$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
118 reviews
family trip

It was a great weekend. The location was great for the trains. New York is such a fun city. See full review

  • Paul V.
  • Jun 9, 2015
Great place to stay

Hotel is extremely comfortable with great staff. Only reason I did not give location 5 stars was... See full review

  • Megan C.
  • Feb 15, 2015
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 118
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great 1
Business
Houston
Nov 19, 2014

Hotel Stay

Pricy for an extremely small room, But other than that it's the perfect hotel stay in every accommodation.type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cissy123
Business
Boston
Oct 16, 2014

They gave me wrong room

Every time I ordered a king room, the gave me a twin room. The front desk man even feel it's very normal, and just shaked his shoulder and said an"unfortunately" like it's my. falt or extra requirement .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Speedy
Business
Virginia
Aug 11, 2014

great location in NYC

This was a great location in NYC and for a great price. The staff was friendly, and responded quickly when I had a problem with drainage in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cosherow
Business
houston, tx
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect for my purposes

My stay at the doubletree was just fine. My room was tiny but the bed was comfrotable and clean. The elevator takes a VERY long time so legit add 5-10 minutes to your trip to your destination every time. The staff was wonderful as well as the location. I wasn't in the room much so for my purposes it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malbec
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Meh...

I requested a non-smoking room, yet when I got my room, it smelled of cigarrettes. Location is also in the dirty area of Chelsea, but at least it's fairly quiet. Lastly, if you're claustrophobic, avoid this place. This hotel has narrower hallways than your average apartment and it only has two elevators. During times of high traffic, like in the morning, you are likely to wait more than 5-10 minutes for the elevator to reach your floor. Good luck if you're way at the top of the hotel, you may have to use the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
macvitie
Business
uk
Mar 8, 2012

Very central

This hotel is in a fairly quiet location. It is within comfortable walking distance of anywhere in midtown Manhatten. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDS22
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Right price, quiet room

Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but, more importantly, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jag The Lad
Business
London, UK
Jan 3, 2012

Fantastic place for short-stay to NYC

I stayed for 3 nights at the Double Tree in December 2011. The hotel was really clean and modern looking. I was welcomed with some cookies at check-in and the staff were really friendly and very happy to give advice on the city. My room was very modern with a big tv and clock-stereo where I could hook my ipod to - nice touch! The room wasn't very big, but this wasn't an issue as I didn't really spend too much time lounging about in there. I would say the only 'annoying' thing about the hotel was the time it took for the elevator. There are only two and they do take quite sometime. I waited almost 15min when checking-out for the elevator (no way I was going to take my heavy luggage down the stairs!). All in all the hotel exceeded my expectations mainly because of how modern and clean everything was and also it's fantastic location - literally in the heart of NYC. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
serenity74
Business
CT
Dec 13, 2011

Great find!

Friendly staff, super clean, very close to Penn Station, extremely good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjleejr
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Sep 25, 2011

Fun NYC getaway

It was very good. I got there very early so they were happy to check my bag until I got back to check into the hotel so I could walk around NYC. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top