$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

4 stars
88 Madison Avenue, 88 Madison Ave., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
158 reviews
lovely hotel

We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was lovely and very clean. The gym was adequate and... See full review

  • mara critical visitor
  • Apr 16, 2014
Good Hotel with good location

For sure I will go back , very nice hotel and close to everywhere and clean and the staff very kind... See full review

  • Lina Thornhill
  • Aug 6, 2013
Modern elegance meets contemporary luxury in Madison Avenue hotel
This hotel blends historic design and details with contemporary touches for a classically elegant feel. The lobby features soaring ceilings, a curved staircase and two-story waterfall. The Mezzanine level has a beautiful Tiffany glass dome. Leather furniture and decor in the public spaces evoke a jazz-era club. Rooms feature luxurious touches such as Frette linens and Molton Brown bath amenities. The location near Madison Square Park, the Flatiron Building, Fifth Avenue, Midtown and Murray Hill makes it ideal for leisure and business travelers.
Highlights
  • Unique design includes a two-story waterfall and Tiffany glass dome
  • Beds have Frette linens
  • Select suites have views of the Empire State Building
Rooms

Rooms feel elegant and contemporary, with cream-colored walls, white moldings, custom furniture and beds with Frette linens. Amenities include 42-inch flat-screen LCD TVs, complimentary Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized safes and Molton Brown bath products. Suites start at 500 square feet and have separate parlors with dining areas. Empire Suites boast views of the Empire State Building.

Features

Fitness gurus will appreciate the free 24-hour fitness center with Life Fitness equipment. The center has complimentary disposable ear buds and refrigerated towels.

 

Valet parking (fees apply) is available.

 

The hotel has a pet policy (call for details).

Dining

For daily entertainment, there's Salon Millesime in the lobby. It serves breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. weekdays and 7:30 a.m. to noon on weekends. Lunch hours are 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. daily. In the evening, the light menu features appetizers and sandwiches. The salon features live music nightly. Upstairs from the salon, the restaurant Millesime focuses on seafood in classic French preparations. Millesime is open daily for lunch from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. and dinner 5:30 p.m. to 11 p.m. Room service is available.

 

The Shake Shack in nearby Madison Square Park has a cult following for its burgers, fries and frozen custard.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 28th St - Lexington
  • LaGuardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Flatiron Building
  • Madison Square Park
  • Macy's Herald Square
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 10 meeting/event rooms with more than 6,000 square feet of space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.5 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • The Players: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.8 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.8 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.8 mi

Dining

Millesime
Millesime Restaurant in NYC is a vibrant seafood brasserie within our hotel. This premier French restaurant in Murray Hill is helmed by 2-Michelin starred Chef Laurent Manrique, serving seasonal seafood dishes with a focus on local produce.
Salon Millesime
Just step from our lobby the Salon offers French and Mediterranean small plates by Chef Laurent Manrique. Enjoy signaturcocktails and live music/or dj's nightly. We open at 5 p.m. daily.
Lobby Bar
Take a mid-day or evening break and enjoy the sophisticated atmosphere surrounded by lush mahogany. Serving beverages and light dishes, this is the ideal place to catch a game or use the complimentary Wi-Fi. Lobby Bar is open from 11 a.m. to midnight.
Bar Bordeaux
Bar Bordeaux, the saucy new wine bar within Millesime honors thirteen centuries of wine making with a highly approachable and spirited wine list. The lighthearted menu features a perfect balance of savory and sweet nibbles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilly k.
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

family trip

Good hotel , grate location, close to everything, good priced, worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elizabeth G.
Business
Lynbrook
Jan 5, 2015

Great night stay

I stayed for one night for new years and the staff was friendly and helpful the vibe it self makes you feel comfortable the hotel is beautiful. I can't complain about anything I enjoyed my stay. Room service was great :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend in NY
Business
PA
May 26, 2014

nice location, nice decor, limited dining options

My only complaint is that on the night I was there, all of the hotel's restaurants/dining areas were closed for a private party - the only options for regular guests were a small bar set up in the lobby, and room service. I wish I had known this when making my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poohbear88
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Apr 29, 2014

A Night Out

My experience was great! It's definitely a beautiful hotel, the room is clean, and it's in a great location. Just a little pricey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mara critical visitor
Business
newton, ma
Apr 16, 2014

lovely hotel

We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was lovely and very clean. The gym was adequate and cozy.. small but welcoming ! The business center was nicely equipped and great to have coffee, tea and hot water 24 hrs a day The staff was a bit stand-off- ish but got things done… The housekeeping supervisor was not as friendly as she could have been but the person cleaning our room was sweet, efficient and charming Eulogia I think was her name. My only criticism is that the staff could have smiled more…that goes a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
college stress
Business
Ithaca, Ny
Mar 10, 2014

February Get away

For our purposes of simply going out and having fun in the city for the weekend it was a pretty awesome hotel. It is a bit of a walk from Times Square so we always took the subway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hbolor
Business
bolourian
Jan 2, 2014

I had a good time

the best thing about this hotel is location,very convenient to all attractions.rooms are good size,that is ofcourse for new york standards...if you are used to large hotel rooms the way it is in midwest for example,you may find it small....I only wish they had coffee maker available in room,though it was available in business room.overall a pleasant stay.staff were great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HappyNYC
Business
Washington DC
Dec 1, 2013

Nothing special, but ok.

Doorman or staff never opened the door for me and baby carriage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshinee
Business
indiana
Oct 31, 2013

Great Hotel For Family

Our family had a short fall break to New York City, we enjoyed staying at this hotel, The staffs were all wonderful, nice clean room, great and pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lina Thornhill
Business
Thornhill, Ontario
Aug 6, 2013

Good Hotel with good location

For sure I will go back , very nice hotel and close to everywhere and clean and the staff very kind and friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top