$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
View map of 128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 18, 2011

very good hotel

good location near to TS. Mhore than good hotel service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter, FL
Jan 10, 2011

Great price, location, service!

My fiance and I just took a 3 day weekend to NYC the week after New Years for sightseeing. We loved the hotel, the rooms were typically smaller than the average hotel room (it is NY after all!), but they squeezed about everything you need into that room. Everyone was very polite, including the staff we occasionally rode the elevator with. Nearby food, subway, and attractions. Loved the courtyard and the front desk staff - always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From JFK via Subway and AirTrain - $7.25/person. Via taxi - $45 plus tolls/per taxi. Via supershuttle dot com - $13/person. Convenience store east of hotel with good beer selection and deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Number 2
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 30, 2010

Great quiet location in the City!

Overall, the stay was great. Besides some rough weather, we had a great time. The hotel was tucked away in the Chelsea district yet was still away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The front desk was helpful when we needed something. Also, their restaurant lounge was very pleasant and our bartender was very attentive and directed us to some different bars we might want to take in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jack's Steakhouse off of 5th between 28th and 29th. It isn't a cheap meal, but the staff there is super friendly. This is second time I have been there in two trips. I have been to both locations and have had a great time at both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Travelers
Business
New York City
Dec 26, 2010

Christmas in the City

Very nice and kind staff. Only problem put me in a smoking room after I requested non smoking and charge wifi per device other than that the experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
my nose knows
Business
Miami
Dec 14, 2010

the smel

The staff was very good, friendly and nice. They did not follow though with a one request and that i made. My bathroon did not smell very nice, i could not place the smell but not a good one. They said they would send someone up to check it but I waited but no one ever came...They should have also ([...]) told me that the room was made for someone hadicaped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIG
Business
Chicago
Dec 10, 2010

Good for business travel

The room was clean enough, small (but that's expected in NY) and equipped with the basics. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect for my purposes. Best of all, there were no bedbugs! All in all, a good, basic hotel for business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKLAHOMA CITY
Nov 27, 2010

THREE IN A BED IS ONE TO MANY

RESERVED A 2 BED ROOM ON A HIGH FLOOR VIEWING EMPIRE STATE BUILDING. AT CHECK IN THE RESERVATION WAS FOR ONE SINGLE QUEEN BED. WE HAD BOOKED FOR THREE PEOPLE 2 ADULTS AND 1 TEENAGE CHILD. HOTEL SAID NO ROOM WAS AVAILABLE EXCEPT THE ONE BED. THE NEXT DAY WE WERE MOVED TO A 2 BED ROOM AS PER OUR RESERVATION. ON THE LAST NIGHT WE RETURNED TO OUR ROOM AFTER A FULL DAY OF SIGHT SEEING, EXHAUSTED AND WERE LOCKED OUT OF THE ROOM. WE DID GAIN ENTRY, BUT NONE OF THESE EVENTS SHOULD HAVE OCCURED. WE WERE TOLD WE SHOULD NOT USE A THIRD PARTY TO BOOK, BUT BOOK DIRECTLY THRU HILTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy A
Business
Jamestown, NY
Nov 27, 2010

Great location, right by Times Square.

The bellhops were very friendly and the desk staff was knowledgable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading, PA
Nov 23, 2010

NYC Fall 2010

Even though it's in the middle of things, room was very quiet (little street noise). Rooms on the smaller size and felt crammed thou suited our needs for the weekend. Beds very comfy! Easy to walk to everywhere... Nice hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to Madison Square, shopping and transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
western Massachusetts
Nov 22, 2010

great location, good service, no frills!

We're "city walkers" and this location was ideal for shopping, a couple of museums and the theater district. Good restaurants were also on our "hikes". Subway lines were close by to get us to The Fulton Sea port area, Chinatown and "Ground Zero".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don''t wait until you get to NYC to look for restaurants. Choose several before you go within the area and book, if possible, before you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top