$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
Would go back today!

My first trip to New York from a large city in a mid west southern state for business/ pleasure and... See full review

  • Terry B.
  • Dec 23, 2014
great location and staff

I dont normally wtite reviews but I thought this hotel deserved it. Was expecting a very tiny room... See full review

  • matt tanner
  • Oct 17, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemen's club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York City's Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant facade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhuber's emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.
Parking fee $41 per day

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 120
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joel F.
Business
Skokie
Dec 16, 2014

Right Location

Very friendly-helpful staff. Room is small, but who spend much time in their room when enjoying New York. Excellent bath and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sea Frolic
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Nov 7, 2014

great for a rainy day

The hotel provides high quality umbrellas to borrow if the weather is wet, which it was the day we checked out. Not only did they hold our suitcases for a late afternoon departure, they allowed us to keep the umbrella until we picked them up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt tanner
Business
fort myers, fl
Oct 17, 2014

great location and staff

I dont normally wtite reviews but I thought this hotel deserved it. Was expecting a very tiny room but queen size room was perfect for wife and I. Bathroom was very big and modern. Water pressure was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helped with anything i threw at them including printing my boarding passes for return home trip. Location was walking distance to time square and 1 block from subway station which saved me a lot of money in cab fare. On my last day i discovered a mini bar behind a painting in our room. It had a small refrigerator and dvd player. Next time i come to New York I will enjoy the minibar and might keep small leftovers in fridge. I will stay at City Club again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are leisurly checking out city i would not waste money on new york pass. I would pay individually for attractions. Hop on hop off bus tours were great to famalarize us to manhattan and brooklyn. Subway was best way to travel. Download subway app on smartphone helps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann in Indiana
Business
Crown Point, Indiana
Oct 15, 2014

What a find!

We liked everything about the hotel. About my only complaint was that our "view" was a fire escape and another building, so we had to keep the blinds closed. But, we were only the in the room to sleep. My biggest fear in sharing how much I liked the City Club is that it will be too expensive next time, because this will be our go-to place when we come to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Java Jim
Business
Pleasanton, Ca
Sep 30, 2014

Perfect location with great room value

Hotel location was excellent, right in the heart of the action, without the noise! Room was good size as well as the bathroom. Staff were friendly and knowledgable. Decent breakfast diner 2 doors down, and coffee store across the street. Location, cleanliness, and price make this hotel an awesome value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndyMN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 15, 2014

Good deal for the location!

Room felt like a small studio apartment..If you want a room with the view, this is not your hotel...You just cannot beat the location..its literally walking distance from Times Square..like 2 blocks away...overall nice safe area..Parking is a big pain..you have to part at a ramp - they give you some discount on it...overall good value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired after great trip
Business
NC
Sep 14, 2014

Great for a getaway

Close to Grand Central and the theater district, the hotel was perfect for a two-night stay. Our upgraded room, though still on the small side (only one chair) was spotless and stuffed with amenities, from large flat-screen TV to bathrobes and an umbrella. The marble bathroom with bidet had a luxurious shower and lacked only a grab bar for those of us not so steady on our feet. Well worth the price --will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WildWilly of the Wild
Business
Athens, Ohio
Aug 11, 2014

Comfy home base in Midtown

We had a "petite" room, which was a bit cozy for two but we packed relatively light so no big deal. The bed was comfy, linens and towels luxurious, the bathroom surprisingly spacious and well-designed with good complimentary products, and the HVAC very efficient (a bit noisy, though -- perfect for white-noise lovers like us, but maybe not for everybody). We were flanked by high-end cocktail lounges, a good breakfast diner was two doors down, there's a good coffee shop across the street, etc. Service was friendly and accommodating -- we even got fresh-backed choco chip cookies our first night. We will stay there next time we want a Midtown vacation, no question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Flame Diner is a great breakfast/brunch spot for early risers, and a great late-hour diner spot for night owls. Just a few doors up, same side of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young couple sa
Business
san antonio tx
Aug 3, 2014

stylish great location

perfect for broadway fifth ave restaurants mass transit very close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wolf and lamb

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alterego
Business
Colombia
Jul 24, 2014

Good deal

It was a good deal 4 nights for arround 850... For the location, the cookies in the afternoon, the good staff, free upgrade... Etc is a really good option...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top