$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
145 reviews
The absolute best

The City Club Hotel is small elegant establishment with the most polite, helpful, and efficient... See full review

  • the BGS
  • Jul 7, 2014
great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and... See full review

  • The Chis
  • Jul 7, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The City Club hotel was minutes away from many New York attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and 5th Avenue shopping. The room was quaint and was very clean. Hotel staff was very nice and each night warm cookies were left on the bed with a personalized message including the weather for the next couple days! Really enjoyed my stay here and will stay here from now on when I visit the Big Apple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in Times Square, St. Andrew's Bar and grill had a variety of beers and had awesome ribs. If you have time look up "Exclusive Pizza" as this is my pick for best pizza in NY. It is located in Washington Heights. Just take the A Train Uptown to 181st Street.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Perez
San Juan, PR
Dec 13, 2013

Superb Hotel!!!

My wife and I have stayed in 7 or 8 different hotels in NYC through the past 20 years. This was our first time at the City Club and we agreed that it's the best that we have seen so far. The location is perfect, but what makes this hotel stand out is the cleanliness and the excellent service. Everyone at the hotel is ready to help you in any matter with a big smile. I'm particularly grateful to Mr. John Carroll at front desk who helped me out with a small request to make our visit very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan your dining activities ahead of time. You will find the Zaggat book in your hotel room with reviews and price points of every hotel in town. It's a very useful tool.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 15, 2009

Great Place to Stay

. Could not have had a better place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff and great room in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tinton Falls, NJ
Feb 1, 2010

Excellent Choice

I was entertaining a friend from out of town who has a small pet. The hotel staff were very accomodating and courteous. We were complimentary upgraded and had a spectacular weekend in luxurious accomodations. The weekend couldn't have been more perfect and my friend's stay in the big apple was one to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scottisgroovy
s.f. ca.
Apr 25, 2010

city club hotel everything I was wanting

very cool place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matutu
New Orleans, LA
Aug 1, 2011

Sleek & Modern

I'm a currently displaced New Yorker and was in town for a friend's wedding. City Club was like having a great apartment in the city. The staff is uber-friendly and accommodating and I was even given an unsolicited upgrade! (perhaps it helped that i'm 5 months pregnant and arrived looking mighty tired). As an architect, i appreciated the clean modern finishes and textures in the room. The linens are luxe (they're by Frette!) and free wifi much appreciated. It goes without saying that the rooms aren't huge (it's NYC, that's how we roll!) but they're comfortably sized. The view from my window was into the air/light shaft which may be off-putting to some, but again, this is how New Yorkers live, so it didn't bother nor surprise me. My ONLY issue with my stay was that my AT&T service (iPhone4) was unreliable in my room, but that's AT&T's problem/fault, not City Club's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro Moderne is deeelish!

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 10, 2011

Nice Stay

Very convenient for walking--I felt safe walking up to Times Square--3 to 4 blocks away. Staff was very helpful. Would not recommend the petite room--spend a couple extra bucks to breath. could not imagine the room being any smaller!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 23, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The City Club hotel was minutes away from many New York attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and 5th Avenue shopping. The room was quaint and was very clean. Hotel staff was very nice and each night warm cookies were left on the bed with a personalized message including the weather for the next couple days! Really enjoyed my stay here and will stay here from now on when I visit the Big Apple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in Times Square, St. Andrew's Bar and grill had a variety of beers and had awesome ribs. If you have time look up "Exclusive Pizza" as this is my pick for best pizza in NY. It is located in Washington Heights. Just take the A Train Uptown to 181st Street.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2011

Very pleasantly surprised!

This hotel was wonderful! The staff was kind and accomodating; they even gave us a complimentary upgrade. Everything was clean, there was plenty of space, and the terrace was a welcome surprise. It was within walking distance to Central Park, 5th Ave shopping, and Times Square. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young jetsetter
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 11, 2010

LOVE this hotel, will stay again!!

We had a great time at City Club, we were offered a free upgrade to the medium room, which we adored. The room and bathroom was amazing, and even came with a be-day! In the evening the maid brought us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies which was a great treat. The location is perfect, close to all the sights like Times Square, Hell's Kitchen, MOMA, etc. They also discount the parking garage fees across the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat in hotel restaurants, they are overpriced. Find local spots and you will be happy, and have some more cash in your pocket. Most places have great lunch specials.

Back to menu Return to top