$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TSJUR
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 27, 2014

Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta pick for a hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the room was a great size. The hotel was conveniently located only a block from the port authority, so it was easy to get to from my bus into the city. All in all, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
May 2, 2011

Candlewood Suites at Times Square

This was a rally nice staying at candlewood suites. Their staff is great, really helpful for all situations. Our room was opposite to the street and was really quiet - no street noise at all (they have double windows). There was a small but complete kitchen with regular sized refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, stoven, popcorn bag, free sugar, etc. We could let our luggage some hours before check-in and after check-out in a safe place. It is near to many delis and supermarkets at 9th st and 50meters from Hell´s Kitchen Flea Market. Subway A-C-E lines next street at 40th st and 8th av.They make a cleaning only every 7 days, but you can change towels, get soaps, leave garbage whenever you want.At [...]I got a special discount BETTER than [@] (candlewwod suites owner group) and they refused to guarantee their "Lowest Rate Guarantee". So dont waste your time booking at[@]. Book it at [@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most theaters at Times Square neighborhood. Don´t miss the good italian food at Pomodoros (on 9th av right after the 39th st corner)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jhw349
Business
Winchester, TN
Dec 2, 2011

A very nice affordable comfortable stay!

We stayed at Candlewood Suites during the Thanksgiving Week (2011). It was great. The hotel was in a great central location as far as getting to everything we wanted to do. We never felt unsafe walking to or from our hotel no matter time of day or night. If you are not familiar with this town the first walk back to the hotel at night could be a little spooky cause you walk from a busy avenue to an uncrowded 39th street. Don't let it bother you though everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and there are several hotels that you walk past and most people your passing are also visitors, nervous like you lol. It was about a 9 miles trip from LaGuardia Airport. Just a hint, LaGuardia is usually way less busy the JFK. The cab fare was like $35 each way and that included us leaving him a tip. Its hard to say how long it will take due to traffic. It took us an hour to arrive to the hotel but only 30 mins to get back to the airport, all depends on traffic. When leaving the hotel they will offer to get you a ride. They charge $45 so save a little money and just get one yourself. The NYC taxis are constantly going past the hotel so flagging one down isn't hard. If all else fails, the NYC Taxi Center is right around the corner and there are 100's there. You can walk from the hotel to Times Square, relaxingly, in about 10-15 mins. You can be at Central Park in about 30 Mins. We walked everywhere most of the time. Obviously catch the subway to go to further away destinations to save your feet. The hotel has some nice little extras so make sure to take advantage of them. One is free DVD library. They have a nice little library that is free so if you’re back from a busy day of sightseeing you can relax with a movie. Free washer/dryer service, which is outstanding! You have to do the work but it’s free and can save you some packing. In the room there was a nice leather recliner, rolling desk chair, and standard table with a chair. There was a two burner stove, full refrigerator, and dish washer. We had a small closet in our room. The bathroom was plenty spacious with a tub and shower. The room was very clean upon arrival. Unless you stay 7+ days you do not get room service which was fine by us, and becoming more common. There is a little pantry with drinks and snacks in the lobby. The can drinks are $1 each. Sounds kind of high, and it is, but it’s cheaper than buying from other places we found. They have everything from food to cook to drinks and I even noticed laundry detergent, lotion, tooth brushes and many other essentials The staff is very pleasant; the rooms are large and nice flat screens and nice looking top to bottom. The elevators are VERY fast. We stayed on 18th floor in room 1801 and were very satisfied without stay. We were dumb and left some items in the room at check-out and when we called they already had found and secured them for us and have shipped them back. This is an outstanding hotel. It is a hotel, so don't be expecting a 5 star resort. If you’re a picky little fancy person who has to be treated like royalty then go book a room at the Wellington or something. If you can deal with realizing the world does not revolve around you and you are down to earth then you will be very happy staying here. I get tickled at reading reviews by people who complain about the tiniest imperfections, but from my standpoint this place is worth every cent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie and Corey
Business
Port Orange, FL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Wonderful

We had the best time. The staff is amazing, especially Allyson. We got there early and she really tried getting us in our room early. The rooms are small but you are not in them for that long anyway. The location was the best we could walk to most locations. We would stay there again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do the Empire State Building go when they first open at 8:30am. There is no line!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BPet13
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Apr 23, 2012

First time to NYC

The hotel is close to everything but far enough away from Time Square that it is not noisy. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It's close to the subway and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restaurant right across the street called the Mercato. It's very authentic, good food and great service. Stay AWAY from the bar across the street called the Sanctuary - booze is expensive and served in plastic cups with flat tonic water poured from a bottle. Oh, and no limes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trish.A.C
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 8, 2012

Great great great !!!!

This hotel is cost friendly with a great staff. I feel at home every time I am here .. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Hooo
Business
newark,de
Dec 20, 2012

Couple

everything are good. very nice hotel with very helpful staff. Room was so good. Not a pokey, tiny room with no room to move. Very spacious and well appointed. Would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emmzied
Business
Ireland
Oct 8, 2013

Can not fault hotel.

As the title says I can not find fault with this hotel. Excellent value for money, spotlessly clean, and fantastic location. Our room was ready before the 3pm check in, we got welcome packs on arrival which included water, crisps, sweets and chocolate. Fresh towels were provided within minutes of being requested. Staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. I'm only home a few days and I have already recommened the candlewood suites to loads of people. If I'm lucky enough to return to NYC again I will definitely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked the highline on this trip and really enjoyed it. We picked up a picnic in Chelsea market and walked south to north. Well worth doing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olney, Maryland
Jul 13, 2010

Candlewood Suites Times Square

Absolutely loved this hotel! We stay in New York fairly frequently (at least a couple of times a year), and have stayed all over town. This room was clean and spacious. The hotel was really convenient. Although I would have loved a coffee maker in the room, I was fine with free coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob WVSOM
Business
Sandstone, WV
Jul 17, 2010

Great room, great staff, great location!

Just a couple minutes walk from Times Square and a one minute walk to the Subway. The staff are simply FANTASTIC and always helpful. Rooms are much larger than the standard NYC hotel room, and having the kitchenette is wonderful. Comes stocked with all appliances and utensils you will need (microwave, stove, large fridge, coffee pot, toaster, pots, pans, dishes, iron and board). Maid service is just once a week - but I love that - I like being able to leave my stuff... work papers etc out and not worrying about them be moved. But if you desire - you can have the room cleaned any additional time you want - just let the front desk know. Exercise room is nice, and I like being able to do my own laundry which you can do here. T he place was spotless. Common areas are immaculate, and a perfectly clean room. I make several trips a year to NYC and will definitely stay here again. Right now I think this is the best kept hotel secret closs to Times Square - I'm sure the word will get out and it will be come more difficult to obtain a reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top