$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
401 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super shopper
Ireland
Nov 26, 2012

Fantastic getaway

From the time we arrived to the time we left our stay was just perfect, location, staff friendliness, comfort we could not have asked for anything more I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be going back Well done Crowne Paza !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Becco Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Mar 15, 2010

Crowne Plaza Times Square

Check in was a problem as the rooms weren't ready well past the check in time. It seemed to be a constant issue. However, the rooms were clean, roomy and quiet on the upper floors. The renovation showed well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EZ Deli a half block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Feb 26, 2008

Great location- rooms were just alright

When I booked with this hotel I had certain expectations, so I was a little disappointed when I arrived. The staff was accomadating, but when I walked in the room I felt that the bathroom seemed small,and the appearance of being unclean. The matresses weren't in good condition, as the two of us woke up feeling quite awful. Also, I felt like I was in that commercial with the constuction going on in your hotel, since that's what woke us up--to the sound of drilling and hammering. But,the location couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't say enough about the location, the broadway shows, dining, tour buses were at the end of the block, and your at the center of times square. Perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David upset guest
Business
Vergennes Vermont
May 8, 2009

My experience was not so wonderfull

I thought the staff was very helpfull and the rooms were very nice there were a couple of things that would stop me fron staying at the Crown Plaza a second time. They are as follows after paying $300.00 per night to stay i felt ripped off to have to spend a additional $19.95 per day for wi-fi service when you can get compimentary service at a Motel 6 or super 8 for $99.00 per night,as well as having to pay a extra fee to use the pool and health room. I will not be returning untill those policies are changed. I think enough is enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivia M
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 11, 2014

Business Travel

Overall, The Crowne Plaza was in a good location with a lot of food, shopping and entertainment options. The hotel staff was very friendly, and held my luggage until I was able to check in...which I always appreciate. My room had large windows with amazing views, and was a bit larger than rooms offered at other hotels in the city. Overall the room itself met my expectation (excluding the bathroom). Now onto the bathroom - the shower curtain had mold on it, and there was mold starting to grow on portions of the ceiling. The paint in the bathtub had started to chip, and was in need of repairs. Due to the bathroom conditions, I don't know if I would stay at this hotel again...but then again, this hotel has about 50 floors, so there is a chance this was not the average room at The Crown Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are staying in Times Square and need a break from the crowds for dinner - head to Hells Kitchen. There are a number of great restaurants about a 5-8 minute walk from this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sealbark
Business
SLC, UT
Nov 20, 2014

Great location, Bad plumbing

Our toilet never really flushed from the time of our arrival. We notified”guest services" and maintenance came to our room two different times to try to fix the toilet. We were told on the last attempt that they needed to remove the toilet to fix it and would do it when we were not in the room. That never happened. One morning housekeeping knocked on our door to clean our room before 10 am and we were still in the room and told them “not right now”. We came home late that night and our room had never been cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our lunch at Num Pang on 48th St. Get the skirt steak sandwich and grilled corn!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jan 5, 2008

Where it's at

The Crowne Plaza was in the middle of everything. Step out the front door and you were there and with the dazzling orange sign it made it easy to find. But it needed some updating. The armoire was chipped(or beat up) in many places and I found that really surprising, but it was clean. I was never really in the room other than to sleep, so who cared, but I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel whose furnishings(as in the furniture) needed true attention like theirs did. I would definitely stay there again as the location was paramount and all I needed was a bed (which was comfortable) and a shower and it had both. If you are looking for Times Square, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Famiglia's pizza. Cheap and delicious. also, just taking a turn off the main drag (such as Broadway) can save u lots of $$$$$$$$$ and the food is really good. (for instance, we went to a restaraunt on Broadway where a cup of soup cost twice as much as one just a 1/2 block away on a side street) P Diddy says eat cheesecake at Juniors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tijuana, BC
Jan 2, 2009

VERY NICE AND FRIENDLY

EVERTHING WAS EXCELLENT,VERY CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS,SHOPS ETC. BUT NEED TO DO BETTER WHIT THE ROOM CLEANING BECAUSE WE NEED TO ASK FOR BATH TOWEL AND TOILET PAPER BECAUSE THEY DONT LEAVE ENOUGH FOR 4 ADULTS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CLOSE TO OLIVE GARDEN APPLEBEES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwt daman
Business
Cincinnati , Ohio
May 5, 2009

Great Home away from home !!!!!

It was done first class all the way , nice rooms friendly and helpful staff . I Like it !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
westie
Business
Savannah GA
May 8, 2009

Poor Television Reception

Excellent Room, comfortable , spacious, great bed and linens. Pipes knocked on occasion and poor Television reception were my only two complaints. Visibility in the Time Square busy signage area,, is a bit tough to spot,, visually. Overall a very good place to stay. Very fast elevators which is important in large hotels,, Not always the case in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer Teacher
Business
Dunn, NC
May 10, 2009

Great location for NYC sightseeing

nice trip; lots of sightseeing and took in a show Wicked. It was really good. The hotel was in a great location. This was the first time I made a trip to NYC overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top