$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 Broadway, AT 49TH STREET, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
406 reviews
Great vacation

Great hotel, right in the middle of everything. Inside is beautiful. I had a double bed and a king... See full review

  • M.J.
  • Jan 12, 2015
girls night

Loved the location and had a great corner room with Time Square view. Beds were super comfortable... See full review

  • traveler 72
  • Jan 12, 2015
The Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan is a savvy choice for travelers wishing to be near the action in the city that never sleeps. The lush lobby with hot-pink lighting overlooks the neon spectacle of Times Square and, with 20,000-square-feet of event space, two self-service business centers and helpful concierges, the Crowne Plaza Times Square aims to satisfy visitors of every type. Platters of classic American comfort food are offered in the upscale surroundings of Brasserie 1605, and handcrafted cocktails are the specialty at Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge.
Key facts
  • 795 guestrooms
  • 31 floors
  • Brasserie 1605 Restaurant
  • Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Concierge services
  • Meeting/conference room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pets allowed: Dogs up to 20 pounds only (fees and hotel policies may apply)
Neighborhood
The Crowne Plaza is located right on Broadway, the most famous thoroughfare in New York City. Times Square offers entertainment and dining 24 hours a day, and the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan are all easily accessible on foot. Visitors enjoy major flagship stores, Broadway theaters like the Eugene O'Neill and the Gershwin, entertainment venues like Madison Square Garden and Lincoln Center, and a huge mix of lounges, bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
Hints and tips
Before heading out for the day, enjoy coffee and pastries at the Grab and Go coffee area, or make yourself a cup with the gourmet coffeemaker in every room.
Pamper yourself with the complimentary supply of Templespa bath products before drifting off to a good night's sleep.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per 24 hours.
  • Rollaway bed is available at $30 USD/night
  • The hotel charges a daily service fee of $25 USD plus tax (total of $27.22) due at time of booking that includes: 2 drinks (beer or wine) per day, complimentary local & international calls as well as complimentary use of the New York Sports Club on-site.
  • All stays on the nights of Dec. 30 to 31, 2015 will require a 60-day cancellation, otherwise all guests are liable for payment in full as of November 1, 2015. 



This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (406)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent travellar
Business
mobile, alabama
Dec 21, 2009

crowne plaza times square

am solid 4 star. very accomodating staff, especially the bellmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fountain Soda Aficionado
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 17, 2009

Our go-to Hotel in the City

My husband and I are from the east coast, and travel back to NYC each year at the holidays. This is the third time we have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, and again we were reminded why. First, the location is stellar whether you are a seasoned to the city, or whether this is your first time. Located right above Times Square, you are in the middle of all of the action, with easy access to Broadway, but not out of the way of any other non-touristy landmarks & attractions. Although we find the city easy to navigate, and do use all forms of transportation, walking is easiest and the Crowne Plaza's central location makes it quick no matter which direction you are going. (We were able to make it to 69th & 3rd in 30 minutes walking in the snow.) Second, the staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful. Each and every person we encountered, from the Front Desk, to the Manager, to the Busboy in the restaurant were all quick to ask how our stay was and seemed genuinely concerned that we were having the best time possible. Finally, the rooms are AMAZING. I am convinced that there isn't a bad view from any room. We had a river view of the Hudson, but were still able to see the city and enjoy the view from our room. The bathrooms are spacious, modern and stocked with a hairdryer, toilietries, even cotton balls & cotton swabs. Just as modern and updated as the bathroom, the room is gorgeous with beautiful bed linens, comfortable pillows, modern lighting and a flat screen tv. Although the excitement of NYC doesn't really make you want to stay in your room, this room surely makes a good case for staying in. This was one of the best trips we had taken to NYC. A lot of that credit goes to the wonderful experience we had from check-in to check-out at the Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Also - check out the restaurant in the hotel - incredible food/great prices/wonderful view. The breakfast buffet is all-you-can-eat, and offers everything from cereal to pancakes to eggs - eating here in the morning saved us time but didn't make us feel as though we were giving up anything in terms of a wonderful dining experience. This restaurant is not a 'hotel restaurant' but definitely someplace I'd go even if I weren't staying there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-town girl
Business
Baytown TX
Dec 14, 2009

Girls trip to NYC

Good location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Stanton Social (best food/dinner ever)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 14, 2009

Nice location

Nice location. Very close to subway, broadway theaters. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
homer37
Business
Black River Falls, WI
Dec 14, 2009

Wonderful Manhatten Experience

We arrived before the scheduled check in time so our room wasn't ready yet. We stored our luggage with the porter and they were to deliver them to the room when it was ready. They had a problem finding our bags and it was 2 hours later when we finally got the bags to our room. It was a minor problem in the scheme of things but still is the only thing preventing me from giving them a 5 star rating. I would definately recommend them and will gladly plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located in Times square. All broadway shows are within a 2-3 block distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Pilgrim
Business
Seneca, SC
Dec 7, 2009

"Theater lovers delight"

The location is excellent for theaters. Breakfasts were delicious with great variety. Our room, though small, was nonetheless very comfortable and met our needs. Waiting for elevators proved annoying. I would definitely like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton,Fla
Dec 5, 2009

New York Weekend

Just wonderful! Great location to Time Square and surrounding sites. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere and decor was chic/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most see is the Top of The Rock at Rockfeller Cneter. It was a short walk from our hotel. Provided great views of New York city in outside setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCMurphy
Business
Murfreesboro, Tn
Dec 2, 2009

Location, Location. Location

The hotels location is amazing. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was nice since it was free. The only real issue we had was on our first night the air conditioner was very loud so we could not sleep. We called the front desk at 3 am and they sent some one to fix it. It kept making the noise so they moved us to another room. The hotel is nice and was recently renovated. The shower looks really nice but the water pressure is low and the shower head is very high so not the best for short people or kids. Over all is was a GREAT hotel and we would definitely stay agaiin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little convenience store about a block away to buy drinks, snacks, tooth paste, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 29, 2009

Reasonable Hotel at a Reasonable Price

I stayed a week at the Crowne Plaza and made use of a lot of its facilities, with my wife and two kids. We were very pleased at the location (a block up from Times Square) and relative affordability of the establishment. The room and facilities are very much like your standard mid-range hotel fare: the rooms were comfortable although unremarkable, the establishment was clean and surprisingly quiet, and the gym was a full scale operation. The staff were friendly and helpful, although not terribly well-coordinated. They did try to accommodate us and make us comfortable. The rooms, for example, were quite small (two double beds for four people--hard with two teenagers!), but they brought us extra linen and blankets to make up a kind of bed on the floor. The affordability of the place has to be balanced by the fact that there were no frills included. The excellent gym was ten dollars per person per day (my wife had a Priority Card, so it was free), internet was twenty dollars per computer per day, and the restaurant/lounge was exorbitantly expensive, even for breakfast. That said, overall it was a great location and I would certainly return, especially if it was only my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stage Deli and the Carnegie Deli, are two of New York's better known Jewish delis, both within a block of one another (on 7th and 54th Street and 7th and 55th Street respectively). The Carnegie is more heavily patronized, but go to the Stage. The portions may be a bit smaller, but the quality of the food is a lot better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 23, 2009

I was disappointed with the facilities

I was dissapointed with the facilities but loved the service. The rooms were really small and had horrible craftmenship (newly renovated) The tub was dinjy and they had cracks in some of the wall. For a 4 star hotel in NYC I expected better. For the amount one pays to stay there you still had to pay for simple services. Such as Internet, they charge for local calls and if you want to swim in the pool you must purchase a cap for both men and women and must purchase a lock! The rooms did not have a mini fridge or ice buckets. All the staff were amazing and you can't bet the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top