$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
118 reviews
great location and staff

I dont normally wtite reviews but I thought this hotel deserved it. Was expecting a very tiny room... See full review

  • matt tanner
  • Oct 17, 2014
What a find!

We liked everything about the hotel. About my only complaint was that our "view" was a fire escape... See full review

  • Ann in Indiana
  • Oct 15, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemen's club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York City's Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant facade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhuber's emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.
Parking fee $41 per day

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 118
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke the Skywalker
Business
Newark,NJ
Nov 2, 2014

Not bad, not very good.

The hotel room is extremely small. It's smallest room I have ever seen. The bed takes the 90% area of the room. However, the room is very clean. And the bathroom is very designed. Even the room is very small, but I feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SupermominNY
Business
D.C.
Aug 18, 2014

Good deal

I was greatly satisfied with the location of this hotel; just a few minutes away from all the famous attractions. The staff was nice and the room was comfortable. The only downside was the fact that the room I stayed in smelled of cigarettes a little and the shower drain system was too old to let the water go down as fast as I'd like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chis
Business
Chi-Town
Jul 7, 2014

great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and attentive staff. this is my spot or I will say my new spot when I'm in New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmandaM
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 9, 2014

Lovely stay

I really enjoyed the service and was impressed and surprised by the free welcome cookies. Room was really nice with lovely work desk and window - I got lucky with a free upgrade though (I was originally supposed to be in a "petite" so it's hard for me to say what I would have thought, had I not been in a better room). I love the size and charm of this hotel though. Feels more New York-y compared to the larger ones. Appreciated that the room was updated and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block over you can get a few options for quick cheap eats that are healthy and it's right near Bryant Park and the gorgeous public library.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Senachie
Business
Florence AZ
Apr 8, 2014

Nice surprise

Excellent small hotel with a great loxation if this is qa first time visit to NY. Will use the Cury Club again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resturant just a short walk from hotel The Flame 24 h0ur service nice portions and hgood servic bakue for yje ares

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 1, 2014

Comfort, clean and cookies!

My experience at this hotel was great. The room was clean and neat. The shower products were great and there were chocolate chip cookies on a plate sitting on the bed with a welcome card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 6, 2013

EXCELLENT BUT ONLY IF...!!!

I had stayed at the City Club Hotel before and was very impressed--great location, excellent service. This time I was given the single room I had actually reserved on line, and it was TINY--literally not even enough room for a chair, let alone a desk. That's the reason for the low mark for room comfort--I expect small single rooms but this would make even European singles look large. For one night in a pinch, maybe--but not for an extended stay. I held out for 2 nights, then upgraded to a still modest but at least comfortable room for the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squirrel chaser
Business
Calgary, AB
May 19, 2013

Solo stay

I have been upgraded to a queen bed when I got to hotel, which was nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was absolutely great, though I do wish they had better lighting. The location is great - it's on a fairly quiet street and is steps away from Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RhodeIsland
Business
San Diego
May 7, 2013

Week end in NY

Very good choice, clean, everything you need in the room except a coffee machine. Very nice bathroom. I'll come again. I'll take my breakfast somewhere else though as $30 for 2 scrambled eggs without toast, a coffee and a juice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 6, 2013

Quality trumps size

This is a tiny hotel, almost invisibly sandwiched between two very large ones just off Fifth Avenue. The scale limits amenities, and I probably wouldn't choose it for an extended stay or with children. However the location is exceptional, and the room was larger and more comfortable than I expected. There is an adjoining restaurant, but also hundreds within a short walk in any direction. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For anyone interested in Japanese food, the Azusa (just across Fifth Avenue on 44th) is outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top