$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
105 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissappointed by the Doubletree.
Business
Reston, VA
Oct 27, 2010

Noisy, narrow and unsafe neighborhood

Noisy- every time a door closed in the hallway, usually with a slam, the bed and the walls shook. Narrow- undersized rooms. TWO small, elevators for a hotel over 20 stories are inadequate. The wait is interminable and then crowed. Unsafe- Street on which hotel located, dark, garbage strewn, lurking characters, difficult walk from nearest bus and subways. Never again. This hotel should not be rated above two stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKLAHOMA CITY
Nov 27, 2010

THREE IN A BED IS ONE TO MANY

RESERVED A 2 BED ROOM ON A HIGH FLOOR VIEWING EMPIRE STATE BUILDING. AT CHECK IN THE RESERVATION WAS FOR ONE SINGLE QUEEN BED. WE HAD BOOKED FOR THREE PEOPLE 2 ADULTS AND 1 TEENAGE CHILD. HOTEL SAID NO ROOM WAS AVAILABLE EXCEPT THE ONE BED. THE NEXT DAY WE WERE MOVED TO A 2 BED ROOM AS PER OUR RESERVATION. ON THE LAST NIGHT WE RETURNED TO OUR ROOM AFTER A FULL DAY OF SIGHT SEEING, EXHAUSTED AND WERE LOCKED OUT OF THE ROOM. WE DID GAIN ENTRY, BUT NONE OF THESE EVENTS SHOULD HAVE OCCURED. WE WERE TOLD WE SHOULD NOT USE A THIRD PARTY TO BOOK, BUT BOOK DIRECTLY THRU HILTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 7, 2010

Used and Abused--The Story of Doubletree

When I pulled back the sheets there was a crunchy j_zz rag in there. Just a dirty room in general. Yucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin Donuts is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morristown, NJ
Sep 7, 2009

Poor location and service

We could not check in before check-in time. Staff was not very helpful storing luggage and lobby restrooms were broken, so had to use bathroom in a guest room on second floor. Housekeeping was noisy in hallway outside our room, as was THE ICE MACHINE. Elevator wait was VERY long. Room itself was small but nice. Nice linens and amenities but mattress was too soft for good night's sleep. This is not a good location unless you want to go to MSG or be near Penn Station. No easy subway access, no nearby deli, etc. Neighborhood is still sketchy. No NYC event/tourist info in room. Of any kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Red Cat, 23rd and 10th. Make reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malbec
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Meh...

I requested a non-smoking room, yet when I got my room, it smelled of cigarrettes. Location is also in the dirty area of Chelsea, but at least it's fairly quiet. Lastly, if you're claustrophobic, avoid this place. This hotel has narrower hallways than your average apartment and it only has two elevators. During times of high traffic, like in the morning, you are likely to wait more than 5-10 minutes for the elevator to reach your floor. Good luck if you're way at the top of the hotel, you may have to use the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Memis
Business
Bridgeport
Oct 30, 2013

Business Trip

Everything is good at Hilton Hotels however their towels are third class and not good quality. I travel so often and stay different hotels, I do not like to carry my towels while I am going to stay at Hilton. Please, pay attention to comfort of your guests. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
my nose knows
Business
Miami
Dec 14, 2010

the smel

The staff was very good, friendly and nice. They did not follow though with a one request and that i made. My bathroon did not smell very nice, i could not place the smell but not a good one. They said they would send someone up to check it but I waited but no one ever came...They should have also ([...]) told me that the room was made for someone hadicaped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nena & Jay
Business
Bronx, NY
Mar 18, 2010

Not a good idea

My husband and i visited the hotel for one night while we went out partying in New York City. Upon our arrival we were told that the smoking room we requested was not available even though I had called to confirma after making my reservation. Not only didn't we get the accomidations we requested the staff seemed to care less and were unattentive. The room was beyond small. I had read other review but was still shocked at how small it was. There is no way you can spend more than one night at this place. Not worth the price at ALL! The best part of our stay was checking out early and getting a cookie when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Been to NY often Enough to Know
Business
Columbus,OH
Nov 10, 2009

It is Ok

Room was clean. Staff was friendly. But the elevators are sooo slow that it effected the overall stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Little Italy is fun for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sylvan
Business
Indiana
May 24, 2010

New York Visit

First night there: "intermittant" fire alarm forced evacuation via stairs from 26th floor. Upon NYFD approval and 1 hr wait, we were "allowed" back into building....very incompetant late night manager gave no apologies or explanations for problem although it was obvious by "burnt wiring" smell in hallway of 26th floor there was a problem. "Manager" refused to believe the fact that the only remaining elevtor was stuck on 26th floor and only after relentless arguing by customers did he go and release. The day shift "concierge" at least was very good and helped out the most...too bad he wasn't there at night...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating much as the cost is unbelievable!....Take peanut butter and crackers (ha!)...$8 beer...too much for this Midwesterner from Indiana! Hotel rooms so small you can't even turn around in them for "only" $400/night...wake up America!.....I thought the "bailout " was over!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top