$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 11, 2010

Not a great idea for a business traveler

Friendly, courteous staff. Clean room. Problem? They only have queen size bed (one per room), and they only clean the room once a week. As a business traveler I like coming back to a clean room, with clean linens. If you want fresh towels, you need to trade in your used towels to the front desk. If I were on a family vaca I wouldn't mind, but paying $260/night and not receiving a fresh room I would have much preferred something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location close to garment district and Times Square. Subway close, too.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JC & AC
Business
San Lorenzo, CA
Jun 5, 2010

NYC Trip

Traveled to NYC for wife's birthday. Stayed 7 days at the Candlewood Suites. Your room is cleaned ONCE a week! We could not believe it. No concierge service. We had to go to the hotel next door to reserve the city tour bus. The rooms are a bit small. This will be the first and last time we stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jun 1, 2010

good

This trip I just want to travel New York city. The location is convenience for me to travel.The room of this hotel is clear and very comfortable for living.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wandering Grandparents
Business
Stockton-on-Tees
May 24, 2010

Good accomodation, great for NY holiday

Good size room with kitchenette,bathroom, table & chairs - comfortable lay-back armchair and good tv & video- free films in reception. Good free laundry & dryers(useful if it rains!) Easy walk to Times Square,(tkt booth for same day Broadway shows),Central Park,shops,Empire State etc, lots of deli/cafes nearby,near port authority bus terminal for Newark airport. Subway for further places. Recommend also 'Intrepid' Aircraft Carrier museum on pier 86, Ground Zero center,St Paul's Chapel nearby- used by rescuers on 9-11. Battery Park & The Staten Island ferry (good for photo's of Statue of Liberty!), Brooklyn Bridge & The Bronx Zoo. We had an excellent holiday in ideal(for us) accommodation .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small Take-out same street and a good Greek restaurant.End of road, left for a good Thai restaurant. Right for Take-0uts on both sides of that road. Avoid places without prices on the Menu outside!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wandering Grandparents
Business
Stockton-on-Tees
May 24, 2010

Good accomodation, great for NY holiday

Good size room with kitchenette,bathroom, table & chairs - comfortable lay-back armchair and good tv & video- free films in reception. Good free laundry & dryers(useful if it rains!) Easy walk to Times Square,(tkt booth for same day Broadway shows),Central Park,shops,Empire State etc, lots of deli/cafes nearby,near port authority bus terminal for Newark airport. Subway for further places. Recommend also 'Intrepid' Aircraft Carrier museum on pier 86, Ground Zero center,St Paul's Chapel nearby- used by rescuers on 9-11. Battery Park & The Staten Island ferry (good for photo's of Statue of Liberty!), Brooklyn Bridge & The Bronx Zoo. We had an excellent holiday in ideal(for us) accommodation .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small Take-out same street and a good Greek restaurant.End of road, left for a good Thai restaurant. Right for Take-0uts on both sides of that road. Avoid places without prices on the Menu outside!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Times Square, NYC
May 21, 2010

Great Location; Great Staff

Rooms are nicely decorated, clean and have a great amount of amenities. The staff was very friendly and answered all of of our questions with a smile and met any requests that we made. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place around the corner on 8th called Hot & Crusty. Great variety on their menu.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Union, Ohio
May 14, 2010

Candlewood Suites at Times Square

My experience at Candlewood Suites at Times Square was excellent. The hotel was very affordable, especially for its great location only a few blocks from Times Square and in walking distance to a lot of other great attractions and areas. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and the room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dabn the Wanderer
Business
Boxborough, MA
May 10, 2010

A great weekend retreat

An easy to find hotel (just look for the red and gray striped building!) We received prompt friendly service upon checking in. The room was immaculate and had everything and more that we could ask for. Would definitely consider staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 5, 2010

Midtown Manhattan Suite

Large suite with small kitchen. No daily housekeeping. Clean sheets and towels were available at front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

15 Minute walk to Times Square >

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Apr 30, 2010

Recommend with caveats

Overall would recommend this hotel . Convenient location close to times square but be warned it is a quite a walk to the nearest subway , esp if you are not used to walking . Also would strongly recommend getting alternate nearby parking like the Icon parking on 42nd street and 9th avenue which charges around 36 $ per 24 hrs whereas candlewood charges 55 $ for 24hrs for their valet parking . Overall the hotel is new and clean. Has a kitchenette which seems to be a rarity in the nearby hotels . Lots of food and stuff nearby , Times square is within walkable distance as well.Staff is helpful though not exactly oozing with friendliness . Overall a good value for the price and cheaper than nearby hotels . Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there for future visits .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top