$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
105 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jun 13, 2010

Relaxed hotel, close to everything

I was exhausted when I arrived but the friendly staff was very helpful and they give your as many warm chocolate chip cookies as you want! They room was veru clean and comfortable, relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very cheap and is only a short walk from macy's and about an 8 minute walk to times square!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 8, 2010

Very good

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sylvan
Business
Indiana
May 24, 2010

New York Visit

First night there: "intermittant" fire alarm forced evacuation via stairs from 26th floor. Upon NYFD approval and 1 hr wait, we were "allowed" back into building....very incompetant late night manager gave no apologies or explanations for problem although it was obvious by "burnt wiring" smell in hallway of 26th floor there was a problem. "Manager" refused to believe the fact that the only remaining elevtor was stuck on 26th floor and only after relentless arguing by customers did he go and release. The day shift "concierge" at least was very good and helped out the most...too bad he wasn't there at night...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating much as the cost is unbelievable!....Take peanut butter and crackers (ha!)...$8 beer...too much for this Midwesterner from Indiana! Hotel rooms so small you can't even turn around in them for "only" $400/night...wake up America!.....I thought the "bailout " was over!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WBSurfer
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 22, 2010

Clean, quiet comfortable room

Convenient to Madison Square Garden. Quiet. Decent lobby bar with outdoor seating. Beds were quite comfortable and a nice shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parents visiting Son
Business
Saint Petersburg, FL
May 21, 2010

Great place to see the sites

We went to visit our son so basically all we needed was a clean, quiet room. We went site-seeing, shopping and ate at great restaurants. The hotel was centrally located for our needs. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We hope to go back in December so we definately would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was everywhere located to this hotel. Transportation was very close by if you need to travel to Upper or Mid Manhatten for other sites, entertainment or other dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Corinth, VT
May 18, 2010

Doubletree West 29th Street NYC

This was a really nice hotel. Relatively new and the quietest I have found in NYC. I was only mildly annoyed by the TV being on the fritz. A real bargain price for clean, comfortable and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany, ny
May 10, 2010

fantastic weekend

The rooms smell so good and fresh and SPOTLESS. The rooms were smaller than we are use to but other than that this weekend getaway hotel was great. The room price was oh so affordable for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Teacher
Business
Mt. Vernon, NY
May 9, 2010

Nice but Noisy

The hotel is very small...the lobby if it has 10 people in it, it's already overcrowded. There are only 2 small elevators for a very tall building so you had to wait a while to get an elevator during peek hours. The restaurant food was mediocre. We were on the 23rd floor and you would think it would be quiet, but some young people were laughing and carrying on in the middle of the night and then somewhere around 2:30am music started blasting from some near-by outdoor space. We had to call down to the desk 2x to get any peace and quiet. The location and price were good because it's just 5 blocks from Herald Square. The building and room are maintained well so there were no complaints on that end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buzz Aldrin
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 19, 2010

Great Hotel!!!

Was able to check in two hours early. Fresh warm cookies given at check in. We stayed at a shared-bathroom style hotel the night before, and this was heaven compared to the first one. Great Chelsea location. Room was immaculate. Complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, extra soap/shampoo, sewing kit, etc upon request. Able to leave bags after checkout so we could walk around after checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kharm11
Business
Allentown, PA
Apr 17, 2010

Affordable & Nicely Located

My best friend and our moms stayed at the Doubletree Chelsea for one night while in town for a show at the Nokia theater in Times Square. The location was perfect, and while we could have walked, we took a (fairly cheap) cab due to the rain. We were each given a delicious chocolate chip cookie upon check-in - a nice touch! The hotel room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that we had requested a room with two double beds, and I was told they didn't have any rooms with two double beds left (defeating the purpose of reserving a room in my book!). However, they compensated us by providing us with a suite containing a living room that had a tv and a pull out double sofa bed and aslo a separate bedroom with a king-sized bed and another tv. While the bedroom was very comfortable, the couch bed was small, and we had to call the front desk to request linens for the bed, as they were not in the room when we arrived. The room was fairly quiet for NYC, because it was on the 17th floor. Breakfast the next morning (not included in the room rate) was reasonably priced and delicious. Overall, I would have appreciated getting the room I reserved, but we had a nice stay regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants in walking distance to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top