$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Good deal

It was a good deal 4 nights for arround 850... For the location, the cookies in the afternoon, the... See full review

  • Alterego
  • Jul 24, 2014
The absolute best

The City Club Hotel is small elegant establishment with the most polite, helpful, and efficient... See full review

  • the BGS
  • Jul 7, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 146
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenK
Los Angeles
Jan 11, 2011

Wonderful Weekend Deal

The City Club Hotel was JUST lovely. Right next door to the famous Algonquin, I was greeted by the cheerful friendly staff, and immediately given an upgrade. How nice! The room was beautiful, the amenities top-notch, and the bed so comfortable it was hard to leave it. The location, right off Times Square, is certainly convenient. There was even an umbrella in the closet (which, happily, I didn't need).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matutu
New Orleans, LA
Aug 1, 2011

Sleek & Modern

I'm a currently displaced New Yorker and was in town for a friend's wedding. City Club was like having a great apartment in the city. The staff is uber-friendly and accommodating and I was even given an unsolicited upgrade! (perhaps it helped that i'm 5 months pregnant and arrived looking mighty tired). As an architect, i appreciated the clean modern finishes and textures in the room. The linens are luxe (they're by Frette!) and free wifi much appreciated. It goes without saying that the rooms aren't huge (it's NYC, that's how we roll!) but they're comfortably sized. The view from my window was into the air/light shaft which may be off-putting to some, but again, this is how New Yorkers live, so it didn't bother nor surprise me. My ONLY issue with my stay was that my AT&T service (iPhone4) was unreliable in my room, but that's AT&T's problem/fault, not City Club's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro Moderne is deeelish!

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCW11
Boston, Massachusetts
Sep 18, 2012

Last minute booking

Booked this hotel last minute and was very surprised at the low price. This hotel had everything I could have wanted in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenK
Los Angeles
Jan 11, 2011

Wonderful Weekend Deal

The City Club Hotel was JUST lovely. Right next door to the famous Algonquin, I was greeted by the cheerful friendly staff, and immediately given an upgrade. How nice! The room was beautiful, the amenities top-notch, and the bed so comfortable it was hard to leave it. The location, right off Times Square, is certainly convenient. There was even an umbrella in the closet (which, happily, I didn't need).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chis
Chi-Town
Jul 7, 2014

great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and attentive staff. this is my spot or I will say my new spot when I'm in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matutu
New Orleans, LA
Aug 1, 2011

Sleek & Modern

I'm a currently displaced New Yorker and was in town for a friend's wedding. City Club was like having a great apartment in the city. The staff is uber-friendly and accommodating and I was even given an unsolicited upgrade! (perhaps it helped that i'm 5 months pregnant and arrived looking mighty tired). As an architect, i appreciated the clean modern finishes and textures in the room. The linens are luxe (they're by Frette!) and free wifi much appreciated. It goes without saying that the rooms aren't huge (it's NYC, that's how we roll!) but they're comfortably sized. The view from my window was into the air/light shaft which may be off-putting to some, but again, this is how New Yorkers live, so it didn't bother nor surprise me. My ONLY issue with my stay was that my AT&T service (iPhone4) was unreliable in my room, but that's AT&T's problem/fault, not City Club's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro Moderne is deeelish!

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Dallas, TX
Dec 6, 2013

EXCELLENT BUT ONLY IF...!!!

I had stayed at the City Club Hotel before and was very impressed--great location, excellent service. This time I was given the single room I had actually reserved on line, and it was TINY--literally not even enough room for a chair, let alone a desk. That's the reason for the low mark for room comfort--I expect small single rooms but this would make even European singles look large. For one night in a pinch, maybe--but not for an extended stay. I held out for 2 nights, then upgraded to a still modest but at least comfortable room for the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In-frequent traveler
washington, dc
Apr 7, 2010

Great location, even better price

It was overall a great experience. I was only in town for a night, so I wanted to find a hotel in a great location at a good price. City Club Hotel delivered on both accounts. The room was small but stylish, clean, and comfortable. I ordered in room service for breakfast and was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
May 31, 2011

Perfect location.

This hotel is close to main attractions and subway stations. It's worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camine's at 44th

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coelho5br
Sao Paulo, BRazil
Jul 6, 2010

Good hotel, near everything

Very nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top