$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
View map of 1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
408 reviews
Girls trip

As first time visitors to New York we could not have picked a better hotel for convenience and... See full review

  • Karen S.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Great vacation

Great hotel, right in the middle of everything. Inside is beautiful. I had a double bed and a king... See full review

  • M.J.
  • Jan 12, 2015
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per 24 hours.
  • Rollaway bed is available at $30 USD/night
  • The hotel charges a daily service fee of $25 USD plus tax (total of $27.22) due at time of booking that includes: 2 drinks (beer or wine) per day, complimentary local & international calls as well as complimentary use of the New York Sports Club on-site.
  • All stays on the nights of Dec. 30 to 31, 2015 will require a 60-day cancellation, otherwise all guests are liable for payment in full as of November 1, 2015. 



This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (408)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 1, 2010

Great Price, Great Location, Great Room

Great Location/Very nice room with good price. Can't find anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Malika
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 28, 2009

The Crown Plaza Review by Greg & Malika

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Crown Plaza September 20th - 24th of 2009. What a beautiful hotel! The bellhop,[...] is GREAT. He met us at the street and helped us with our bags with a smile. The bar on the 2nd floor at The Crown Plaza is great! My girlfriend Malika loved the Times Square cocktail..its $18 but really good. Our room was on the 38th floor and faced Times Square. That was fantastic! What a view! The only downside to the room was that they were a bit small and there was no fridge to keep leftovers from our many trips to local NY restaurants. But the rooms ARE very nice, and the beds feel like clouds! The flat screens are a nice touch. The bathrooms are big and well stocked with soaps and linen spray and lotions. My girlfriend and I got room service twice, and it was great. The server comes and sets up the whole meal for you and is very formal and fancy. We both would suggest the blueberry pancakes! They were HUGE - and packed full of fresh blueberrys! DELISH! The location is incredible at Crown Plaza. Lots of other tourists we talked to had to take a subway or a cab to get to this amazing part of Manhattan...we just had to step outside our hotel. We felt very lucky. It is cheaper to eat at any of the local restaurants around the hotel, but a few times we just ate at The Crown Plaza for the convience..it was good.Ask the consieurge for help with traveling via subway of Long Island train. The hotel staff is also helpful with pretty much anything you ask for..thats their job and they do it with a smile.All and all, The Crown Plaza is a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You MUST hit the 9 story Macy's down the street about 12 blocks or so. My girlfriend Malika LOVED all the clothes! We spent a bunch of cash there - check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nv
Oct 3, 2009

best location on broadway

the hotel staff was great, they came up to us in lobby and asked if we needed any help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bez
Business
Crossville, TN
Oct 3, 2009

Excellent

We were there to enjoy the city and this was probably the best trip that I have taken. I will be going back to NYC and will be staying at the Crowne Plaza again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss Century 21 and Macy's...Macy's offers a 10% off coupon for travelers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennington, NJ
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent hotel choice

This is the perfect hotel in NYC if you are going to a Broadway show. 2 Metro stops from Penn Station. Around the block from theaters. Right on Times Square. Clean, quiet room. Cushy beds. Fluffy towels. I would definitely return to this hotel. We actually walked from Central Park and the Frick Museum (72nd Street) and down to 36th to off-Broadway show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stardust Diner nearby is great food and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Very Traveler friendly

My family and I were in town for the Yankees game and just needed a place to rest our head for the night. But, we found the location to be so close to the heart of Times Square that we found ourselves shopping after the game.Then Sunday morning we were so close to Rockefeller Center that we found ourselves at the Top of the Rock and had a wonderful brunch at the Rockefeller Cafe then continued from there to Macy's at Herald Square.We found the staff very helpful in regards to check in and making sure that we new what subway to take to Yankee Stadium. We found the staff to be very helpful in regards to holding our luggage before and after check in and out so we could enjoy shopping and getting to our destination without carrying luggage. We had a great family weekend. We go to New York City once a year and this was our first time staying at the Crown Plaza and we would definetly stay again and experience the pool and dining on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop the D train to Yankee Stadium a 30 minute subway ride but, well worth the trip. The Yankees make sure that you have a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 20, 2007

Helpful Staff

The Crowne Plaza staff was friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out. Location for Times Square was perfect. Close to bus tours, restaurants, and drug stores. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows! The bathroom had some moisture damage on the lower cabinets that did not cause any discomfort. The bathroom was otherwise adequate with lots of counter space. I did notice a moisture odor when entering the room, but this did not linger or offend. The elevator wait was short. Room service was delicious, very large portions, we were able to share dishes! The pool was a lap pool, not really a family play place, more of a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 9, 2007

Excellent Location

Excellent location. Awesome concierge!!! Friendly staff. Excellent bellmen. Was pleased with the size and quality of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 2, 2008

no problems

Hotel was fine. Good location, clean, enormous bed. Quiet at night despite busy location. Slightly annoyed at having to show room key to an employee at night before being allowed to board elevator, but this is the only complaint I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theater district and a number of good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2007

Centrally located, great hotel

The Crowne Plaza was a great place to stay. The rooms were nice and clean. The location is outstanding - you walk right out to Times Square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a central location. It is a little bit pricey, but the location makes it worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location right in the heart of NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top