$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 BROADWAY,AT 49TH STREET, AT 49TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
626 reviews
McMedical62

Great experience. We had a 43red floor room with view directly west over the river. Great bed,... See full review

  • McMedical62
  • Jul 6, 2014
Worth the trip for a discounted price!

We found this hotel for 40% off for a Friday night. We completely took the advantage (as we have... See full review

  • Christopher Southpaw
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macon, Ga
Jul 5, 2009

Greatest location ever

We were right in the middle of everything. Inexpensive eating places right around corner. Restaurants inside motel were too high for us. Would stay here again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy any tickets you need ahead of time on line. Cuts down on the waiting in lines

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fountain Soda Aficionado
Chicago, IL
Dec 17, 2009

Our go-to Hotel in the City

My husband and I are from the east coast, and travel back to NYC each year at the holidays. This is the third time we have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, and again we were reminded why. First, the location is stellar whether you are a seasoned to the city, or whether this is your first time. Located right above Times Square, you are in the middle of all of the action, with easy access to Broadway, but not out of the way of any other non-touristy landmarks & attractions. Although we find the city easy to navigate, and do use all forms of transportation, walking is easiest and the Crowne Plaza's central location makes it quick no matter which direction you are going. (We were able to make it to 69th & 3rd in 30 minutes walking in the snow.) Second, the staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful. Each and every person we encountered, from the Front Desk, to the Manager, to the Busboy in the restaurant were all quick to ask how our stay was and seemed genuinely concerned that we were having the best time possible. Finally, the rooms are AMAZING. I am convinced that there isn't a bad view from any room. We had a river view of the Hudson, but were still able to see the city and enjoy the view from our room. The bathrooms are spacious, modern and stocked with a hairdryer, toilietries, even cotton balls & cotton swabs. Just as modern and updated as the bathroom, the room is gorgeous with beautiful bed linens, comfortable pillows, modern lighting and a flat screen tv. Although the excitement of NYC doesn't really make you want to stay in your room, this room surely makes a good case for staying in. This was one of the best trips we had taken to NYC. A lot of that credit goes to the wonderful experience we had from check-in to check-out at the Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Also - check out the restaurant in the hotel - incredible food/great prices/wonderful view. The breakfast buffet is all-you-can-eat, and offers everything from cereal to pancakes to eggs - eating here in the morning saved us time but didn't make us feel as though we were giving up anything in terms of a wonderful dining experience. This restaurant is not a 'hotel restaurant' but definitely someplace I'd go even if I weren't staying there.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago IL
Jul 8, 2009

great hotel/good location

Good size rooms, clean. A little closer to times square for myself but overall good location-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

greenwich village- great food non tourist food and relaxtion after busy times square hussle

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UkePlayer
Business
Burlington, VT
Feb 10, 2012

Terrific Location!

The Crowne Plaza is a fine hotel in a terrific location. If you want to be in the heart of the city, you cannot do better than this. The corner room I had boasted terrific views of the city. I do have a couple of ways to make the stay better: 1) The faucet in the shower is weird, and it takes an unusually long time for the hot water to get there. The shower is fine once it heats up though. 2) The bedding consists of a comforter wrapped in several sheets. That's great because all is clean, but not so good for temperature control. If I had the comforter on I was too hot, with just a sheet I was too cold...tough to sleep. 3) This one is tough to change, but being in Times Square you receive a fair amount of street noise even on the 24th floor. Bring ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit Starbucks for breakfast. It's less than half the cost of the hotel restaurant, and the food is fresh and good.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple in the 40`s
Norway
Oct 29, 2009

Exellent location, Times Square

It was our first time visiting New York, so we had ordered at shuttle bus from the airport and directly to the the hotel. A good thing to do. The Hotel was easy to find, and had a great location thinking about sightseeing. We mostly walked, but also used a hop on and a hop off bus for a couple of days witch we also recommend. A trip to Woodburry common premiun outlets, an hour trip with bus is also worth a trip. Good prices here....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith & Woolensky, a remarkable steakhouse, 49th street 3 ave.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oslo, Norge
Feb 21, 2012

Perfect stay for anyone

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel with a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southaven
May 26, 2008

Location Location

If you are wanting the Times Square experience in NYC, the Crowne Plaza is the place to stay. Just steps away from the middle of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping, short cab rides any where else. However, they were doing some construction at the hotel and it was a hassle having to get in an elevator on the ground floor, go up one flight to the other set of elevators, and then go up to the room floors. Usually had to wait on the elevators. The indoor pool was just a lap pool at the health club that you had to pay to use, not very convenient! Otherwise we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway theatres are just a very short walk away.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No kids please
San Diego, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Great location, safe, clean

Great hotel in the perfect location right in the center of Times Square and Broadway. The discount theatre ticket booth is less than a block away, restaurant row 2 blocks, and beautiful Central Park also within walking distance. The room was clean and definitely has been renovated to a modern style within the last few years. The room was quiet and staff friendly. I highly recommend it if you can get a good deal as the non-discounted price is a high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jun 23, 2008

Deserves a second visit

The hotel lobby was undergoing construction during my visit, so some of the hotel's amenities were unavailable. I would be willing to visit it again after the work is completed to see what the hotel is truly like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not count on buying theater tickets at the TKTS booth in Times Square unless you live in New York City and have a lot of time on your hands. The line is long, the hours of operation are short, and there is no guarantee you will get tickets to anything you want to see. If you are on limited time, plan ahead and buy your show tickets in advance.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperChellz
Houston, TX
Jan 14, 2013

Birthday Weekend

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The room was a nice size and very clean. No antiquated linens. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top