$171 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
398 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
blackbox photo
Dayton
Oct 31, 2012

Back to the "Crown"

A number of years ago, we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Time Square with an Arts organization for a week long conference. I remember the stay as being an enjoyable one with everyone from the front desk to the doormen to the maid service personnel as being friendly, courteous and helpful. I was thrilled, during our most recent visit, to see that things at the "Crowne" have not changed. The "desk" and maid service are still superb (our room was ready for us upon our arrival, even though we were early). When going downtown for dinner one evening, the doorman (noting that we were a party of five, a number not doable in most cabs) quickly got us a limo which ended up being more economical that two cabs. We used that same limo service twice more while we were in the city. Thank you Crowne Plaza for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lutz
Jul 8, 2008

Very comfortable and quiet

The crown plaza was centrally located in time squares. The room was comfortable but the furniture was old along the bathroom.The room had adequate space for hanging clothes. The biggest draw back was the small safe in the room, unable to secure a laptop unlike other hotel I've stay in. They are presently renovating all the room from the bottom up, believe they were on the 9th floor and we were on the 17th. Overall the best thing going for the hotel is it's location--it was really on times square. Would stay again--only in the renovated room which might cost more by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk one city block and buy Broadway show ticket for 50% off, from 3:00 to 7:00 the day of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingwood
Jul 7, 2008

Great Spot.

This hotel is in the PERFECT spot; right in the center of Time's Square. The staff was friendly, beds comfortable, and they had cupcakes. The room was very clean && sanitary. It's a great place to bring children. Although, they are making renovations and it's quite tedious having to go up one floor, getting off, and then having to go into another elevator to get to your room. Overall, this hotel was a great experience and so was the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of things to do in Time's Square. Go to the NBC Experience Store. You won't be disappointed! (:

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aledo
Jul 5, 2008

Great Location

The hotel was under renovation as most generally are. The location was excellent as we travelled with children and they could easily keep up with Times Square events, Central Park and easy access to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to many deli's, great Pizza places, theaters, toy stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Myers
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

The location of the hotel was great, right on Times Square. The room was pleasent and kept clean with fresh towels daily. You need to show your room key card to get access which gives you a good sense of security. Our room over looked the interio so there wasn't much of a view. Room darkening curtains made it easy to sleep. The staff was very nice. Only two small complaints. No refrigerator in the room. The room seamed a little musty at times due to the AC. All in all a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from shopping, dinning to sight seeing is right out the front door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2008

WONDERFUL LOCATION

THE LOCATION WAS WONDERFUL,STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL,ROOM WAS QUITE COMFORTABLE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THE CROWN PLAZA MANHATTEN TO ALL OF MY FRIENDS.OUR TRIP WAS VERY ENJOYABLE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

YOU ARE CLOSE TO EVERYTHING, DINING, SHOPPING (5TH AVE.), THEATRES. I COULD GO ON AND ON.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jun 23, 2008

Deserves a second visit

The hotel lobby was undergoing construction during my visit, so some of the hotel's amenities were unavailable. I would be willing to visit it again after the work is completed to see what the hotel is truly like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not count on buying theater tickets at the TKTS booth in Times Square unless you live in New York City and have a lot of time on your hands. The line is long, the hours of operation are short, and there is no guarantee you will get tickets to anything you want to see. If you are on limited time, plan ahead and buy your show tickets in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 20, 2008

Very professional

This hotel was very neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville
Jun 10, 2008

Very Friendly

The hotel was under renuvation. There was no restraunt or bar as it was all under renovation. This was somewhat disappointment. However, our room was very nice and very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful which was especially nice in Manhatten. The location was great right in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks from Madison Avenue where all of the wonderful stores are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Very friendly employees

The CROWN Plaza hotel had very friendly employees with great customer service.The hotel felt safe for my family and very comfortable.The location was perfect.It made it easy for our commuting and easy to get to where ever we wanted to go.And the hotel itself was always clean.Yes I would like to take my family back. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There was several things nearby,broadway shows comedy clubs,shopping,nightlife,ect.and all within walking distance.And if we needed to travel to the statue of liberty,Empire state building museums then we could use the subways or shuttle it was fun &fast. We had a great visit to New York,city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Gabriel, CA
Jun 8, 2008

Construction noise in building

The hotel is undergoing a major upgrade of the rooms so there is a lot of construction noise starting early in the morning. We complained but the noise still continued. Hearing pounding and grinding sounds at 7:30 AM was just not very courteous. The location is great and the staff did the best they could to address our complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

theaters, Rockefeller center and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top