$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
401 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 401
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BK Bahamas
Business
Nassau, Bahamas
Oct 9, 2010

The worst of the worst.

We were both excited to be staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. However, we were let down from the word go. The receptionist kept us waiting 30 minutes in a line while talking to another customer who apparently was in our room. The rooms itself was tiny and HIGHLY overpriced for what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza. Even though we were on the 35th floor, the noise levels were terrible. The rooms were not cleaned to our satisfaction. For the money we paid we would have expected a turndown service...we were not that lucky. Facecloths were stained. Towels were stained. This hotel is highly over-rated. So dissappointing considering their high standards in the Middle East. A total let down!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to STK in the Meat Packing District for the best steak EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BirthdayGirlinNYC
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 19, 2009

Disappointed in Hotel Service, Food [...]

Picked hotel due to reviews and location, expected more of a five store hotel, one of the keys to the suite didn't work, no one accept the room service delivery guy was very helpful or friendly, if you paid the concierge $20 the information improved a little. The beds were like sleeping on concrete. The room was clean but not as it appears on the internet for a suite, a suite is two adjoining rooms one with a pull out sofa. If you go, there is a great Mexican Bistro 3 blocks down past the Gershwin theatre eat there, in fact eat anywhere but the hotel $83 for 2 for the breakfast buffet and you have to plead for a coffee refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philladelphia PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not worth the expence

Great location, the room was not worth the expence. When calling the front desk, it rang for 2-3 minutes before they would pick up. The service staff was not freindly at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricketts
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 16, 2014

Pictures do lie,,

The room advertised on the internet and the one I stayed in were totally different,,, no smoke alarm in my room,, the tub was horrible chipped in many places,, the rugs were dirty and staff was not friendly,,, The restaurant was GGREAT, , food and staff very good,, would not recommend this hotel,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tyler, TX
Sep 9, 2009

Good Location, not quite 5 star.

Consierge was gone several times, hard to get good information/service. Room had a bathroom door that was stuck and daily housekeeping wasn't too good. No mini bar in room and outrageous fees for internet. Had to walk quite a ways to subway, friends who stayed at Marriot had much better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mr. Chow's. Great food, unbelievable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 23, 2009

I was disappointed with the facilities

I was dissapointed with the facilities but loved the service. The rooms were really small and had horrible craftmenship (newly renovated) The tub was dinjy and they had cracks in some of the wall. For a 4 star hotel in NYC I expected better. For the amount one pays to stay there you still had to pay for simple services. Such as Internet, they charge for local calls and if you want to swim in the pool you must purchase a cap for both men and women and must purchase a lock! The rooms did not have a mini fridge or ice buckets. All the staff were amazing and you can't bet the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jan 22, 2011

great once i talked to the manager

The hotel is perfect location for someone looking to stay in times square, this was my wife and i get a way weekend we got put into an a jointing room at first and requested a room change after over an hour of waiting for the phone i finally walked to the lobby where i spoke with some at the first desk who then down graded my room and put me next to an ice machine so i then requested to speak to the manager who was more than accommodating and put us in an appropriate room after this fiasco we had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lincoln

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Hills
May 27, 2008

Very Noisy

While I understand that the hotel is doing renovations to improve the aesthetics, the construction was beyond ridiculous. I woke up to jackhammering from the floor above me. When I called to the lobby, the lady even asked me what in the world is that noise? and oh my god i apologize. Other then the construction noise right above my head, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were right in front of Time's Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 24, 2009

Good value for price

Overall, we had an ok experience here. We were on a conceirge floor and was supposted to have a fruit basket and flowers in room upon arrival. After several phone calls to the front desk we finally got fruit close to end of our visit there and still no flowers. The sleep kit they give you is a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David upset guest
Business
Vergennes Vermont
May 8, 2009

My experience was not so wonderfull

I thought the staff was very helpfull and the rooms were very nice there were a couple of things that would stop me fron staying at the Crown Plaza a second time. They are as follows after paying $300.00 per night to stay i felt ripped off to have to spend a additional $19.95 per day for wi-fi service when you can get compimentary service at a Motel 6 or super 8 for $99.00 per night,as well as having to pay a extra fee to use the pool and health room. I will not be returning untill those policies are changed. I think enough is enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top