$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
What a find!

We liked everything about the hotel. About my only complaint was that our "view" was a fire escape... See full review

  • Ann in Indiana
  • Oct 15, 2014
This is an absolutely first rate small, elegant hotel. It was a delightful way to end my one week s

I was lucky enough to get a last minute reservation at this hotel. Through a series of New York... See full review

  • devotee of architecture
  • Aug 20, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenK
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 11, 2011

Wonderful Weekend Deal

The City Club Hotel was JUST lovely. Right next door to the famous Algonquin, I was greeted by the cheerful friendly staff, and immediately given an upgrade. How nice! The room was beautiful, the amenities top-notch, and the bed so comfortable it was hard to leave it. The location, right off Times Square, is certainly convenient. There was even an umbrella in the closet (which, happily, I didn't need).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2011

Very pleasantly surprised!

This hotel was wonderful! The staff was kind and accomodating; they even gave us a complimentary upgrade. Everything was clean, there was plenty of space, and the terrace was a welcome surprise. It was within walking distance to Central Park, 5th Ave shopping, and Times Square. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matutu
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 1, 2011

Sleek & Modern

I'm a currently displaced New Yorker and was in town for a friend's wedding. City Club was like having a great apartment in the city. The staff is uber-friendly and accommodating and I was even given an unsolicited upgrade! (perhaps it helped that i'm 5 months pregnant and arrived looking mighty tired). As an architect, i appreciated the clean modern finishes and textures in the room. The linens are luxe (they're by Frette!) and free wifi much appreciated. It goes without saying that the rooms aren't huge (it's NYC, that's how we roll!) but they're comfortably sized. The view from my window was into the air/light shaft which may be off-putting to some, but again, this is how New Yorkers live, so it didn't bother nor surprise me. My ONLY issue with my stay was that my AT&T service (iPhone4) was unreliable in my room, but that's AT&T's problem/fault, not City Club's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro Moderne is deeelish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 15, 2009

Great Place to Stay

. Could not have had a better place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff and great room in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gorham, ME
Feb 14, 2011

Great place for a show!

The staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean, and the location was perfect to see a play on Broadway. I would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raffy1117
Business
Long beach, ny
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect Stay with perfect shower

We stayed there for one night and we wished we stayed longer. Very friendly staff. Room was compact but perfect size and clean. The bathroom was sexy with amazing shower and water power. To top everything off, it's above db bistro moderne. We had dinner (must have burger) and breakfast (must have poached eggs)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Db burger

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the BGS
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 7, 2014

The absolute best

The City Club Hotel is small elegant establishment with the most polite, helpful, and efficient staff I have ever encountered at any hotel. It offers all the amenities one could hope to have and in a perfect location for what every a visitor might wish to do. But allow me to reiterate it is the staff, both front and back of the house that makes this the best stay I’ve had in forty plus years of traveling to New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chis
Business
Chi-Town
Jul 7, 2014

great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and attentive staff. this is my spot or I will say my new spot when I'm in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alterego
Business
Colombia
Jul 24, 2014

Good deal

It was a good deal 4 nights for arround 850... For the location, the cookies in the afternoon, the good staff, free upgrade... Etc is a really good option...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
devotee of architecture
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 20, 2014

This is an absolutely first rate small, elegant hotel. It was a delightful way to end my one week s

I was lucky enough to get a last minute reservation at this hotel. Through a series of New York calamities, (including having a dead cell phone) which resulted in not being able to call the hotel to indicate that I would be late. I arrived at one o'clock in the morning and my room was upgraded the a king on the top floor. I slept in until 10 am the next morning and was granted a late check out of 1:00 p.m. The appointments and amenities are quite fine. See their website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the 9/11. Museum and Memorial, the Italian Futurist exhibition at the Guggenheim, the Skyscraper Museum and Battery Park, the Cloisters, the Brooklyn Bridge and definitely, the High Line. Restaurant recommendations include the Rocking Horse, the Eatalry, the Chelsea Market, Little Italy, etc.etc. .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top