$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
401 reviews
Great Times Square location

The location is perfectly tucked into the backdrop of Times Square. Many shops, theaters and diners... See full review

  • Chris123456
  • Sep 23, 2014
The best location ever

Great location, great bar in side , room we're clean and view is very nice See full review

  • Haddad
  • Sep 10, 2014
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
May 27, 2009

No critcisms,perfect hotel !!

It was five nights over Memorial Day weekend and we filled every day and night with fun activities. We recommend the 7 day subway unlimited card. Irish Pubs in area are fun.We were Grandpa,Mom, plus 18 and 24 year kids (?),all enjoyed the experience.Coney Island,Times Square,Brooklyn Bridge walk,East Village,Aircraft Carrier museum,Fantasticks musical and lots of eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nuts about New York
Business
Bellingham, WA
May 26, 2009

Great location and amenities

This was our first visit to New York and staying in the heart of Times Square was a plus. The hotel has a wonderful lobby and bar; a great place to hang out after a busy day on the streets; Subway nearby, lots of places to eat and broadway plays within walking distance. We would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 25, 2009

Crown Plaza

The bartenders were terrific for information about the area and made wonderful recommendations regarding dining and shopping. They also all pour a nice glass of single malt, neat. The Five Napkins was great for a reasonable and delicious burger, a 5 minute walk. The piano bar, Don't Tell Your Mama, also very reasonable and a 5 minute walk. Great place to stay and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doing great
Business
Boston Ma
May 24, 2009

Our 30th Anniversary Getaway

The staff and personnel were very professional. However, for a renovation to have taken place for that amount of money there should of been more cable stations to choose from. The stations listed we didn't receive. Even after the desk sent the engineer in to see. He said he didn't do that part of the job but cable does and probably will. That was done after the 3rd complaint to the front desk. The amount of money spent to stay there there I should have received what I paid for. I also kept over hearing the doormen(not the older one with the grey hair and is a big man) complain over who tipped who didn't tip how much and what they had to do. I just thought that a tip was a way of saying thank you for helping me and shouldn't be expected everytime they did their job. I over heard this many times the last one was on Sunday when I was leaving. I wouldn't even allow him to place my bags into the shuttle for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would stay here again. It is centrally located to everywhere you may want to go on foot by subway or have the doorman call you a taxi and give them directions directly to where you are going. The only place I found that I couldn't walk to was battery Park but that was one train ride to the end of the line from one block away. Everything is happening nightlife right outside your door.great restaurants everywhere. Great LOCATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
May 20, 2009

Nice Hotel - lots of issues.

I stayed at The Crown Plaza Times Square for a conference being held in the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located if you want to be in the center of the action. Once you step out the front door you're into the craziness of Times Square. Somehow the hotel lobby seems to stay rather calm and quiet considering what is outside the door. The front desk staff was very friendly at check-in and anytime I had a questions (or, unfortunately, a complaint). The rooms are spotless, which is nice. The beds are comfortable. Now to the problems. I attempted to shower 4 times, and had hot water twice. One of the times I had hot water, it went ice cold after 2 minutes (with shampoo in my hair this was very unfortunate). I talked to other guests and they had no problem with the hot water. The internet (which is something like $20/day) would not work in my room. I was traveling on business so this was inconvenient. It would say it was connected and had a good signal, but still, I could not access the internet. I got back to the hotel (and up to the 26th floor) late one night only to discover that my room key was not working. I went to the front desk and they gave me a new key, but it was certainly inconvenient. Also - I was sitting in the lobby one afternoon on my laptop (I was able to get an internet connection from my conference tent) and a Crown Plaza employee approached me and said that I could not sit the way I was sitting. He said if the General Manager saw me he would make him tell me, so he was just saving time. I was sitting "indian style" with my laptop on my lap. I was wearing dress pants and a blouse. I thought this was very odd. He tried several times to convince me to go to another room and use a table. But, I preferred having my laptop on my actual lap. After planting my feet firmly on the floor, he walked a few feet away and then continued to watch me for the next hour I was there. It was very uncomfortable. I spoke to the front desk, and a manager. I was given an apology. Overall, I wouldn't discourage people from booking this hotel. But - don't expect 4-star treatment. Also - minor detail, but the sleep kit referenced on the web site and in the guest services book in your room was not in my room, or any of my associates. I left a note for housekeeping the next day asking if I could please get one, and it was waiting for me when I returned. It is actually nice to have (earplugs and eye mask especially).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. RAC
Business
Hartville, OH
May 18, 2009

Times Square Getaway

Great location--easily within walking distance for most shows--saw three shows in two days! Minor problem with tub/shower drain was quickly fixed by hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is accessible within a few blocks to easily get around NYC and is much cheaper than taxis!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 12, 2009

Weekend in NYC.

Great Hotel. Located across from M&M store surrounded by lots of restaurants, street vendors, show venues - just everything. Perfect location for visiting NYC. Restaurant very classy, warm and inviting place to relax and enjoy a meal. Staff very helpful with any questions, directions, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer Teacher
Business
Dunn, NC
May 10, 2009

Great location for NYC sightseeing

nice trip; lots of sightseeing and took in a show Wicked. It was really good. The hotel was in a great location. This was the first time I made a trip to NYC overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma.
May 10, 2009

great hotel great location

exceded my expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
westie
Business
Savannah GA
May 8, 2009

Poor Television Reception

Excellent Room, comfortable , spacious, great bed and linens. Pipes knocked on occasion and poor Television reception were my only two complaints. Visibility in the Time Square busy signage area,, is a bit tough to spot,, visually. Overall a very good place to stay. Very fast elevators which is important in large hotels,, Not always the case in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top