$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
104 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Hotel Map

40.7472 -73.9913
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.80, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.80, MI, NW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.80, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Mar 13, 2011

Hotel

Great Hotel, Great service, Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jag The Lad
London, UK
Jan 3, 2012

Fantastic place for short-stay to NYC

I stayed for 3 nights at the Double Tree in December 2011. The hotel was really clean and modern looking. I was welcomed with some cookies at check-in and the staff were really friendly and very happy to give advice on the city. My room was very modern with a big tv and clock-stereo where I could hook my ipod to - nice touch! The room wasn't very big, but this wasn't an issue as I didn't really spend too much time lounging about in there. I would say the only 'annoying' thing about the hotel was the time it took for the elevator. There are only two and they do take quite sometime. I waited almost 15min when checking-out for the elevator (no way I was going to take my heavy luggage down the stairs!). All in all the hotel exceeded my expectations mainly because of how modern and clean everything was and also it's fantastic location - literally in the heart of NYC. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy A
Jamestown, NY
Nov 27, 2010

Great location, right by Times Square.

The bellhops were very friendly and the desk staff was knowledgable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Jan 4, 2010

Great Trip

This hotel is in a great location as long as very clean. The staff was very friendly and willing to help out with any questions or concerns we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parents visiting Son
Saint Petersburg, FL
May 21, 2010

Great place to see the sites

We went to visit our son so basically all we needed was a clean, quiet room. We went site-seeing, shopping and ate at great restaurants. The hotel was centrally located for our needs. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We hope to go back in December so we definately would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was everywhere located to this hotel. Transportation was very close by if you need to travel to Upper or Mid Manhatten for other sites, entertainment or other dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
serenity74
CT
Dec 13, 2011

Great find!

Friendly staff, super clean, very close to Penn Station, extremely good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Crashing
New York, New York
May 14, 2014

Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
albany, ny
May 10, 2010

fantastic weekend

The rooms smell so good and fresh and SPOTLESS. The rooms were smaller than we are use to but other than that this weekend getaway hotel was great. The room price was oh so affordable for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryanpacz
Philadelphia
Jan 30, 2011

Great price, very clean

I typically pick a hotel based on price. If the price was higher, I'd still book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Mar 13, 2010

Great location

Hotel is very nice and clean. Hotel is located near touristic places. The price of the room is great. Did not use the facilities (gym, business room etc.., so cannot comment on them) The room is a bit small, but we were in the hotel just to sleep and shower. Would recommend to others. Will try to book a room there next time I go to New York City. We checked in early ( the room was ready). We were able to keep our bags in the hotel after checkout time. It made it easier to walk around and do last minute shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It is near (a few blocks) every thing such as shopping (all types touristic stores to brand names) entertainment( Broadway Shows),near Empire State Building,Time square, restaurants (low to high end), bars,pubs. Nice walking distance to financial district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search