$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 BROADWAY,AT 49TH STREET, AT 49TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
383 reviews
The location was excellent

The Crown Plaza Hotel was located in Times Square. It was convenient to great restaurants and... See full review

  • Angela happily retired
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend on Broadway

The location was outstanding for walking to the broadway shows and dinner. See full review

  • LDS1
  • Nov 17, 2013
An ideal stay for theater lovers and shoppers in the Big Apple
Benefitting from an $85 million renovation, the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan has a range of modern amenities and is ideally situated near the shops for anyone wanting to indulge in some shopping. Sleek curves and spacious rooms promote relaxation and entertainment is never far away.  A visit to the world-famous Broadway theaters is a must and first-class shopping on Fifth Avenue is just a stone’s throw from the hotel.  Radio City Music Hall is close by, while Central Park is the ideal spot to wind down with a pleasant stroll.  Add to all of this the hotel’s dining facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay in New York City.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to entertainment venues and Manhattan nightlife
  • Venue for banquets, large dining and cocktail gatherings.  Specialists in wedding planning and can host up to 550 for receptions
  • In-house services at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan include foreign currency exchange, ATM, gift shop, front desk, safety deposit box, room service, valet parking 
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan rooms
Rooms at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan offer impressive views over the Hudson River, Times Square or the rest of Manhattan. Suites, concierge level rooms, king and double bedded rooms are available.  ADA rooms are designed for easy access and comfort for the disabled. 
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park Zoo (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.8 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art  (2mi/3.2 km)
  • El Museo Del Barrio (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • General Grant National Memorial (7 mi/11.2 km)

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (383)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
383 out of 383
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
lake st. louis
May 24, 2008

great location

the room was very spacious for new york hotels. it was very close to everything we wanted to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel was in walking distance of food and entertainment

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bartlesville
May 23, 2008

Great Location

The Crowne Plaza in Manhattan was in a great area, especially if you love all the activity in Times Square and like being near the theatre district. Our only complaint was something that could not be avoided and that was all the noise in the building due to remodeling. We were first placed on the 28th floor and woke to the intense sound of a jack hammer that went all day. We called guest services to find out the situation and requested to be moved, They were very understanding and had us moved to the 40th floor where you could not hear the noise. We were upgraded to one of the newly remodeled rooms and found them very impressive. We felt taken care of and had a good experience after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little Italian restaurant around the corner from our hotel. Perfect for eating at before the theatre.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Barrington
May 11, 2008

Not a first choice

Perhaps I did not have a good experience because they are undergoing renovations. I disliked the check in process where I was pressured to join one of their clubs. There was little help curbside with my bags. There are two entrances and I believe that their staff should be at both entrances. There was no staff at their Broadway entrance. And rather than directly confronting guests for I.D.s the hotel should find a more polite but less in your face method to request an I.D. There could be polite signs to indicate the necessity of having an I.D. available and it could be stated at check in. I don't recommend this hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
May 4, 2008

renovation

The first morning we were awakened by saws, hammering and other loud construction noise. We were moved to a room away from noise. The next day we had no water in new room from 10am to 4pm. Bar in lobby closed for construction. A hotel in Times Square should be capable of reconstruction without interrupting guests comfort or the hotel should close for reconstruction. A guest doesn't expec to pay for these major annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Sioux City, IA
Apr 19, 2008

Nice location

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Times Square was very comfortable. The room was nice sized. We checked in after 11pm and received the room. The only problem is that the water was shut of from 9am until 4pm every day of our stay. The last day the water was shut off at 8:30 am. The location of the hotel was perfect for everything we wanted to do. We had may restaurant locations within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway theatres

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2008

Great Location in Times Square

Ideal location close to everything in Times Square. The only issues we had was that the air conditioning wasn't turned on yet (April) and we had to keep the window cracked for cool air and the water was shutoff for maintenance without warning. Other than these inconveniences, the room was quite comfortable for our family of four. The staff was attentive and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's almost everything you'd want or need within walking distance. There are two pizza places right across the street, multiple Starbucks, Hardrock Cafe, Planet Hollywood, and an Applebees. There's also a Duane Reade drugstore (with walk-in clinic) one block away.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 5, 2008

Great Location

The Crowne Plaza - Times Square was centrally located. Very clean facility. The food and service in the restaurant on the hand was a little disapointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The theaters, central park and access to the subway was a short walk

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
Apr 5, 2008

Horrible

This was a horrible experience. Initially, we were put in a room that was not only very outdated, it had peeling paint, was dirty, & totally unacceptable. I phoned the desk & explained my concerns. They said the only rooms that had been renovated were the smoking rooms. I asked how severe the odor would be- they said theywere newly renovated, so, should not be a problem. We moved to a smoking room- it reeked. I phoned the office & told them we had to have a non-smoking room. The THIRD room was again old, dirty, and unacceptable, but, we had no more choices. There was a note in our room indicating the water might be shut off for 30 to 45 minutes. Not only was the water off- it was off from 10am to past 4pm on one day. When I phoned the desk, they recommended that I go shower at the fitness center (on the 15th floor). I was outraged that the fitness club members had water for showers, but not their hotel guests. Crowne Plaza sells memberships for a fitness club & that was very busy. The floor #15 was worn off in the elevater from all the members. I went to check out the pool- it had only 4 or 5 lanes- all very busy with fitness club members swimming laps. I asked where I could take my granddaughter to swim, thinking Crowne Plaza must have a separate pool for their guests; I was told my 15 year old granddaughter could stay in the corner of lap#1. Consierge was arrogant & rude. I don't have enough space to continue with all the problems we had. I was not only overcharged for this nightmare hotel, I should not have to pay at all. Many other guests were equally unhappy; I spoke to many of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on what type shopping you want, it is available both close or a long distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
Sanra
Cleveland, OH
Mar 9, 2008

Great location

Great location for sightseeing in New York City. Only dissapoinment was that I had to pay extra for internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of broadway.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Mar 2, 2008

no problems

Hotel was fine. Good location, clean, enormous bed. Quiet at night despite busy location. Slightly annoyed at having to show room key to an employee at night before being allowed to board elevator, but this is the only complaint I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to theater district and a number of good restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top