$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

City Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
149 reviews
Perfect Size & Location

My daughter and I were in New York to visit my son who lives there. We were there at Thanksgiving... See full review

  • Carlyn V.
  • May 24, 2015
Excellent trip

I was upgraded to a comfortable room and had all the amenities I required. From the New York Times... See full review

  • Anita F.
  • May 3, 2015
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemen's club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York City's Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant facade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhuber's emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.
Parking fee $41 per day

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 149
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara.ca
Mar 31, 2011

so good, i love it ~

close to 5 avenue~ nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KayKay78
Business
Maryland
Aug 11, 2012

Random trip

My experience was amazing! My boyfriend and I decided to go to New York City for no particular reason. First, the staff is great. Not too expensive. We got upgraded to a suite because they ran out of smaller rooms. Omg, the suite is beautiful. They provide you with drinks and snacks. The bathroom is great. It's like a mini apartment. It was hard to find when we got to New York because of the construction work. Other than, it was great. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProHistorian
Business
Annapolis, MD
Dec 17, 2012

Stellar for the price

We have stayed in a variety of places near City Club including a rather famous one right next door. City Club blows them all away for comfort and cleanliness. We did the queen suite and it was nicely sized with a large modern bathroom repleat with a pair of big comfy bathrobes. The carpets were perhaps a bit older, as was the cork flooring in the bath, but again, clean and comfortable (especially the cork!). The staff were all young but I ALWAYS saw two on duty and though experience wise they were not on par with a conceirge, they were cheerful, helpful and friendly. For the price, City Club is a winner in our book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raywms
Business
Lenoir, NC
Mar 25, 2013

We will do it again.

We thought the hotel was in the right place and good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Bee
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 21, 2013

Great rooms and Excellent Customer Service

The City Club Hotel was excellent. The room was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was in a great location near Grand Central Station and a few blocks away from Times Square. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ziet
Business
San Diego , Ca
Oct 18, 2013

Seeing New york

Excellent Location/ excellent staff/ king size room is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Perez
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 13, 2013

Superb Hotel!!!

My wife and I have stayed in 7 or 8 different hotels in NYC through the past 20 years. This was our first time at the City Club and we agreed that it's the best that we have seen so far. The location is perfect, but what makes this hotel stand out is the cleanliness and the excellent service. Everyone at the hotel is ready to help you in any matter with a big smile. I'm particularly grateful to Mr. John Carroll at front desk who helped me out with a small request to make our visit very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan your dining activities ahead of time. You will find the Zaggat book in your hotel room with reviews and price points of every hotel in town. It's a very useful tool.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The City Club hotel was minutes away from many New York attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and 5th Avenue shopping. The room was quaint and was very clean. Hotel staff was very nice and each night warm cookies were left on the bed with a personalized message including the weather for the next couple days! Really enjoyed my stay here and will stay here from now on when I visit the Big Apple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in Times Square, St. Andrew's Bar and grill had a variety of beers and had awesome ribs. If you have time look up "Exclusive Pizza" as this is my pick for best pizza in NY. It is located in Washington Heights. Just take the A Train Uptown to 181st Street.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young jetsetter
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 11, 2010

LOVE this hotel, will stay again!!

We had a great time at City Club, we were offered a free upgrade to the medium room, which we adored. The room and bathroom was amazing, and even came with a be-day! In the evening the maid brought us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies which was a great treat. The location is perfect, close to all the sights like Times Square, Hell's Kitchen, MOMA, etc. They also discount the parking garage fees across the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat in hotel restaurants, they are overpriced. Find local spots and you will be happy, and have some more cash in your pocket. Most places have great lunch specials.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Late 20s Couple
Business
Washington DC
May 31, 2010

will come back!

Loved it here! The room is small but the space is used really well. The bathrooms have the best shampoo/conditioner/lotion/shower gel, 2 bathrobes, a bidet, and hair dryer. The room has a little minibar with Dean & Deluca snacks, liquor and water (for extra cost) and the most comfy bed. Just blocks from Times Square and 30 Rock, this place was wonderful - will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top