$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
395 reviews
Crowne plaza rocks in Times Square!!

One word - fantastic!!! Perfect location for city centre, shops entertainment, subways, restaurants... See full review

  • Di 50th celebration
  • Aug 15, 2014
missyjerry

One of the best hotel we have stayed at. The front desk young ladie was the best. rooom was large... See full review

  • missyjerry
  • Aug 5, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (395)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 395
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2007

Internet problems and room problems

There was feces in the toilet and smudges on the inside of the windows. The internet did not work and there was no way to connect except to use wireless. 4.5 hours on the phones with the tech service provider still could not fix it. The manager allowed me to print an item from the computer behind the front desk. Note that the Business center charged $15.00 per 30 minutes. I parked in the garage and found out that each time I park or leave costs over $30.00 They moved me to another room that we could get internet service to work and the internet died again. We gave up on it and once again the manager let me print out the vouchers for the plans I had made. I took my son to the pool to see how it looks, and the attendent was checking for keys. He rudely told me he could not verify I was a guest without seeing my key. He was very arrogant and rude. All in all it was a grossly unsat stay at what should have been a wonderful place. The best I can say is that the hotel is in Times Square in a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
max czora
Business
grand island new york
Dec 18, 2012

disappointed is not the word

room was not clean. front desk was rude. the line to check in was long. Toilet backed up. parking was another 51.00. I was promised a view of times square, well it was barely a view. the shower was either very very hot. of cold cold cold. The people at the luggage handling were excellent. I was never told I would have to pay for parkint. actually I was told I could not park untill I told them I was a guest. Very very rude. too bad. I could have been nice. NOT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eltu
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Very nice and helpful staff. The concierge service is amazing. That was for the staff. The price tag is high for this very average hotel. My bathtub was very worn out. Not all rooms have a good view despite what they're advertising for. This hotel is ok. Just ok. Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tao's restaurant. Asian fusion food. Great food, beautiful place.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Mar 6, 2010

Noisy, noisy, noisy

I have stayed at other hotels in the area (i.e. W) and have had an excellent stay. Unfortunately, at the Crowne Plaza (in spite of the cost) was not up to par. I stayed for two nights - my room was not cleaned one of the days. A young lady sat right outside my room in the hall and spoke on her mobile for over an hour. I had to call three times before someone came up and told her to go to her room. Really disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several nice restaurants in the area at all prices. Not much to shop - everything is expensive and its all souvenir shops, but Times Square will never lose its charm! It´s great to walk around and enjoy the sights. The gentleman at the concierge was EXTREMELY nice and helpful.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co.
Jan 1, 2010

Look the part

I went there for business, my husband for fun. Our stay at the hotel was fine. Our only hiccup was, if you don't look like you're pulling in 6 digit figures the security and staff will stop you at the door to check for your room key every single day, 2-3 times by the same persons! I was quite disturbed... Other than that we were fine. A little noisy at times but don't expect great Hotel rooms when traveling to NYC-you never will get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivia M
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 11, 2014

Business Travel

Overall, The Crowne Plaza was in a good location with a lot of food, shopping and entertainment options. The hotel staff was very friendly, and held my luggage until I was able to check in...which I always appreciate. My room had large windows with amazing views, and was a bit larger than rooms offered at other hotels in the city. Overall the room itself met my expectation (excluding the bathroom). Now onto the bathroom - the shower curtain had mold on it, and there was mold starting to grow on portions of the ceiling. The paint in the bathtub had started to chip, and was in need of repairs. Due to the bathroom conditions, I don't know if I would stay at this hotel again...but then again, this hotel has about 50 floors, so there is a chance this was not the average room at The Crown Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are staying in Times Square and need a break from the crowds for dinner - head to Hells Kitchen. There are a number of great restaurants about a 5-8 minute walk from this hotel

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidnDallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 3, 2012

Noisy construction work all night

Hotel was fine but building under construction nearby with heavy equipment that I could hear on the 37th floor kept me awake almost all night. They finally stopped working at 7am on Saturday morning. Guests need to be made aware of that before room is assigned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things to do. Great food and people watching.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SStevens
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2009

Crowne Plaza Hotel Times Square

I was there on business and I needed a hotel close to the Javitz Center. This hotel was clean and in the perfect location. I would definitely reccomend this hotel if you are in the city on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FGall
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 5, 2011

The Big Apple

The hotel is located in the heart of New York city on Broadway where all the action is. Staff members were great, rooms were clean & best of all very spacious which is not common for midtown Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save money, try to dine at restaurants off of Broadway & Time Square area. Prices are much higher in this area compared to one or two streets over.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gymboree
Business
Toms River, New Jersery
Sep 16, 2013

Great Pick!!

If you are like me and like to have it all in once location this hotel is great. The hotel is connected to the AMA seminar building, making it very easy to get there in the morning when I am staying in NYC for seminars. Plus the hotel has a great gym. It is very convenient to not have to take the extra travel time to get to these locations and instead have more time to enjoy myself in the city. Also the staff has always been very helpful and friendly and the rooms are very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search