$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 BROADWAY,AT 49TH STREET, AT 49TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
383 reviews
The location was excellent

The Crown Plaza Hotel was located in Times Square. It was convenient to great restaurants and... See full review

  • Angela happily retired
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend on Broadway

The location was outstanding for walking to the broadway shows and dinner. See full review

  • LDS1
  • Nov 17, 2013
An ideal stay for theater lovers and shoppers in the Big Apple
Benefitting from an $85 million renovation, the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan has a range of modern amenities and is ideally situated near the shops for anyone wanting to indulge in some shopping. Sleek curves and spacious rooms promote relaxation and entertainment is never far away.  A visit to the world-famous Broadway theaters is a must and first-class shopping on Fifth Avenue is just a stone’s throw from the hotel.  Radio City Music Hall is close by, while Central Park is the ideal spot to wind down with a pleasant stroll.  Add to all of this the hotel’s dining facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay in New York City.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to entertainment venues and Manhattan nightlife
  • Venue for banquets, large dining and cocktail gatherings.  Specialists in wedding planning and can host up to 550 for receptions
  • In-house services at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan include foreign currency exchange, ATM, gift shop, front desk, safety deposit box, room service, valet parking 
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan rooms
Rooms at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan offer impressive views over the Hudson River, Times Square or the rest of Manhattan. Suites, concierge level rooms, king and double bedded rooms are available.  ADA rooms are designed for easy access and comfort for the disabled. 
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park Zoo (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.8 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art  (2mi/3.2 km)
  • El Museo Del Barrio (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • General Grant National Memorial (7 mi/11.2 km)

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (383)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
383 out of 383
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
69lagana69
Omaha, NE
Feb 25, 2013

Time Square Gem

Very good location for Time Square. Taxi distance to any part of the island. Reasonably priced. Great staff, and unbelievable room views of Time Square. You cannot go wrong with a hotel like this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Luis from Miami
Miami, FL
Sep 4, 2012

Great Location!

Hotel has been nicely renovated and is in a great location. I was unhappy at the fact i was able to hear my neighbors conversations thru the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
ShortCakes
British Columbia
Sep 2, 2012

Great location and great value

This was my third trip to NYC and by far the best hotel I have stayed in. I was worried about being so close to Times Square but the hotel was quiet and the location was convieneint for shows and to hop on the subway. The room was comfy and clean with a view! Much appreciated as the last hotel had a view of a brick wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This was my thrid trip and I ahve never done a hope on hop off bus tour as they always looked too touristy but I travelled with my brother and husband who both wanted to do one. We got 2 days of bus tour and a harbour cruise for around 50 dollars and it ended up being all of our favorite thing we did. We saw a lot of new york in a convienient way for a great price.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Linda Runs Fast
New York City
Sep 1, 2012

Perfect Locations

The staff was friendly, the room was beautiful and the location was perfect for our trip to see the Lion King. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Angela super mother
Eden, NY
Aug 30, 2012

Callie's 16th birthday get away!

Had a great time in NYC! Hotel location was great, very clean, staff very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
Eltu
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Very nice and helpful staff. The concierge service is amazing. That was for the staff. The price tag is high for this very average hotel. My bathtub was very worn out. Not all rooms have a good view despite what they're advertising for. This hotel is ok. Just ok. Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tao's restaurant. Asian fusion food. Great food, beautiful place.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
NYC is the best
Penn
Aug 24, 2012

great time

perfect location for theater goers and sight-seers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli with hot and cold bar 1 block away!. Perfect!

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Dr Beth
Charleston, WV
Aug 22, 2012

Very Nice Stay

Perfect location. Staff was very helpful, although the concierge was MIA the entire 4 days we were there. Very comfortable bed, nice sleep which is often hard to find away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
dissapointed shopper
racine,wi
Aug 15, 2012

Great girls getaway!

This was my second time in New York. I wish I would have discovered this hotel the first time!! Very spacious, clean and great location for shopping and shows! Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great for shows!

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Reader Family
Essex UK
Aug 8, 2012

Perfect location

The bed is very comfortable.The room is cleaned everyday with fresh linen and towels. We were on 39th floor. Had the view of Hudson River inbetween other skyscrapers. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. The concierge service was excellent. We are a family of 3 , we had a fabulous time. As we step out of the hotel, we face the neon lights of Times Square. We could do with more cupboard space.But the whole experience was just memorable.Love to go back again. Reader family Essex

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pefect location for seeing the lights of the city. Felt safe with NYPD force all over Time Square. New Yorkers are friendly and helpful.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
Mom and Dad and two boys
Southern California
Aug 6, 2012

Great location, not sure it's worth it

We love that we were able to walk to the theaters, Rockerfeller Center, Central Park, and many museums. It's close to just about everything. The couple times we did use a cab, it was more to get out of the weather. My advice is to hail your own cab-do not wait on the doormen. Drinks in the loungue were well made-but so incredibly expensive, which I didn't realize we had paid $20 a cocktail. We requested 4 towels for the 4 of us each day, but they continued to supply only 2 or 3 the entire 9 days. At one point, they decoded our keys. We needed to go down 33 floors and ask for new keys-halfway through our stay-and they didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. The housekeeping staff was curteous, but there was hair on the bathroom floor, sink, and bath. The concierge was helpful, but with so many guests-there should always be at least two on staff. They kept our luggage prior to and post check-in which was convenient for our flights. I think I would rather pay a little more for better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Gospel Brunch at BB King's with the Harlem Gospel Choir. Every Sunday-about a half a mile away! Decent food, great show.

Back to menu Return to top