$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
92 reviews
Great location,

We were allowed to check in early and received a free room upgrade. The queen room was larger than... See full review

  • Love Shoes
  • Apr 1, 2014
Superb Hotel!!!

My wife and I have stayed in 7 or 8 different hotels in NYC through the past 20 years. This was our... See full review

  • The Perez
  • Dec 13, 2013
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
young jetsetter
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 11, 2010

LOVE this hotel, will stay again!!

We had a great time at City Club, we were offered a free upgrade to the medium room, which we adored. The room and bathroom was amazing, and even came with a be-day! In the evening the maid brought us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies which was a great treat. The location is perfect, close to all the sights like Times Square, Hell's Kitchen, MOMA, etc. They also discount the parking garage fees across the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat in hotel restaurants, they are overpriced. Find local spots and you will be happy, and have some more cash in your pocket. Most places have great lunch specials.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Rootzoo
Business
Baltimore
Apr 8, 2010

Expected Much More

Informed front desk that temp in room at 7:30 PM was 79 degrees and air wasn't working. They assured me the unit was fine and would be working when I returned later than evening. At 11:00 PM, temp was still 78 and it was clear the unit was broken. By then it was too late to get it fixed that night. Room's are really, really small, not a necessarily a bad thing but I've had better rooms at similar prices in the same part of the city. Expected much more from other review, not sure I understand why this hotel has so many other glowing reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
In-frequent traveler
washington, dc
Apr 7, 2010

Great location, even better price

It was overall a great experience. I was only in town for a night, so I wanted to find a hotel in a great location at a good price. City Club Hotel delivered on both accounts. The room was small but stylish, clean, and comfortable. I ordered in room service for breakfast and was very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Vancouver traveler
Business
Portland or
Mar 19, 2010

Higher end budget hotel

Rooms had a modern feel to them. Just remember that there are dimmers on the lights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Maryland
Mar 8, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great hotel, great staff. We arrived early and were planning on checking in and storing our bags till a room was ready. To our surprise, there was one room available and they gave us a room upgrade so we could check-in right away. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The location was great. Better than most chain hotels I've stayed at! Would gladly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Jessica NYC photographer
Tampa Bay, Florida
Feb 16, 2010

Fantastic Hotel!

This hotel was amazing! The staff was so nice and helpful. Instead of just some mints tossed on the pillows, they bring you fresh baked cookies. The bathroom was beautiful and had lots of room. This was my third time staying in New York and the other hotels do not even compare to the City Club. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Great hotel, great location, and great price for all that you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Tinton Falls, NJ
Feb 1, 2010

Excellent Choice

I was entertaining a friend from out of town who has a small pet. The hotel staff were very accomodating and courteous. We were complimentary upgraded and had a spectacular weekend in luxurious accomodations. The weekend couldn't have been more perfect and my friend's stay in the big apple was one to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Business Traveller on a Budget
Business
Southern New Jersey
Dec 18, 2009

Good but not great

Room was very small (I had #209 on the 2nd floor), it was just big enough for the full size bed and about a foot of walking space around it. TV was put up high in the corner, no closet or any other space for clothes, I had to keep my roller bag on the air conditioner vent/window ledge. The space that should have been for the closet was used up by a fully stocked mini bar and fridge. The bathroom was very nice (and big compared to the room, about 1/2 its size probably) Everything was very clean and comfortable. It was a little noisy - you could hear people in the lobby, the noise from someone throwing out garbage bags around midnight and the air conditioner turning on/off was annoying. Stay would have been great if I had gotten a larger room on a higher floor but still good for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 28, 2009

Just alright

Friendly front desk but that's about it. Nice of them to put cookies on your bed but that does not make up for the fact that if your 6' tall your feet just about dangle off the edge of the bed, there's no place to put your laptop except on the bed or if you need a hard surface your best option was on the toilet! They ask that you have no more than 4 people in your room but unless you plan to sleep with 4 people (which the bed can not even accomodate)there's not enough space for them to stand! Other than the bed, not even enough room for the smallest chair. It was clean, somewhat contemporary and conveiently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 5, 2009

Not worth your time or money

City club didn't clean their rooms well or even regularly. Room service food was cold and disgusting everytime we ordered. They didn't give is late checkout or store our bags. They charge over $300 a night for what feels like your staying at Holiday in Express. CITY CLUB WAS THE MOST TERRIBLE THING IVE WASTED MONEY ON!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top