$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
113 reviews
Beautiful hotel with a birds eye view

I stayed one night here in Manhattan the view of Manhattan and empire States is fantastic. I loved... See full review

  • Farhad Chowdhury
  • Aug 16, 2015
Trip to NYC to See U@

We got upgraded immediately upon check in, great view and good size room for NYC. Hotel was close... See full review

  • Tanya H.
  • Jul 29, 2015
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 90 reviews
★★★
$118
4.2 / 5 205 reviews
★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 106 reviews
★★★
$141
4.2 / 5 32 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 82 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.4 / 5 89 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 151 reviews
★★★★
$135
3.9 / 5 318 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Empire State Building: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 113
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foobar
Business
lutherville
Jul 16, 2015

Not great, but there are worse

Overall the hotel/room was fine, with the exception of the bathroom which smelled rank. I expect better from a major chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erik P.
Business
new york
Feb 4, 2015

Cookies in Chelsea

Quick check in....warm cookies.....only stayed 4 hours but got the nap I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oday ALSHAIKHLI
Business
bowie
Dec 30, 2014

Gongs hotel

One of the worst hotels in the world and more dirty hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete1234321
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 2, 2014

Overbooked, but compted stay

I arrived late Saturday night and was told no rooms were available. The staff was very apologetic and friendly, found me a room in a hotel of equal quality 1 block away and compted nth stay for the night. While slightly inconvenient, very well handheld by very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJ DMV
Business
East coast
Dec 19, 2013

Great location!

This is a prime spot. Convenient to great stuff and not NY prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Memis
Business
Bridgeport
Oct 30, 2013

Business Trip

Everything is good at Hilton Hotels however their towels are third class and not good quality. I travel so often and stay different hotels, I do not like to carry my towels while I am going to stay at Hilton. Please, pay attention to comfort of your guests. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bobby Finn
Business
new jersey
Aug 5, 2013

hotel worked out

hotel worked out..thought room was clean..would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCS Business Traveler
Business
New Jersey
Mar 20, 2013

In town on business

I can't say enough about the fantastic hotel staff. They always had a smile on their face and we very helpful. The rooms are a bit small and the elevators are slow but other than that it is a terrific value for the experience and the location. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jack's Steak House on 5th ave between 28th and 29th, one of the best steaks I have ever had. Steak for 2 or more is the way to go but everything else being served looked excellent. We have been there every time we go into the city.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winebiz
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Very nice cost-conscious choice

I had an unexpected extra night in NYC to pay for on my way home from a trip to the east coast. I just didn't want to pay a huge amount of a hotel room so I decided to take a chance on this place. It's proximity to Penn Station was the deciding factor. The block it is on is very dark at night. There are no business open so it feels a little sketchy. But the lobby is very nice and the very friendly staff offered me a warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. The room was small but had a king-sized bed which was very comfortable, a very nice TV, coffee maker with amenities, and there was an interesting view. The decor was very pleasant. The bathroom was small but clean. I've spent much more in New York City for fancier hotels in a better location but that rooms that were not this nice. That staff really was very attentive. I really liked it. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foregetit
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 30, 2011

location was good for my busines

my only problem with hotel was the bar and resturant, I thought they where below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top