$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 140
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolibbean
Maine
Jan 5, 2014

Just what we needed

Location is definitely the top "plus" for this hotel. My daughter and I wanted to be close to Times Square, as well as Penn Station and this spot fit the bill. We had pleasant, helpful encounters with staff, were very comfortable in our room, and felt safe. The kitchenette was well-supplied, even though we didn't really have time to use it much during our one night stay. I will recommend this affordable hotel to friends, and will definitely use it, again, for my own travel to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emmzied
Ireland
Oct 8, 2013

Can not fault hotel.

As the title says I can not find fault with this hotel. Excellent value for money, spotlessly clean, and fantastic location. Our room was ready before the 3pm check in, we got welcome packs on arrival which included water, crisps, sweets and chocolate. Fresh towels were provided within minutes of being requested. Staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. I'm only home a few days and I have already recommened the candlewood suites to loads of people. If I'm lucky enough to return to NYC again I will definitely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked the highline on this trip and really enjoyed it. We picked up a picnic in Chelsea market and walked south to north. Well worth doing.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zaid
Saudi Arabia
Aug 10, 2013

The Air Condition is too noisy

The bed is king size and the AC is noisy and the chair of the desk is broken , we asked for universal adapter from their staff but they don't have it also in the store in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hally
New South Wales, Australia
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent place to stay and great staff

Candlewood was a great place to stay and only a short walk to Times Square. Starbucks coffee was just down the road for those morning caffeine hits. The staff here were great and the afternoon cookies were delightful. I can not recommend this place enough...... Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop on Hop off tour bus is a short stroll from Candlewood and is definately a must do for NYC.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired C
Williamsburg, VA
Dec 30, 2012

Christmas Holiday

We enjoyed the room with nice sink, refrigerator, plates and utensils, some posts, and microwave. The bathroom was adequate and the bed was comfortable. The staff responded quickly and politely to any requests. We had some trouble using the Wi-fi; but I did not pursue it because we were out of the room so much. we were also able to walk to the theater district, Times Square and Macy's easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

From 39the you can go up 8th Ave to 42nd and be in strking distance for all the entertinment you could desire or down to 33rd and you are at Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, a couple of blocks from Macy's Department store.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Basic Hotel is Fine
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 17, 2012

All Good

Our stay at the Candlewood Suites was just fine ... the location was excellent, the room was clean, bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. I would stay here again. Felt safe at all times of day and night. No problems to mention. Times square fun right on the door and plenty of food places to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 10, 2011

Great customer service

All I can say is clean, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 26, 2011

VERY CLEAN, VERY CONVIENIENT..

WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF TIMES SQUARE, AND ALMOST ANYTHING YOU COULD WANT OR NEED. RODE THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TO SEE AND ENJOY OTHER SIGHTS SUCH AS CHINA TOWN, CENTRAL PARK, QUEENS AND HARLEM...SAW A LOT FOR THE MONEY. AND ENJOYED A 90 MINUTE BOAT RIDE TO SEE THE STATUE OF LIBERTY, ETC..VERY ENJOYABLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

AGAIN THE DOUBLE DECKER BUS TOURS..

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tickled in Times Square
Minneapolis, MN
May 9, 2011

Not too shabby

Great location in Times Square, close to many attractions and the tour buses. Rooms were clean, and loved the freshly baked cookies. We didn't realized that this was an extended stay hotel until arrival, and the placard offering firmer pillows was incorrect. Wished we could have changed the temperature control ourselves, but one call to the front desk pretty much fixed most issues. This place would be great for a 7+ day visit to the city, not the short vacation we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on visiting the shake shack, get there early! the line starts forming at 10:30am! Also, the Stardust Diner on Broadway, along the same side as the Gershwin Theater, is a great place for adult milkshakes and show tune performances by the waitstaff (chorus line members of the broadway productions).

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyloo
Charleston, SC
May 7, 2011

The Staff was friendly and Helpful!!

I went with family to sight see NY! We stayed there for five nights. The room was a good size compared to another hotel I have been too before at NYC. The staff gives excellent service and truly was the friendliest staff I have ever encountered on vacation. The hotel was in Hell's Kitchen portion of town. i would recommend dining on the Ninth Ave where the locals go for food. The location was convenient near Times Square, subways, and restaurants. I feel like the price was more than fair for the amenities and especially for the locale and size of the room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to ninth avenue for food!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search