$194 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
398 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI, SW; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, E; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoe lover2
dallas, texas
Jan 2, 2013

First time in nyc

1st time in nyc. everything was great. wouldn't want my first time to be any other time, but christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bettendorf
Sep 23, 2008

Good Hotel

The hotel was very good but still under renovation. The rooms were a nice size for Manhattan. The view was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk outside and you are in Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Sep 23, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Times Square Manhattan was awesome. Staff were very professional and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Sep 21, 2008

Excellent Location/View & Bed

I have stayed in many hotels and never have slept in a bed as comfortable as the king bed @ Crown Plaza. It was honestly more comfortable than my own. The view from the 41st floor was awesome and the location in Times Square was perfect...walking distance to many attractions. The room was spacious and had a nice contemporary design. Perfect for a romantic New York getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Very impressed with Macy's New York.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2008

Great location

There was remodeling going on that made the access to the hotel a little bit harder, but otherwise the location was fabulous! It was in a great spot to walk to many different locations. We had a problem checking in though. We were supposed to check in at 3 and we didn't get into our room until almost 5:30 because they didn't have enough rooms clean. I would go back again because the location was really nice and the rooms are newly updated. Overall experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rockafeller center was a block away along with 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Saskatchewan, *
Sep 8, 2008

Girls week away

My girlfriend and I spent a week in NY at the Crown Plaza. Had a wonderful time and would stay here on our next visit. The Crown Plaza was an excellent location. Very close to shopping, subway, theaters and lost of dinning. The hotel had just gone through a reno so everything is new and clean. the restaurant was not open yet so we can't comment on that. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They did have a breakfast buffet for $22, we thought that was too expensive so decided to go elsewhere and ending up paying $25, so be careful. there is a little deli in a supermarket about a block away on 49 that was great for coffee and muffins. We got directions when lost and even had a couple of people walk us to where we needed to go. The Subway system is very good. I was a bit leery of the trains, but they were fine. we bought a pass for $25 good for the week and used the train daily. took the circle island cruise, I would advise to only take the 75 min one. the complete 3 hour circle was too long, and after your see the statue of liberty there's not much to see but buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bloomingdales had to be my favorite. Just a short train ride away and they give visitors a 11% discount, you just had to go to customer service for a card. lots of street venders and the market on 7th Ave on Saturday and 50th Street on Sunday have lots of good bargains. Great shopping everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sammamish
Sep 2, 2008

Excellent location and our room had a great view.

The Crowne Plaza offered us a home in the throbbing heart of Times Square. While the congestion and hoopla may not be for everyone, it was perfect for this trip to NYC. WE lucked out and got a spectacular view of the Hudson River, looking west into the sunset, over the oft derided NJ landscapes. The ninth Ave restaurants and Jerry Seinfeld's H & H Bagels are only blocks away. What more could you want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 28, 2008

Excellent location to times square

Liked both the location and the fact the room was recently redone. The fact the hotel was still under construction was never disclosed to us frankly greatly disappointed us. There was no looby , no dining room. The staff was helpful but it was as if they were all new in that they did a poor job answering questions . Just not highly professional. The only redeeming quality was the room had just been redone and was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, *
Jul 25, 2008

Great Location

The Crowne Plaza in Time Square is the perfect spot for all your destinations while in New York. In the heart of time square minutes from Empire State building,David Letterman Show,Ground Zero and many more destinations it is the perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1. David Letterman Show. 2.Empire State Building 3.Rockefeller Buildind 4.Gronud Zero

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mccalla, AL
Jul 24, 2008

Family Friendly

The hotel is being completed remodeled floor by floor. We stayed on the 27th floor. We were the first to stay in rooms that had just been finished. Very, very nice! The beds were really comfortable which made it nice after walking all over New York during the day. It was nice having the vanity area with the sink separate from the bathroom. No steam when I needed the mirror. The staff was very helpful... answering questions be had about New York or anything we might have needed. We stayed here 10 years ago and if we ever get to come back it will be the Crown Plaza. We have to come back once everything is complete to see all that has been done. Good excuse for another visit! Did not use Hotel amenities or dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything was in walking distance. Subway, buses and taxie's where everywhere if you could not walk to where you wanted to go. Believe me when I say we were in the middle of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bettendorf, *
Jul 13, 2008

Great location

The Crown Plaza Hotel in Times Square was in a great location--convenient to restaurants, theatres and shopping. The hotel is in the process of being renovated, and the renovated rooms, while not huge, are clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and the bathroom was good-sized. We never had to wait long for an elevator, despite the fact that the hotel had 46 floors (we were on 38th floor). Hotel security is very good. In the evening, guests must shown their room cards at two security points before being allowed entry to the guest rooms. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would use again ourselves if travelling back to New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If using the subway (1, 2 or 3 trains) it is best to use 50th Street, which is only 1-1/2 blocks from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top