$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
143 reviews
The absolute best

The City Club Hotel is small elegant establishment with the most polite, helpful, and efficient... See full review

  • the BGS
  • Jul 7, 2014
great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and... See full review

  • The Chis
  • Jul 7, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 143
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adlibn
San Bernardino, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Nice, quiet stay close to Times Square

The hotel was nice, but no extra's. No ice machine or any snacks avaiable, but we did get cookies when they cleaned the room. It's a small hotel with an expensive bar next door. The rooms were very quiet and it was a great place to nap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater shows on Broadway are just a couple blocks away.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yose
Israel
Oct 10, 2013

fantastic hotel, location, staff

great and pleasant stay, good location close to times squre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

longroom irish pub

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Preston Parker
Newon, MA
Aug 27, 2013

Great Hotel in NYC

I've stayed at the City Club several times and it never disappoints. Great value for the price in the heart of Manhattan. Hard to do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gamer02138
boston,ma
Aug 18, 2013

Great for a family of three

Great location-fantastic discount parking across the street (35/night for a honda pilot suv). Daybed in room great for child. two blocks from toys r us-4 blocks from rockefeller. next to harvard club, penn club. drugstore around corner. large room-fast elevators. very quiet. pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

drugstore around corner for water/snacks. hotel gives validated parking for garage just across the street. garage is just before the hotel just park first before dropping off or you will have to circle around the block.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne Oman
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2012

friendly helpful staff, central location

My daughter and I had booked a "petite" room, but the courteous people at the front desk instantly upgraded us to one with a queen bed, which was charming with a cozy but modern look, muted colors and soft lighting. Later, they turned down our bed and there were two warm chocolate chip cookies left for us. We were right around the corner from Rockefeller Center and fifth Avenue. Radio city was just a few blocks in the other direction. I also appreciated that they kept my bag for a few hours after we checked out so we could shop and see a show. The staff made everything easy and pleasant- and it was very affordable for Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Clause
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2012

Family meet up.

My husband and I traveled to New York for a quick get away and to meet my nephew who is going to school there. The hotel is perfectly located to shops, Times Square, Bryant Park and other New York highlights. i have been to New York several times, but it had been at least 5 years since the last time I was there. The room was small, but I'm not surprised. The bathroom was nice although I thought the inclusion of a bidet was unnecessary. Every evening there were 2 cookies left by the staff which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's day parade right at the corner.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pagliery
Miami Fl
Sep 7, 2012

Excellent

We will be back love it close to every thing it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Love it!

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole San Diego
San Diego, California
May 29, 2012

Great location

This was my first trip to NYC, so the location of this hotel was perfect. A lot of the must-sees are within walking distance including Times Square and the Empire State Building. The Port Authority Bus Station is also pretty close which has shuttles to and from the airports. The rooms are definitely small, but I know that's typical of NY, so not a big deal as long as you are expecting it. The bed in my room was really hard, which is contrary to what I read in other reviews. Maybe I got a bad room or maybe other people like harder beds? The lighting was also pretty bad, especially in the bathroom, making it not great for doing make-up. Those little things aside, it got the job done and I wasn't in my room much anyway. Also, they bring you delicious cookies at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VILLA
COLOMBIA SOUTH AMERICA
May 21, 2012

GREAT FOR FAMILY

THE LOCALIZATION IS FANTASTIC NEXT ALL.YOU CAN WALK FOR TIMES SQUARE AND THE HEART OF MANHATAN BECAUSE THE HOTEL IS TWO BLOCKS LONG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SHOPPING IS GOOD BECAUSE THE STORES IS CLOSE THE HOTEL.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2011

Ideal centrally located small hotel

My daughter and I visited New York for a day to meet friends and go to the theatre. We needed a hotel that was close to Times Square and the Port Authority Bus terminal and the subway. This hotel was ideal - clean, quiet, small, well located near all of the above as well as shops and cafes and restaurants. The staff was excellent, gave us directions for the subway, and nearby stores. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small diner/restaurant just a few doors away.

Back to menu Return to top