$191 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
View map of 1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
411 out of 411
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Times Square First Timer
North Carolina Is Home
Apr 18, 2013

I had a great time

Great choice for a first-timer in NYC. I think I won't stay in Times Square for my next visit so I can explore some of the edgier areas of town instead of mainly the central portion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For other first-timers, I recommend Olive Garden, TGIFriday's, or Applebees for at least one meal. The cost is much lower at these options. There is something fun about experiencing the mundane amidst the sublime.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hendersonville
Jun 10, 2008

Very Friendly

The hotel was under renuvation. There was no restraunt or bar as it was all under renovation. This was somewhat disappointment. However, our room was very nice and very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful which was especially nice in Manhatten. The location was great right in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks from Madison Avenue where all of the wonderful stores are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Very friendly employees

The CROWN Plaza hotel had very friendly employees with great customer service.The hotel felt safe for my family and very comfortable.The location was perfect.It made it easy for our commuting and easy to get to where ever we wanted to go.And the hotel itself was always clean.Yes I would like to take my family back. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There was several things nearby,broadway shows comedy clubs,shopping,nightlife,ect.and all within walking distance.And if we needed to travel to the statue of liberty,Empire state building museums then we could use the subways or shuttle it was fun &fast. We had a great visit to New York,city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Gabriel, CA
Jun 8, 2008

Construction noise in building

The hotel is undergoing a major upgrade of the rooms so there is a lot of construction noise starting early in the morning. We complained but the noise still continued. Hearing pounding and grinding sounds at 7:30 AM was just not very courteous. The location is great and the staff did the best they could to address our complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theaters, Rockefeller center and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Hills
May 27, 2008

Very Noisy

While I understand that the hotel is doing renovations to improve the aesthetics, the construction was beyond ridiculous. I woke up to jackhammering from the floor above me. When I called to the lobby, the lady even asked me what in the world is that noise? and oh my god i apologize. Other then the construction noise right above my head, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were right in front of Time's Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock
May 27, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

It was in a very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southaven
May 26, 2008

Location Location

If you are wanting the Times Square experience in NYC, the Crowne Plaza is the place to stay. Just steps away from the middle of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping, short cab rides any where else. However, they were doing some construction at the hotel and it was a hassle having to get in an elevator on the ground floor, go up one flight to the other set of elevators, and then go up to the room floors. Usually had to wait on the elevators. The indoor pool was just a lap pool at the health club that you had to pay to use, not very convenient! Otherwise we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway theatres are just a very short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
May 26, 2008

Location, Location

Came here with wife and son for Memorial weekend. THe hotel staff was fantastic. However, the hotel was under a lot of construction. The lobby was on the second floor near conference rooms. Many other floors were under construction. The rooms were always clean. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champlin
May 26, 2008

Never Again

We had to wait what seemed like forever to check our bags in because we were early. We returned to the hotel around 2:00 p.m. We were going to have a drink in the bar NOT going to happen. Nothing was open. NO amenities. You had to pay extra if you wanted to use the pool or fitness center. Anyways, we were put on the 29th floor. As we step off the elevator we hear this lovely jack hammering going on. We were pretty sure it was right over our room. We waited for 20 min. before I called the front desk. The person working the desk couldn't even hear me over all the noise. @ hours later they did move us to a different floor. The room was nothing to get excited about. When I went to get a coke, you got it ,no machine on the floor. They weren't sure what floor had one. As I checked out four days later and voiced my concerns they promised me the manager would get a hold of me. Never heard a word from them. To sum this up this was the worst place I have ever stayed in for the high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake st. louis
May 24, 2008

great location

the room was very spacious for new york hotels. it was very close to everything we wanted to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel was in walking distance of food and entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bartlesville
May 23, 2008

Great Location

The Crowne Plaza in Manhattan was in a great area, especially if you love all the activity in Times Square and like being near the theatre district. Our only complaint was something that could not be avoided and that was all the noise in the building due to remodeling. We were first placed on the 28th floor and woke to the intense sound of a jack hammer that went all day. We called guest services to find out the situation and requested to be moved, They were very understanding and had us moved to the 40th floor where you could not hear the noise. We were upgraded to one of the newly remodeled rooms and found them very impressive. We felt taken care of and had a good experience after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little Italian restaurant around the corner from our hotel. Perfect for eating at before the theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top