off as you please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tech Scott Seattle
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 1, 2014

Groovy hotel - slack service on a busy weekend

I really loved this hotel. Stayed three nights (fri,sat,sun) over a busy weekend in NYC. Friday was perfect - great turn down service. Saturday: no turn down service. Sunday: room wasn't cleaned, towels ordered twice and never arrived. Overall - this property is GREAT... a few slip ups put a bit of a downer on our stay. On checkout, the check out clerk (which happened to be the assistant front office manager Katia) offered to upgrade on our next visit to make up for the minor bummed experience. Stay here, it's great - be persistent if they are busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chelsea Market is 1 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top