$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
144 reviews
Great place to stay in New York

This hotel was really close to Times Square and other attractions. Our room was great , kitchenette... See full review

  • Pumas
  • Jan 7, 2015
Perfect

I would recommend this to anyone very clean very updated close to everything in new yirk city clubs... See full review

  • Walter D.
  • Jan 6, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DiamondJT
Business
Orange, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Watch for Bed Bugs

I picked this hotel for its location closed to Times Square. I booked 2 nights here but unfortunately only stayed one night. We checked in and the staff was very nice. We left the hotel for the night and returned at approx 3-4 am. We woke up to shower and found bedbugs crawling in our bed. I immediately went downstairs to tell someone.One woman was nonchalant about my situation claiming that they've never had bed bugs before. The other woman was very attentive and immediately went into action to address the situation. In the end we found approximately 3-4 bugs crawling on the sheets, between the sheets, etc. The hotel "steamed" out belongings and I checked out that day. I was told if be refunded my money for both nights. However, now my friends and I are COVERED in bug bites!! It's irritating. Ive never felt so gross!!Do NOT stay at this hotel. Spend a little bit more for A clear mind while u sleep! I still feel like things are crawling on me. GROSS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend Traveler 987321
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 15, 2013

Budget price bad accomodations

I paid a great rate and had a late check in, but was given a handicap accesible room on the first floor. Hot water did not work in the room and given the first floor location, it was very noisy and difficult to sleep. Honestly the accomodations I was given are not suitable to be renting out to guests. I made a commment to the staff as I was checking out and they seemed indifferent. I understand that when you get a budget price you often get a budget experience, but when I am staying at a national chain, I expect a certain standard which was not met by this property. Maybe the upstairs rooms are all fine, but do you want to take the risk?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasDox
Business
Dallas
Jun 9, 2014

Good location...Would not stay here again

Front desk staff, Karlos, is rude, not helpful. Won't stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, TX
Jun 18, 2010

Candlewood Suites. Not very clean

A bad experience. Because this hotel is set up like a small apartment they don't have daily housekeeping. They clean the room once a week. I can live without someone making my bed everyday, but there was a laundry basket in the closet with dirty towels from the person in the room before me (GROSS). Furthermore, the small coffee pot that was in the kitchen broken. The lid was inside the pot and when I tried to pull it out the pot shattered everywhere. There were tiny bits of glass all over the kitchen and bathroom. I asked for someone to come and clean it (as I didn't have a broom, nor a vacuum) and someone did come take the large pieces of glass, but didn't replace the coffee pot nor did they sweep or vacuum, therefore I had to wear shoes the entire time to avoid a sliver of glass in my foot. Finally, it takes FOREVER for the water to heat up. I waited and waited and finally tried to take a cold shower only to have the hot water get there as I was wrapping up the shower. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ohio
Jul 25, 2010

Not where I Expected it to be

It was a nice hotel but the alley way we had to walk through to get to the front entrance was a little scary. I expected it to be closer to Times Square not 3 BIG block away. It was nice and clean though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 11, 2010

Not a great idea for a business traveler

Friendly, courteous staff. Clean room. Problem? They only have queen size bed (one per room), and they only clean the room once a week. As a business traveler I like coming back to a clean room, with clean linens. If you want fresh towels, you need to trade in your used towels to the front desk. If I were on a family vaca I wouldn't mind, but paying $260/night and not receiving a fresh room I would have much preferred something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location close to garment district and Times Square. Subway close, too.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stomli
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 15, 2011

Don't show up late :)

I showed up late, with pre-arranged late-check-in, and receieve the worst room you could get. Room 101, next to the elevator, 15 feet from the front desk, on the ground floor on the alley. Needless to say the room was noisy and and super restfull. Room was OK, nothing special, fortunately I did not need the fridge, as it did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JC & AC
Business
San Lorenzo, CA
Jun 5, 2010

NYC Trip

Traveled to NYC for wife's birthday. Stayed 7 days at the Candlewood Suites. Your room is cleaned ONCE a week! We could not believe it. No concierge service. We had to go to the hotel next door to reserve the city tour bus. The rooms are a bit small. This will be the first and last time we stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ohio
Jul 25, 2010

Not where I Expected it to be

It was a nice hotel but the alley way we had to walk through to get to the front entrance was a little scary. I expected it to be closer to Times Square not 3 BIG block away. It was nice and clean though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepe la poo
Business
South Africa
Feb 18, 2014

New York Stay

Not a bad hotel but be aware of the no change or cancellation policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top