$191 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
View map of 1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David upset guest
Business
Vergennes Vermont
May 8, 2009

My experience was not so wonderfull

I thought the staff was very helpfull and the rooms were very nice there were a couple of things that would stop me fron staying at the Crown Plaza a second time. They are as follows after paying $300.00 per night to stay i felt ripped off to have to spend a additional $19.95 per day for wi-fi service when you can get compimentary service at a Motel 6 or super 8 for $99.00 per night,as well as having to pay a extra fee to use the pool and health room. I will not be returning untill those policies are changed. I think enough is enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doing great
Business
Boston Ma
May 24, 2009

Our 30th Anniversary Getaway

The staff and personnel were very professional. However, for a renovation to have taken place for that amount of money there should of been more cable stations to choose from. The stations listed we didn't receive. Even after the desk sent the engineer in to see. He said he didn't do that part of the job but cable does and probably will. That was done after the 3rd complaint to the front desk. The amount of money spent to stay there there I should have received what I paid for. I also kept over hearing the doormen(not the older one with the grey hair and is a big man) complain over who tipped who didn't tip how much and what they had to do. I just thought that a tip was a way of saying thank you for helping me and shouldn't be expected everytime they did their job. I over heard this many times the last one was on Sunday when I was leaving. I wouldn't even allow him to place my bags into the shuttle for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would stay here again. It is centrally located to everywhere you may want to go on foot by subway or have the doorman call you a taxi and give them directions directly to where you are going. The only place I found that I couldn't walk to was battery Park but that was one train ride to the end of the line from one block away. Everything is happening nightlife right outside your door.great restaurants everywhere. Great LOCATION

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jan 22, 2011

great once i talked to the manager

The hotel is perfect location for someone looking to stay in times square, this was my wife and i get a way weekend we got put into an a jointing room at first and requested a room change after over an hour of waiting for the phone i finally walked to the lobby where i spoke with some at the first desk who then down graded my room and put me next to an ice machine so i then requested to speak to the manager who was more than accommodating and put us in an appropriate room after this fiasco we had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lincoln

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens N.Y.
Jan 19, 2011

An OK Hotel Good Location...

Good Location, the view not that grate, good room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Mar 6, 2010

Noisy, noisy, noisy

I have stayed at other hotels in the area (i.e. W) and have had an excellent stay. Unfortunately, at the Crowne Plaza (in spite of the cost) was not up to par. I stayed for two nights - my room was not cleaned one of the days. A young lady sat right outside my room in the hall and spoke on her mobile for over an hour. I had to call three times before someone came up and told her to go to her room. Really disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several nice restaurants in the area at all prices. Not much to shop - everything is expensive and its all souvenir shops, but Times Square will never lose its charm! It´s great to walk around and enjoy the sights. The gentleman at the concierge was EXTREMELY nice and helpful.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 29, 2009

Reasonable Hotel at a Reasonable Price

I stayed a week at the Crowne Plaza and made use of a lot of its facilities, with my wife and two kids. We were very pleased at the location (a block up from Times Square) and relative affordability of the establishment. The room and facilities are very much like your standard mid-range hotel fare: the rooms were comfortable although unremarkable, the establishment was clean and surprisingly quiet, and the gym was a full scale operation. The staff were friendly and helpful, although not terribly well-coordinated. They did try to accommodate us and make us comfortable. The rooms, for example, were quite small (two double beds for four people--hard with two teenagers!), but they brought us extra linen and blankets to make up a kind of bed on the floor. The affordability of the place has to be balanced by the fact that there were no frills included. The excellent gym was ten dollars per person per day (my wife had a Priority Card, so it was free), internet was twenty dollars per computer per day, and the restaurant/lounge was exorbitantly expensive, even for breakfast. That said, overall it was a great location and I would certainly return, especially if it was only my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stage Deli and the Carnegie Deli, are two of New York's better known Jewish delis, both within a block of one another (on 7th and 54th Street and 7th and 55th Street respectively). The Carnegie is more heavily patronized, but go to the Stage. The portions may be a bit smaller, but the quality of the food is a lot better.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 14, 2009

Nice location

Nice location. Very close to subway, broadway theaters. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Hills
May 27, 2008

Very Noisy

While I understand that the hotel is doing renovations to improve the aesthetics, the construction was beyond ridiculous. I woke up to jackhammering from the floor above me. When I called to the lobby, the lady even asked me what in the world is that noise? and oh my god i apologize. Other then the construction noise right above my head, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were right in front of Time's Square.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHICAGO IL
Jan 27, 2010

A FEW DISAPPOINTMENTS

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lutz
Jul 8, 2008

Very comfortable and quiet

The crown plaza was centrally located in time squares. The room was comfortable but the furniture was old along the bathroom.The room had adequate space for hanging clothes. The biggest draw back was the small safe in the room, unable to secure a laptop unlike other hotel I've stay in. They are presently renovating all the room from the bottom up, believe they were on the 9th floor and we were on the 17th. Overall the best thing going for the hotel is it's location--it was really on times square. Would stay again--only in the renovated room which might cost more by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk one city block and buy Broadway show ticket for 50% off, from 3:00 to 7:00 the day of.

Back to menu Return to top