$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 127
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GuruStu
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 14, 2014

Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I didn't get to take full advantage of the amenities, such as the stove and refrigerator, but wish I had. Next time I will stay longer so that I can. Also, every staff member I met was extremely friendly and professional, sharing important information about the hotel and city... and otherwise just going out of their way to make me feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

While Time Square is just blocks away, walk in the opposite direction, to explore 9th and 10th avenues. The city is better away from all the touristy areas. Also, there's an artist's market on 39th and 9th on the weekends that's got amazing finds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepe la poo
Business
South Africa
Feb 18, 2014

New York Stay

Not a bad hotel but be aware of the no change or cancellation policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShelleyG
Business
Indiana
Mar 25, 2013

Great

Our stay was great. The hotel is in a good location, it is very clean. Price was good. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the Times Square area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Irish pub just down the block has wonderful food, nice bar area and lots of room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DiamondJT
Business
Orange, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Watch for Bed Bugs

I picked this hotel for its location closed to Times Square. I booked 2 nights here but unfortunately only stayed one night. We checked in and the staff was very nice. We left the hotel for the night and returned at approx 3-4 am. We woke up to shower and found bedbugs crawling in our bed. I immediately went downstairs to tell someone.One woman was nonchalant about my situation claiming that they've never had bed bugs before. The other woman was very attentive and immediately went into action to address the situation. In the end we found approximately 3-4 bugs crawling on the sheets, between the sheets, etc. The hotel "steamed" out belongings and I checked out that day. I was told if be refunded my money for both nights. However, now my friends and I are COVERED in bug bites!! It's irritating. Ive never felt so gross!!Do NOT stay at this hotel. Spend a little bit more for A clear mind while u sleep! I still feel like things are crawling on me. GROSS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vaborn
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 21, 2012

President's Day Weekend

Location was close to Times Square and subway. Quick walk to restaurants, cabs, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zonatom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

Great place - whats not to love about it

From the moment we walked in I felt happy. The person checking me in was super nice and helpful. He pointed over to the little room to the side where there is free coffee/hot chocolate. In the late afternoon they had fresh baked cookies on the counter. The room was very clean, very comfortable - just perfect. The location was as advertised -- just a few blocks walk to everything in the Times Square area. In the ratings I gave them a 5 for dining only because there is a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. They don't really have dining there and in Times Square area I wouldn't be eating in a hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Oct 17, 2010

Down and out in New York City

The hotel was an "extended Stay hotel" which [...] failed to mention which means there was no maid service. If you wanted ice, you had to call down to the desk and they would go next door and get it, the same with towels. It was not close to anything, there was no place to eat in this area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 6, 2010

Candlewood Suites, Times Square, NY

Hotel services (clean rooms, sheets, towels) only done once a week but rooms were nice and clean upon arrival. Employees are pleasant and accommodate all requests. Very nice kitchen area. For clean towels daily, you had to take used towels to front desk and exchange out or have clean ones delivered to you. Snacks available for purchase but missed the continental breakfast served by other chains like this. Hotel is several blocks from Times Square and you have to walk down alleyway to get to front door that is uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the double deck tour buses instead of taxis. You can purchase at information center by day or several days and the cost is much less than taxis. Mix the routes (downtown, uptown) and take advantage of the tour guide's knowledge of the area. Drop off/pick up at all locations as you wish. Buses are continuous with little or no wait between stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ohio
Jul 25, 2010

Not where I Expected it to be

It was a nice hotel but the alley way we had to walk through to get to the front entrance was a little scary. I expected it to be closer to Times Square not 3 BIG block away. It was nice and clean though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville FL
Jun 28, 2010

Convenient

Friendly staff. Convenient location but not a pretty neighborhood. Close to the subway and Times Square The rooms are not big but having a kitchenette helps. There is no room service or breakfast Our room was quiet and cool ( outside it was hot and humid) There was a good diner at the corner of 9th Avenue and 34th Street . There is a Starbucks on 39th and 8th Ave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner on 34th St and 9th Avenue was good and clean. Open 24 Hrs. Skylight Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top