$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Comfort Inn Central Park West

2 stars
31 West 71st St., New York, NY 10023-4103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
41 reviews
Great value offer

New York is a expensive place so the value of this hotel was good enough based its location is... See full review

  • Alex from Monterrey Mexic
  • Jun 17, 2014
Perfect for the Not-so-picky

A wonderfully charming old building with good sized room but missing a few conveniences today's... See full review

  • Lady Lar
  • Apr 25, 2014
100 Percent Non Smoking property.Located in the heart of Central Park West. Be on the best side of town to all attractions. Our intimate boutique hotel will offer you secure and quaint accommodations to make your trip a memory. Convenient to trendy Restaurants, shopping, and museums.Parking Charge: 37.00/night/tax incl. (NO in/out privileges). Parking charge subject to change at any time. Parking guarge is independantly owned and operated, guest pays garage directly.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn Central Park West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Broadway: 0.5 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.6 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.6 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.6 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.6 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.7 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.8 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.8 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.8 mi
  • Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn Central Park West

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carlo
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 23, 2010

Great Location - Terrible hotel!!!!!!!!!

Rooms tiny, aircon terribly noisy and not effective - only one lift in a 15(?) floor hotel - Huge cockroaches seenin hotel. street outside walking with rats at night (4 seen in about 10 mins!).Reported faulty smoke detector to reception at 9am one morning, still faulty on our return at 8pm!DONT STAY HERE! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BROWN357
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 14, 2012

GARBAGE

The only good thing about this hotel is the location! Otherwise this was one of my worst hotel experiences. The bathroom was beyond tiny, the Wi-Fi was non-existent, room extremely small, the pictures are a complete exaggeration. There were holes in the carpet, the elevator took FOREVER!! I will NEVER stay in any Comfort Inn hotels again, this hotel has completely blown it for me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Berryfields1967
Business
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Oct 8, 2013

Great location, very little else to speak of

The positives are 1) Wonderful location - very close to just about everything 2) Friendly & helpful staff 3) Great shower unit The negatives, well, I hate to be too negative, but the room is tiny - we had a 'queen' room and it was just about 3.5m x 3.5m (ok + the bathroom) - God knows how they photographed it to make it look ok. We saw a normal room and it's minuscule - That said, its a very very expensive area and most other hotels are waaaay more expensive, so you get what you pay for. The bed was clean, but the mattress was very old and indented in the middle resulting in night time collisions. I got bitten by something - I presume it was a mosquito but I can't say for definite. The breakfast area comprised of too few tables resulting in a queue for seating unless you were first in or got up late. The food was basic but edible and apart from the plastic forks & polystyrene cups & plates was 'ok'. Finally as a building surveyor, I suppose I'm attuned to it, but the room was shabby with poor decorative finishes, rust around the loud & old air con unit, old & dated furniture and the maintenance had obviously been done on an ad-hoc basis for many years. Its a 14 story hotel with one very small lift, a couple with suitcase often resulted in mayhem getting to the hotel lobby. So in summary, great if you treat it as somewhere just to rest your head, but breathtakingly small - If you did "swing a cat" it would be dead on the first turn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the 72nd street subway and close to the big attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 22, 2009

Nice people, not a great place!

Friendly staff but room was very smoky, security lock was missing half it's hasp. Front desk said they would fix it in the morning. We were there 3 days and it NEVER got fixed. We did not feel real secure. VERY small rooms. Would NOT stay there again. Exercise room had two machines that did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

NY people are very friendly and helpful. We found great restaurants and shops EVERYWHERE. From concerts at St. John the Divine, to World Trade Center Tour and Museum, to the Cloisters, to Magnolia Bakery and The Hungarian Pastry Shop, Wicked, Billy Elliot and more. DO NOT buy from street hawker - they are knock offs and you do NOT know where the money is going or what it supports.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 17, 2009

It's a bed to sleep in...not much more

It was ok. Nothing to rave about at all though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grumpy Guest
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 8, 2009

Comfort Inn Central Park West

There is no service elevator so the hotel staff use the only elevator throughout the day and have no regard at all for the guests who might need to get somewhere in a hurry. If you stay here, book a room on a low floor and use the stairs. The parking garage is three blocks away and the staff there are extremely unhelpful and unfriendly. Leave at least 30 minutes after arrival to pick up your car as no one there is in any hurry to assist you along your way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 17, 2007

After searching and ...

After searching and reviewing each hotel in the area I wanted, I decided to make my reservations with Comfort Inn because I was familiar with the name and it being a chain I thought I would not be disappointed. I told the desk clerk my sister and I would be a late check in. I called when we arrived at the airport and told them we were delayed again because of the storms in Detroit. When we arrived at the hotel we checked in and went to the room. It was a very small room. My sister did not want to stay alone in what looked like a dumpy hotel. We called her daughter who agreed to stay with her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sliverpoint
Business
NY.
May 11, 2014

A nightmare

Very small room and even a smaller bathroom The rug was stainand dirty This hotel was one step up from a homeless shelter never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Calipchu
Business
North Adams, MA
May 2, 2009

The best of the worst!

It was clean, the location was superb, and they offer free breakfast. I probably will not stay there again since the television did not work, there were all sorts of noises coming from the hall during the night, and the bed was so uncomfortable I considered sleeping in the bathtub. If you just need to crash for one or two nights and you will be sightseeing for most of the day then it is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dont need to no
Business
anywhere
Mar 30, 2011

too small

when we arrived the room wasnt ready,they were painting the door,it was in a good location,the room was cheap enough but it was the size of a closet hard to move around in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

central park is right across the street,which is what we went for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top