$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
118 reviews
great location and staff

I dont normally wtite reviews but I thought this hotel deserved it. Was expecting a very tiny room... See full review

  • matt tanner
  • Oct 17, 2014
What a find!

We liked everything about the hotel. About my only complaint was that our "view" was a fire escape... See full review

  • Ann in Indiana
  • Oct 15, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemen's club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York City's Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant facade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhuber's emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.
Parking fee $41 per day

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne Oman
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2012

friendly helpful staff, central location

My daughter and I had booked a "petite" room, but the courteous people at the front desk instantly upgraded us to one with a queen bed, which was charming with a cozy but modern look, muted colors and soft lighting. Later, they turned down our bed and there were two warm chocolate chip cookies left for us. We were right around the corner from Rockefeller Center and fifth Avenue. Radio city was just a few blocks in the other direction. I also appreciated that they kept my bag for a few hours after we checked out so we could shop and see a show. The staff made everything easy and pleasant- and it was very affordable for Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FedeDream
Business
Italy
May 25, 2014

Good Stuff!

Good Location, nice and clean room,shower working well, good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bladerunner11
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 9, 2014

Great location

We enjoyed having a quiet room in a busy area of the city. Our view was a brick wall, but the quiet was worth the trade-off. Loved the chocolate chip cookie night cap! Comfy bed, great robes/supplies; dim lighting in bathroom. The location was great -- walking distance to many destinations. Staff was friendly and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Feb 13, 2011

NYC night

Room was tiny, but it served it's purpose. Great location, clean and easily booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 31, 2011

Perfect location.

This hotel is close to main attractions and subway stations. It's worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camine's at 44th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 19, 2010

City Club NYC

City Club was great - cool atmosphere with framed vinyl records, old playbills, and more. We were upgraded to a King and the bathroom was beautiful. Liked the TV 'hidden' behind a painting. Restaurant was also fabulous. Would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reluctant Sales Rep
Business
Columbia Maryland
May 23, 2010

Good Value, convenient location

Right off of 42nd and Broadway and reasonable convenient parking across the street. Great find, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkley, Michigan
May 26, 2011

Cute room, very small

The hotel room was extremely small, although I expected this from reviews I had read. It was very cute, trendy and clean, however. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. You can't beat the location -- just a block or two from Times Square. For this price range of hotel and the location, we would stay there again. If we have more money to spend on our next trip to NY, we'd probably opt for something larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2011

Ideal centrally located small hotel

My daughter and I visited New York for a day to meet friends and go to the theatre. We needed a hotel that was close to Times Square and the Port Authority Bus terminal and the subway. This hotel was ideal - clean, quiet, small, well located near all of the above as well as shops and cafes and restaurants. The staff was excellent, gave us directions for the subway, and nearby stores. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small diner/restaurant just a few doors away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kg2
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Sep 26, 2010

very nice for the price

I was sick during my stay and had to stay in bed for 24 hours. Good thing it was a comfy room with a great TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pxy
Business
chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2011

good location

it's between the time square and the 5th avenue, so it's very convenient to shopping. also the room is small, but it's neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top