$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
View map of 1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoe lover2
dallas, texas
Jan 2, 2013

First time in nyc

1st time in nyc. everything was great. wouldn't want my first time to be any other time, but christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doing great
Business
Boston Ma
May 24, 2009

Our 30th Anniversary Getaway

The staff and personnel were very professional. However, for a renovation to have taken place for that amount of money there should of been more cable stations to choose from. The stations listed we didn't receive. Even after the desk sent the engineer in to see. He said he didn't do that part of the job but cable does and probably will. That was done after the 3rd complaint to the front desk. The amount of money spent to stay there there I should have received what I paid for. I also kept over hearing the doormen(not the older one with the grey hair and is a big man) complain over who tipped who didn't tip how much and what they had to do. I just thought that a tip was a way of saying thank you for helping me and shouldn't be expected everytime they did their job. I over heard this many times the last one was on Sunday when I was leaving. I wouldn't even allow him to place my bags into the shuttle for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would stay here again. It is centrally located to everywhere you may want to go on foot by subway or have the doorman call you a taxi and give them directions directly to where you are going. The only place I found that I couldn't walk to was battery Park but that was one train ride to the end of the line from one block away. Everything is happening nightlife right outside your door.great restaurants everywhere. Great LOCATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
May 20, 2009

Nice Hotel - lots of issues.

I stayed at The Crown Plaza Times Square for a conference being held in the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located if you want to be in the center of the action. Once you step out the front door you're into the craziness of Times Square. Somehow the hotel lobby seems to stay rather calm and quiet considering what is outside the door. The front desk staff was very friendly at check-in and anytime I had a questions (or, unfortunately, a complaint). The rooms are spotless, which is nice. The beds are comfortable. Now to the problems. I attempted to shower 4 times, and had hot water twice. One of the times I had hot water, it went ice cold after 2 minutes (with shampoo in my hair this was very unfortunate). I talked to other guests and they had no problem with the hot water. The internet (which is something like $20/day) would not work in my room. I was traveling on business so this was inconvenient. It would say it was connected and had a good signal, but still, I could not access the internet. I got back to the hotel (and up to the 26th floor) late one night only to discover that my room key was not working. I went to the front desk and they gave me a new key, but it was certainly inconvenient. Also - I was sitting in the lobby one afternoon on my laptop (I was able to get an internet connection from my conference tent) and a Crown Plaza employee approached me and said that I could not sit the way I was sitting. He said if the General Manager saw me he would make him tell me, so he was just saving time. I was sitting "indian style" with my laptop on my lap. I was wearing dress pants and a blouse. I thought this was very odd. He tried several times to convince me to go to another room and use a table. But, I preferred having my laptop on my actual lap. After planting my feet firmly on the floor, he walked a few feet away and then continued to watch me for the next hour I was there. It was very uncomfortable. I spoke to the front desk, and a manager. I was given an apology. Overall, I wouldn't discourage people from booking this hotel. But - don't expect 4-star treatment. Also - minor detail, but the sleep kit referenced on the web site and in the guest services book in your room was not in my room, or any of my associates. I left a note for housekeeping the next day asking if I could please get one, and it was waiting for me when I returned. It is actually nice to have (earplugs and eye mask especially).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. RAC
Business
Hartville, OH
May 18, 2009

Times Square Getaway

Great location--easily within walking distance for most shows--saw three shows in two days! Minor problem with tub/shower drain was quickly fixed by hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is accessible within a few blocks to easily get around NYC and is much cheaper than taxis!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 12, 2009

Weekend in NYC.

Great Hotel. Located across from M&M store surrounded by lots of restaurants, street vendors, show venues - just everything. Perfect location for visiting NYC. Restaurant very classy, warm and inviting place to relax and enjoy a meal. Staff very helpful with any questions, directions, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer Teacher
Business
Dunn, NC
May 10, 2009

Great location for NYC sightseeing

nice trip; lots of sightseeing and took in a show Wicked. It was really good. The hotel was in a great location. This was the first time I made a trip to NYC overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma.
May 10, 2009

great hotel great location

exceded my expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
westie
Business
Savannah GA
May 8, 2009

Poor Television Reception

Excellent Room, comfortable , spacious, great bed and linens. Pipes knocked on occasion and poor Television reception were my only two complaints. Visibility in the Time Square busy signage area,, is a bit tough to spot,, visually. Overall a very good place to stay. Very fast elevators which is important in large hotels,, Not always the case in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 8, 2009

Crowne Plaza

Good Location right in the heart of Times Square. Good Size Rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gallagher's Steak House on 52nd St. is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David upset guest
Business
Vergennes Vermont
May 8, 2009

My experience was not so wonderfull

I thought the staff was very helpfull and the rooms were very nice there were a couple of things that would stop me fron staying at the Crown Plaza a second time. They are as follows after paying $300.00 per night to stay i felt ripped off to have to spend a additional $19.95 per day for wi-fi service when you can get compimentary service at a Motel 6 or super 8 for $99.00 per night,as well as having to pay a extra fee to use the pool and health room. I will not be returning untill those policies are changed. I think enough is enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swampscott.MA
May 8, 2009

Great location!1 We never took a cab, ev

Clean rooms. Comfortable beds but could use a bit more floor space. We had a room with two full beds. Two adults and two teenagers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Winter Garden Theatre is diagnally across the street. We saw Mamamia... WOW!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top