Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
View map of 1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
390 reviews
Brilliant location and good sized room

I was expecting a small hotel room in New York, but this wasn't the case with this hotel. I had... See full review

  • Kerry J.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Business trip

Great value highly recommend. The room was very affordable, the room recently upgraded. See full review

  • Dylan D.
  • Jul 10, 2015
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Location
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Highlights
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per 24 hours.
  • Rollaway bed is available at $30 USD/night
  • The hotel charges a daily service fee of $25 USD plus tax (total of $27.22) due at time of booking that includes: 2 drinks (beer or wine) per day, complimentary local & international calls as well as complimentary use of the New York Sports Club on-site.
  • All stays on the nights of Dec. 30 to 31, 2015 will require a 60-day cancellation, otherwise all guests are liable for payment in full as of November 1, 2015. 



Policies
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BK Bahamas
Couples
Nassau, Bahamas
Oct 9, 2010

The worst of the worst.

We were both excited to be staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. However, we were let down from the word go. The receptionist kept us waiting 30 minutes in a line while talking to another customer who apparently was in our room. The rooms itself was tiny and HIGHLY overpriced for what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza. Even though we were on the 35th floor, the noise levels were terrible. The rooms were not cleaned to our satisfaction. For the money we paid we would have expected a turndown service...we were not that lucky. Facecloths were stained. Towels were stained. This hotel is highly over-rated. So dissappointing considering their high standards in the Middle East. A total let down!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to STK in the Meat Packing District for the best steak EVER!!!!

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BirthdayGirlinNYC
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Oct 19, 2009

Disappointed in Hotel Service, Food [...]

Picked hotel due to reviews and location, expected more of a five store hotel, one of the keys to the suite didn't work, no one accept the room service delivery guy was very helpful or friendly, if you paid the concierge $20 the information improved a little. The beds were like sleeping on concrete. The room was clean but not as it appears on the internet for a suite, a suite is two adjoining rooms one with a pull out sofa. If you go, there is a great Mexican Bistro 3 blocks down past the Gershwin theatre eat there, in fact eat anywhere but the hotel $83 for 2 for the breakfast buffet and you have to plead for a coffee refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Champlin
May 26, 2008

Never Again

We had to wait what seemed like forever to check our bags in because we were early. We returned to the hotel around 2:00 p.m. We were going to have a drink in the bar NOT going to happen. Nothing was open. NO amenities. You had to pay extra if you wanted to use the pool or fitness center. Anyways, we were put on the 29th floor. As we step off the elevator we hear this lovely jack hammering going on. We were pretty sure it was right over our room. We waited for 20 min. before I called the front desk. The person working the desk couldn't even hear me over all the noise. @ hours later they did move us to a different floor. The room was nothing to get excited about. When I went to get a coke, you got it ,no machine on the floor. They weren't sure what floor had one. As I checked out four days later and voiced my concerns they promised me the manager would get a hold of me. Never heard a word from them. To sum this up this was the worst place I have ever stayed in for the high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Apr 5, 2008

Horrible

This was a horrible experience. Initially, we were put in a room that was not only very outdated, it had peeling paint, was dirty, & totally unacceptable. I phoned the desk & explained my concerns. They said the only rooms that had been renovated were the smoking rooms. I asked how severe the odor would be- they said theywere newly renovated, so, should not be a problem. We moved to a smoking room- it reeked. I phoned the office & told them we had to have a non-smoking room. The THIRD room was again old, dirty, and unacceptable, but, we had no more choices. There was a note in our room indicating the water might be shut off for 30 to 45 minutes. Not only was the water off- it was off from 10am to past 4pm on one day. When I phoned the desk, they recommended that I go shower at the fitness center (on the 15th floor). I was outraged that the fitness club members had water for showers, but not their hotel guests. Crowne Plaza sells memberships for a fitness club & that was very busy. The floor #15 was worn off in the elevater from all the members. I went to check out the pool- it had only 4 or 5 lanes- all very busy with fitness club members swimming laps. I asked where I could take my granddaughter to swim, thinking Crowne Plaza must have a separate pool for their guests; I was told my 15 year old granddaughter could stay in the corner of lap#1. Consierge was arrogant & rude. I don't have enough space to continue with all the problems we had. I was not only overcharged for this nightmare hotel, I should not have to pay at all. Many other guests were equally unhappy; I spoke to many of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on what type shopping you want, it is available both close or a long distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2007

Internet problems and room problems

There was feces in the toilet and smudges on the inside of the windows. The internet did not work and there was no way to connect except to use wireless. 4.5 hours on the phones with the tech service provider still could not fix it. The manager allowed me to print an item from the computer behind the front desk. Note that the Business center charged $15.00 per 30 minutes. I parked in the garage and found out that each time I park or leave costs over $30.00 They moved me to another room that we could get internet service to work and the internet died again. We gave up on it and once again the manager let me print out the vouchers for the plans I had made. I took my son to the pool to see how it looks, and the attendent was checking for keys. He rudely told me he could not verify I was a guest without seeing my key. He was very arrogant and rude. All in all it was a grossly unsat stay at what should have been a wonderful place. The best I can say is that the hotel is in Times Square in a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Drama Mama
Family
Fairfax, VA
Jan 26, 2014

Broadway bound

Great location for a quick weekend getaway for some broadway shows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JDTA
Family
Newark, DE
Dec 27, 2012

Could have been better

Waited for luggage to be brought to the room but couldn't wait any longer and went and got it ourselves. Tub retro finish work was peeling off around the drain. Black mold on caulking around sink. No cooling in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leida
Family
Pennsauken, NJ
Feb 3, 2010

Not what I expected.

The rooms were not what I expected. What is shown on the web page is not what you see in person. The rooms needed to be cleaned better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philladelphia PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not worth the expence

Great location, the room was not worth the expence. When calling the front desk, it rang for 2-3 minutes before they would pick up. The service staff was not freindly at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Gabriel, CA
Jun 8, 2008

Construction noise in building

The hotel is undergoing a major upgrade of the rooms so there is a lot of construction noise starting early in the morning. We complained but the noise still continued. Hearing pounding and grinding sounds at 7:30 AM was just not very courteous. The location is great and the staff did the best they could to address our complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theaters, Rockefeller center and Times Square.

Back to menu Return to top