$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
401 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 20, 2007

THE CROWNE PLAZA ON TIMES ...

THE CROWNE PLAZA ON TIMES SQUARE IS A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. IT IS WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL THE BROADWAY SHOWS, SHOPPING. WE STAY ON THE 46 FLOOR WHICH IS THE TOP FLOOR. WE WERE ALLOWED TO USE OUR ROOM KEY TO GET INTO THE LOUNGE ON THE 46 FLOOR. THEY OFFERED BREAKFAST,HAPPY HOUR WITH SNACKS,IT WAS VERY NICE WE ENJOYED IT.THE ROOMS ARE VERY LARGE WE HAD A KING SIZE BED THAT WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. THE SECURITY AT THE HOTEL WAS A 10. HAD TO SHOW YOUR ROOM KEY AS SOON AS YOU ENTER THE HOTEL, THEN AGAIN BEFORE YOU GOT ON THE ELEVATORS TO GO TO YOUR ROOM. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME WE USED THIS HOTEL AND IT WONT BE THE LAST. WE WILL BE GOING BACK TO NEW YORK NEXT YEAR AND WE WILL BE STAYING AT THE CROWNE PLAZA AGAIN. WE USALLY STAY AT DIFFERENT PLACES JUST TO SEE WHAT THE OTHER ONES HAVE TO OFFER. BUT THERE IS NO REASON TOO. WE LOVE THIS HOTEL. I HOPE THIS REVIEW HELPS TO MAKE YOUR MIND UP YOU WONT BE SORRY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING IS CLOSE BY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 20, 2007

Helpful Staff

The Crowne Plaza staff was friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out. Location for Times Square was perfect. Close to bus tours, restaurants, and drug stores. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows! The bathroom had some moisture damage on the lower cabinets that did not cause any discomfort. The bathroom was otherwise adequate with lots of counter space. I did notice a moisture odor when entering the room, but this did not linger or offend. The elevator wait was short. Room service was delicious, very large portions, we were able to share dishes! The pool was a lap pool, not really a family play place, more of a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Very Traveler friendly

My family and I were in town for the Yankees game and just needed a place to rest our head for the night. But, we found the location to be so close to the heart of Times Square that we found ourselves shopping after the game.Then Sunday morning we were so close to Rockefeller Center that we found ourselves at the Top of the Rock and had a wonderful brunch at the Rockefeller Cafe then continued from there to Macy's at Herald Square.We found the staff very helpful in regards to check in and making sure that we new what subway to take to Yankee Stadium. We found the staff to be very helpful in regards to holding our luggage before and after check in and out so we could enjoy shopping and getting to our destination without carrying luggage. We had a great family weekend. We go to New York City once a year and this was our first time staying at the Crown Plaza and we would definetly stay again and experience the pool and dining on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop the D train to Yankee Stadium a 30 minute subway ride but, well worth the trip. The Yankees make sure that you have a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 8, 2007

A Light in the Harbor

After a horrific experience with the airlines the Crowne Plaza was a welcome home away from home. The staff was freiendly and fast. We were in our rooms resting and recooperating from the worse flight experience I have ever had. There was a knock on the door and the head housekeeper was checking to see that our room was cleaned. Since we missed our first night -we shared our horror story of our sudden landing and sleepover in Philadelphia. My son and I went for an adventuresome walk through Broadway and a delightful street fair. We returned to our room and soon there was another knock on the door from room service deleivering a complementary fruit and cheese tray with a bottle of sparkling water on ice. The gentleman held out a card that indicated that we had a bad day and that the staff hoped this helped to turn our day around. The next day our room was changed to a higher broadway view versus the river view we previously had (since we are from Florida- quite frankly we see enough waterfront views.) I failed to mention that my 10 year old son choose this hotel and our wonderful experience here has me wondering if I hould let him select all our future hotels?? OR perhaps we should just always select a Crwone Plaza??? Crowne Plaza helped make our near disaster adventure a vacation we will not soon forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close proximity to all of he threatres, the Wax Museum, the Ripley's museum, and the Empire State Building. I would recommend the City Pass and using a tour bus that is a hop on hop of as it is cheaper than a cab, cleaner than the subway, and it has tour guides that provide a vast knowledge of NYC trivia and history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 5, 2007

very family friendly

the location in Times Square was perfect, allowing us to do lots of walking and getting an excellent feeling of Manhattan. The room was well taken care of, and although our stay was short lived(3 nights), we felt confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to theaters, restaurants of all kinds, entertainment, museums, subways and other means of transportation (on Broadway). It is close to both uptown and downtown Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2007

Internet problems and room problems

There was feces in the toilet and smudges on the inside of the windows. The internet did not work and there was no way to connect except to use wireless. 4.5 hours on the phones with the tech service provider still could not fix it. The manager allowed me to print an item from the computer behind the front desk. Note that the Business center charged $15.00 per 30 minutes. I parked in the garage and found out that each time I park or leave costs over $30.00 They moved me to another room that we could get internet service to work and the internet died again. We gave up on it and once again the manager let me print out the vouchers for the plans I had made. I took my son to the pool to see how it looks, and the attendent was checking for keys. He rudely told me he could not verify I was a guest without seeing my key. He was very arrogant and rude. All in all it was a grossly unsat stay at what should have been a wonderful place. The best I can say is that the hotel is in Times Square in a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G's Papaw
Business
Newport News, VA
Jun 14, 2007

Great location

This was a great vacation. The Hotel staff were friendly and somewhat helpful. I often felt rushed, but that may be the New York way... The location was great, we walked to several sites on our list of must see. The security at this Hotel was wonderful. We were wishing we had selected a Hotel with a family friendly swimming pool after we checked the status of the pool at this location. The room was smaller than we thought it would be, but the comfort of the beds made up for the size of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 13, 2007

Great business amenities

We originally were given a room on the 18th floor when we entered it had a wonderful view but the room itself was below average the carpet was in dire need of replacement,we did check for bed bugs and it seemed to be fine. We called the front desk and asked if there was an upgrade to this room? They informed us it would be $100 more per night to upgrade to the top floor. We decided to take the upgrade and it was well worth it! The room on the top floor was a lot nicer, newer decor and even cleaner. It also included breakfast in the lounge (which is also on the top floor) and can only be accessed by quests staying on this floor. My recommendation is if you cant stay on the top floor, look elsewhere. Wireless internet is $14.95 per 24 hours at every hotel in this area. We ended up staying longer and had to switch hotels because it was a full house. This hotel was nice enough to store our bags for us until we could check into the next hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A tour bus stop is located outside of hotel. Broadway shows within walking distance. Applebee's 1 block away. Pharmacy 1/4 block. Great Location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 10, 2007

Great place for out of town visitors

I had booked two rooms for 6 people for a 50th birthday. We couldn't get into the second room until 8:30PM. The manager was courteous in rectifying the problem. It made it a bit inconvenient for us, and a little disappointing because I had brought the girls in to celebrate a birthday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pigalle cafe is a short walk away and lovely for a nice morning breakfast before you start your day. Hershey and M&M are right there for you chocolate lovers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2007

great hotel

the crowne plaza is a great option. the staff let us check in at 1 which was my arrival time it was located right next to every thing we wanted to do and it came with a cofffe pot which most hotels in new york dont. The only prolem is the people in the room next to us were more of partiers than we were and upon getting back to their room cotinued to party and the walls arent that thick but all and all a great stay and a wonderful trip and will be staying there in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had dinner at Tavern on the green which was a short cab ride then rode the horse carriage around central park then went to the Theater which was two blocks and if thats your thing the hotel is located in between about 10-12 of the theaters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top