$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

4 stars
128 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
104 reviews
Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was... See full review

  • VMo13
  • Jun 2, 2014
Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service. See full review

  • Just Crashing
  • May 14, 2014
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea welcomes you with a peaceful ambiance after a busy day of sightseeing or business. Our location in Chelsea, a secluded residential neighborhood featuring eclectic shops, restaurants and galleries, makes this property a convenient midtown Manhattan hotel.Walk from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to New York City landmarks, such as Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Empire State Building, and the Broadway Theater District, as well as many other midtown Manhattan attractions. The hotel’s close proximity to Fifth Avenue designer boutiques, Central Park trails and landmarks, world-renowned museums, and performing arts venues gives you more time to explore the city. If you’re here on business, the Financial District, Wall Street, and major corporations can be quickly accessed by foot, taxi, or subway.Our 26-story hotel features a sleek, modern design in a warm color palette. Retreat from the vibrant city to rest and relax in a guest room or junior suite. Rely on the business center for the support services you need when away from your office. Savor American cuisine or sip a cocktail at Chelton’s Bar and Grill before going to a Broadway show or a Madison Square Garden event. Maintain your exercise routine in our fully equipped fitness center.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea offers a tranquil retreat in the heart of midtown Manh

Hotel Map

40.7472 -73.9913
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.80, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 17.80, MI, NW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.80, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.8 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tstatton
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Jun 12, 2013

Great Chelsea Visit

We wanted to visit and explore Chelsea and this was a great location in North Chelsea and only a block from our DC-NYC bus stop. The room was very clean but my wife thought it a bit small. It would have been nice to have a luggage rack. The staff were all very friendly and accommodative and we got a warm cookie when we arrived. There are only 2 elevators and waiting time was a bit long. Overall, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Vamoose bus stop to DC only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Speedy
Virginia
Aug 11, 2014

great location in NYC

This was a great location in NYC and for a great price. The staff was friendly, and responded quickly when I had a problem with drainage in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Das Mick
denver, co
Aug 5, 2014

Bargain in Manhattan

All good. Nice table area in front to hang out. 15 minute leisurely walk to Times Square. Friendly staff eager to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Txts is only a 15 minute walk for discount Broadway plays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
visting 20 year old son
Tampa
Jul 21, 2014

average place

TV didn't work and shower was not clean. I tried to get a credit but they said I could not because I booked through your service, so I likely will not use your service again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrick Shay
Washington, DC
Jul 7, 2014

Nice and clean, but small rooms

The room was much smaller than expected, with the king size bed filling up the majority of it. Because of the small rooms and narrow hallways, sound flowed between hallways and rooms fairly easily. Aside from that, very clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel has complimentary wifi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VMo13
Binghamton, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Great Everything

We were looking for something close to Madison Square Garden and this hotel was it! The staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions about parking. We were even able to check in well before the given time! The room was very comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete1234321
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 2, 2014

Overbooked, but compted stay

I arrived late Saturday night and was told no rooms were available. The staff was very apologetic and friendly, found me a room in a hotel of equal quality 1 block away and compted nth stay for the night. While slightly inconvenient, very well handheld by very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ayinkulee
New Brunswick, NJ
May 28, 2014

Family getaway

Very nice location but the room was smaller than expected. Nice staff and hotel overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Partay
Manlius, NY
May 21, 2014

Would stay again

Friendly staff and a location great for walking around or just getting on the subway. Room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Crashing
New York, New York
May 14, 2014

Everything I needed

It was perfect in every way for what I needed. Great value, comfort, amenities, location, service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Chelsea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlWP
Phoenix
Apr 30, 2014

Doubletree

Great location in Chelsea. Close to Penn Station and Uptown and Downtown trains. Staff was very courteous. Room was clean. The only complaint was the hallway noise. You could hear everyone coming and going and the housekeeping staff all morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Three convenient train stops. Easy to get to and from JFK via LIRR to Penn Station. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search