$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
164 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7472 -73.9913
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.80, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.80, MI, NW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.80, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Mar 13, 2011

Hotel

Great Hotel, Great service, Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Reunions Rock
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 6, 2011

It was what it was...

Avg size room for a NY spot...only complaint was the bathroom had no heat vent, so the bathroom was about 20 degrees colder than the living space of the room itself, i found myself using my suitcase to prop the door open so that the heat could migrate to the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Reunions Rock
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 6, 2011

It was what it was...

Avg size room for a NY spot...only complaint was the bathroom had no heat vent, so the bathroom was about 20 degrees colder than the living space of the room itself, i found myself using my suitcase to prop the door open so that the heat could migrate to the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 10, 2011

Great hotel for price!

Centrally located in the city. Rooms are small but ITS NEW YORK. It's a great location for a great price. Newly renovated...great staff! Fresh cookies whenever you want them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 10, 2011

Great hotel for price!

Centrally located in the city. Rooms are small but ITS NEW YORK. It's a great location for a great price. Newly renovated...great staff! Fresh cookies whenever you want them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 31, 2011

Great Location

Just a few blocks from the Empire State Building and within walking distance of Times Square and other attractions. Room a little small but everything was clean, and staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 31, 2011

Great Location

Just a few blocks from the Empire State Building and within walking distance of Times Square and other attractions. Room a little small but everything was clean, and staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryanpacz
Philadelphia
Jan 30, 2011

Great price, very clean

I typically pick a hotel based on price. If the price was higher, I'd still book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryanpacz
Philadelphia
Jan 30, 2011

Great price, very clean

I typically pick a hotel based on price. If the price was higher, I'd still book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sil
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2011

Short wkd trip

The hotel was good. The room was very clean. We did had difficulty with our tv because we couldn't hear the audio and our heater would blow cold air but we called for the maintenance to check it and fix it for us. Front desk and maintenance were really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were dining areas near by. A couple short blocks away was Penn Station. The location is good which you can take tbe subway to go to many of the site seeing locations.

Back to menu Return to top