$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
163 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

40.7472 -73.9913
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.80, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.80, MI, NW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.80, MI, NE;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tstatton
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Jun 12, 2013

Great Chelsea Visit

We wanted to visit and explore Chelsea and this was a great location in North Chelsea and only a block from our DC-NYC bus stop. The room was very clean but my wife thought it a bit small. It would have been nice to have a luggage rack. The staff were all very friendly and accommodative and we got a warm cookie when we arrived. There are only 2 elevators and waiting time was a bit long. Overall, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Vamoose bus stop to DC only 2 blocks away.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cyrus357
san francisco
Jun 3, 2013

Bumped into smoking room

Hotel will bump you into smoking room if you do not specifically request non/smoking on booking site

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCS Business Traveler
Business
New Jersey
Mar 20, 2013

In town on business

I can't say enough about the fantastic hotel staff. They always had a smile on their face and we very helpful. The rooms are a bit small and the elevators are slow but other than that it is a terrific value for the experience and the location. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jack's Steak House on 5th ave between 28th and 29th, one of the best steaks I have ever had. Steak for 2 or more is the way to go but everything else being served looked excellent. We have been there every time we go into the city.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMBZ
Princeton, NJ
Feb 26, 2013

Quick NYC Stay

Room service was a process. Took 4+ phone calls due to staff not answering and kicking back to front desk plus 30 minutes to arrive after order. Food was not very good when it did arrive. No spa services available for guests. Room was nice though small. Relatively quiet even on the 5th floor. Staff was nice, just disorganized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn station is very close. Convenient for those coming in from EWR.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beees
canada
May 1, 2012

great area walking distance to everywhere

nice front staff,good coffee,clean rooms, nice beds and sheets,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malbec
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Meh...

I requested a non-smoking room, yet when I got my room, it smelled of cigarrettes. Location is also in the dirty area of Chelsea, but at least it's fairly quiet. Lastly, if you're claustrophobic, avoid this place. This hotel has narrower hallways than your average apartment and it only has two elevators. During times of high traffic, like in the morning, you are likely to wait more than 5-10 minutes for the elevator to reach your floor. Good luck if you're way at the top of the hotel, you may have to use the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
macvitie
uk
Mar 8, 2012

Very central

This hotel is in a fairly quiet location. It is within comfortable walking distance of anywhere in midtown Manhatten. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winebiz
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Very nice cost-conscious choice

I had an unexpected extra night in NYC to pay for on my way home from a trip to the east coast. I just didn't want to pay a huge amount of a hotel room so I decided to take a chance on this place. It's proximity to Penn Station was the deciding factor. The block it is on is very dark at night. There are no business open so it feels a little sketchy. But the lobby is very nice and the very friendly staff offered me a warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. The room was small but had a king-sized bed which was very comfortable, a very nice TV, coffee maker with amenities, and there was an interesting view. The decor was very pleasant. The bathroom was small but clean. I've spent much more in New York City for fancier hotels in a better location but that rooms that were not this nice. That staff really was very attentive. I really liked it. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tuti
bethesda, md
Jan 24, 2012

perfect for our overnite stay!

could not have been better (with the exception of the elevator VERY VERY SLOW!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

very convenient area close to chelsea

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDS22
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Right price, quiet room

Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but, more importantly, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top